We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2012

If you're looking for a friendly hotel, with a ten minute walk into town, a hotel with real character, you need look no further. It was a pleasant surprise to see staff diligently cleaning brasswork on the entrance door, recently mowed lawns and a general feeling of cleanliness and attention. On the subject of attention, having spent 3 nights here, that the wonderful Umberto, a man with a keen understanding of British sense of humour, could remember what my wife and I each liked for breakfast each morning, is to be commended. Our room (9) was immaculate, the bed comfy, and was also well equipped with a walk-in wardrobe, iron and ironing board. Unusually, a roof light was fitted which provided unusual, but welcome natural light, which could be closed off if required. Breakfast was fine, and although I did not have an evening meal, I overheard a number of guests commending the chef on their meals. All in all, a reasonably priced hotel, very quiet despite having a main road adjacent to it, that I would use again.

Room Tip: Should I stay again, I would be happy to be allocated room 9 - sufficient space, unusual lighting an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dailaffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (914)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

707 - 713 of 914 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2012

We stayed for the Saturday night on the Jubilee weekend. We had a good welcome and were taken to our room. It was reasonably spacious with both a window and sky light. The en suite had a shower over the bath. It was cold for June and a nice touch was the central heating had been switched on. The beds were comfortable and the room modern and well decorated. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean. The location of the hotel for us was good, being about 10 minutes walk from the town centre, just past the convention centre. The breakfast was excellent. Good quality ingredients freshly cooked. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank D&DWirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Ascot House with friends for one night in early June. We recieved a warm welcome and great service. The hotel is in a quiet part of Harrogate but is only a short walk of Harrogate town centre and the theatre.
Our bedroom was very comfortable, clean and warm. The bed was a king size and very comfortable.
The room rate was very reasonable and included breakfast.
There was no need for lunch after the large Yorkshire breakfast.
If you want to stay in Harrogate I would recomend Ascot House.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Retired_60plus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We enjoyed a two night stay in the Ascot, well located within easy walking distance of the town centre.

The small (19 room) hotel is a conversion of a large late 19c town house and it has some interesting art, including a stained glass window. However, in places the ambience is more that of a b and b than an hotel. There appear to be no resident staff but many hotel services are provided, including a good restaurant, room service, laundry and free WiFi throughout. There is a small car park and free parking is available on a nearby street. The owner-manager and his staff were all pleasant and helpful.

Our ‘superior’ room and (full) bathroom were compact but very well equipped – we were impressed by the carefully planned and economical way the limited space is used (apart from 20 + power outlets!).

Breakfast is an adequate if not exciting buffet and hot food is cooked to order. We also enjoyed one dinner in the restaurant.

The Ascot isn’t ‘luxurious’ and could perhaps become claustrophobic in a long stay. But we thought it ideal for a short visit and - at an average rate of £99 b and b - we also thought it good value. Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank globaltraveller200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

I had booked a superior room which luckily was available at 1230. We had a weekend away for my partners 50th which included a night in Leeds with 6 friends (which prooved we were still upto a lively night out) We then came to Harrogate for a quieter night - didn't work out that way because after a fantastic meal in L'Albero Delle Noci and a bottle of wine in the lovely Wetherspoons' in Harrogate, we made our way to the Blues Bar to see 'Hombre' - never heard of them but were absolutely fantastic !! This meant another late night but made our weekend. Back to the hotel - beautiful room, enormous bed, lovely spotless bathroom with lovely thick fluffy towels. The weekend was topped off by an amazing Yorkshire breakfast that kept us going all day. If you want a classy hotel in a good location pick this !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dedooles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My wife says you can tell a lot about a place by its curtains and the Ascot House got a real thumbs up in that department (along with some other things for which I don't know the technical term).
We stayed in a superior room which had a lovely big comfy bed. Bathroom a little small, but well decorated, big fluffy towels and robes.
We were celebrating, so I pre-ordered champers and chocs, very drinkable and yummy.
Lovely cooked Yorkshire breakfast in the mornings to start the day served with a cheery smile.
Lovely place, would recommend.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ChrisAndOthers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2012

This is an up-to-date hotel - or at least it would be if this was the late 1950s/early 1960s. It was clean and comfortable enough and the staff were friendly, but from the moment we walked through the door and saw the elderly couple sitting in the residents' lounge and the hatch in the counter that served as a reception desk, it felt that the winds of change might have blown through Africa but not through the Ascot House. You expected a young Alan Bennett to be sitting there with his parents, looking awkward. Our room had been carved from a larger one, so the dimensions and shape were slightly odd. In the bathroom, there was vinyl on the floor and faux marble plastic sheets on the wall. The room was clean, but one of the downlighters in the bathroom was not working - not a big deal but also not a big deal to have replaced it - and there was a pink 'Hen Night' balloon, deflating in the wardrobe. The biscuits on the 'hospitality tray' were Viennese fingers, which again had a bit of a 1950s feel. Breakfast was good and freshly cooked. The Ascot House either needs a complete modernisation or could be restored in a Victorian/Edwardian style, in keeping with some of its features, or the owners could take a risk and turn it into a 1950s-themed hotel. Sadly at the moment, it's all a bit of a mish-mash.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank chrismCambridgeshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#3 of 30 in Harrogate
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
222 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,688 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Address: 53 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Best Value Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £68 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Hotel Harrogate 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Ascot House Hotel Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Harrogate
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing