We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Kimberley Hotel(Harrogate)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Cairn Hotel(Harrogate)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Old Swan Hotel(Harrogate)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Harrogate)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (972)
Filter reviews
972 results
Traveller rating
753
180
31
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
753
180
31
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturret roomsmall hoteltown centrestained glasslovely hotelyorkshire breakfastkippersten minute walkno liftevening mealon site parkinglarge bedwould highly recommend this hotelwithin easy walking distancecar parkhigh standardboth nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
767 - 772 of 972 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We enjoyed a two night stay in the Ascot, well located within easy walking distance of the town centre.

The small (19 room) hotel is a conversion of a large late 19c town house and it has some interesting art, including a stained glass window. However, in places the ambience is more that of a b and b than an hotel. There appear to be no resident staff but many hotel services are provided, including a good restaurant, room service, laundry and free WiFi throughout. There is a small car park and free parking is available on a nearby street. The owner-manager and his staff were all pleasant and helpful.

Our ‘superior’ room and (full) bathroom were compact but very well equipped – we were impressed by the carefully planned and economical way the limited space is used (apart from 20 + power outlets!).

Breakfast is an adequate if not exciting buffet and hot food is cooked to order. We also enjoyed one dinner in the restaurant.

The Ascot isn’t ‘luxurious’ and could perhaps become claustrophobic in a long stay. But we thought it ideal for a short visit and - at an average rate of £99 b and b - we also thought it good value. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I had booked a superior room which luckily was available at 1230. We had a weekend away for my partners 50th which included a night in Leeds with 6 friends (which prooved we were still upto a lively night out) We then came to Harrogate for a quieter night - didn't work out that way because after a fantastic meal in L'Albero Delle Noci and a bottle of wine in the lovely Wetherspoons' in Harrogate, we made our way to the Blues Bar to see 'Hombre' - never heard of them but were absolutely fantastic !! This meant another late night but made our weekend. Back to the hotel - beautiful room, enormous bed, lovely spotless bathroom with lovely thick fluffy towels. The weekend was topped off by an amazing Yorkshire breakfast that kept us going all day. If you want a classy hotel in a good location pick this !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dedooles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My wife says you can tell a lot about a place by its curtains and the Ascot House got a real thumbs up in that department (along with some other things for which I don't know the technical term).
We stayed in a superior room which had a lovely big comfy bed. Bathroom a little small, but well decorated, big fluffy towels and robes.
We were celebrating, so I pre-ordered champers and chocs, very drinkable and yummy.
Lovely cooked Yorkshire breakfast in the mornings to start the day served with a cheery smile.
Lovely place, would recommend.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ChrisAndOthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

This is an up-to-date hotel - or at least it would be if this was the late 1950s/early 1960s. It was clean and comfortable enough and the staff were friendly, but from the moment we walked through the door and saw the elderly couple sitting in the residents' lounge and the hatch in the counter that served as a reception desk, it felt that the winds of change might have blown through Africa but not through the Ascot House. You expected a young Alan Bennett to be sitting there with his parents, looking awkward. Our room had been carved from a larger one, so the dimensions and shape were slightly odd. In the bathroom, there was vinyl on the floor and faux marble plastic sheets on the wall. The room was clean, but one of the downlighters in the bathroom was not working - not a big deal but also not a big deal to have replaced it - and there was a pink 'Hen Night' balloon, deflating in the wardrobe. The biscuits on the 'hospitality tray' were Viennese fingers, which again had a bit of a 1950s feel. Breakfast was good and freshly cooked. The Ascot House either needs a complete modernisation or could be restored in a Victorian/Edwardian style, in keeping with some of its features, or the owners could take a risk and turn it into a 1950s-themed hotel. Sadly at the moment, it's all a bit of a mish-mash.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank chrismCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Just returned from a 4 night stay at the Ascot Hotel Harrrogate and would like to share the experience with you ...the hotel decor is immaculate and very clean. We arrived earlyand parked in the hotel car park and was warmly welcomed and then offered a choice of two rooms, a ground floor or an attic room. We decided on the attic room which had a small but usable bathroom complete with toiletries and fluffy towels. A small sitting room with tv and tea and coffee making equipment, two armchairs and a dressing table...and all the plug sockets were in the right place for hairdrying etc. This room led through to the bedroom, two large single beds moved close together, wardrobe and other small cupboards. The first night we opted to eat dinner in the hotel dining room. Good menu, beautifully cooked hot food and breakfast each morning was also of a high standard.
Hard to find anything to complain about but just to be really picky a clock in the bedroom would be good ! Very good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel do suffer from traffic noise.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patsy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews