We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service makes the difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Service makes the difference”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2012

This was a short break for myself and my wife and one which was well needed after a long hard slog so it was really important that we had a good time and found the right hotel. Trip advisor once again came up trumps and we booked through expedia. Next time though we'll book direct and make sure we get the best room. Nothing wrong with the standard rooms, they're perfectly okay but if you like a bit more room then the extra is well worth it. The real star of this hotel is the service and the quality of the food. Humberto is a one man tornado who seems not to sleep. Orginally from Portugal he is an utterly charming chap and personifies the service with a smile credo which makes such a difference in a hotel. We decided to take evening meals in the hotel and we were not disappointed. The chef (who I think is also the owner) is again delightful and knows his craft. Overall, the hotel deserves its trip advisor rating and provides real value for money. We'll certainly head here again next time we come to Harrogate.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deathbychocolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    668
    159
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
95
537
25
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
505 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 200 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2012

This really is a gem and our room has everything you could want. A large comfortable bed. Option of feather pillows. Well lit and 2 comfortable chairs. Iron, ironing board, great hairdrier and masses of plugs. Great internet (free). The bathroom has a good walk-in shower and separate bath, also very well lit. The staff are very friendly and helpful. There is car parking and a 10 min walk into town.
I hate to say anything that is not good about this lovely hotel but we found the food in a time warp. It is very 80s and smothered in sauces. Be a good idea to update the cuisine as otherwise it is perfect. It is a shame to have to eat out as the dining room is very elegant.

Room Tip: We had a superior room which only has a few steps to negotiate. Very well decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maturity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

Great rooms, excellent value, faultless customer service, couldn't be happier. About 10 minute walk into town.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nadiadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I stayed in the turret room and paid just over £100 for b/b. it was a lovely room with lots of atmosphere and nice views. Breakfast was superb with as much of what you wanted and good quick service. We have stayed in many hotels in Harrogate as it is our favourite destination for a short break and this was the nicest hotel we've used. All in all a superb stay and we will definitely return

Room Tip: Turret room is a bit more expensive but well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MiddlesbroughSmoggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed at the the Ascot House for one night since we were attanding a wedding in Harrogate. Although we had no problems, the car park is a little "tight". However free parking within walking distance of the town centre is not to be dismissed lightly.The welcome was warm and when we explained that we might be a little late arriving back after the wedding reception the procedure for entry (use the latch key provided) was explained. Our original intention was to walk the mile or so to the church. However an unexpected cloudburst caused a change of plan, the staff quickly and efficiently arranged a taxi and invited us to wait in the bar and informed us when it arrived. The room was fine, well lit (some are not in the age of halogen lightbulbs), with a view over the park. The bed was large and comfortable. The bathroom was stocked with "Duck Island" shower gel, shampoo etc. The hot water was plentiful.At breakfast I was happy to see porridge followed by buttered kippers on the menu. Toast and marmalade (jam and marmalade in glass jars as opposed to the ubiquitous sealed plastic cartons) followed. My wife chose a reduced version of the traditional Yorkshire breakfast, the only let down of this being the lightly poached egg which was marginally over done (perhaps by 20-30 seconds), and it hadn't be drained before being put on the plate, resulting in a small pool of water on the plate. In conclusion, the Ascot House hotel offers an individuality and level of personal service that is not available in the coporate hotels for a very modest premium (my daughter and partner stayed the same night in a Premiere Inn for £22.00 less than Ascot House). On any future visits to Harrogate, I will book at the Ascot House Hotel without considering any other alternative.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPS326
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

My husband and I stayed in this guest house following our wedding. The staff were very accommodating and we were well looked after. The room was quite spacious, tastefully decorated with a lovely chaise longue in the huge bay window looking out over the road, a nice dressing table and a Robert's radio on the bedside. We had breakfast in bed on a couple of the mornings which was very tasty! Bathroom was small with no window but adequate. We didn't spend much time in the lounge but there seemed to be a lively atmosphere in there in the evenings and a good stock of books and games. Just a short walk to local amenities and the lovely town of Harrogate.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErialcLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2012

Stayed in early June for two nights with my wife and her Mother. We had room No. 4 and the Mother in law stayed in No. 1. Both were good but the wardrobes in the rooms we have stayed needed a bit of an update. The shower cubicle in our room was excellent and the en suite was spacious. Room 1 was a little dark. The food, both at breakfast and in the evening, was excellent, with dishes cooked just as we liked them. The staff were very pleasant throughout the whole hotel. As others have said, parking was a little tight in the car park, but we always managed to get a space. WiFi connection was excellent in all the rooms we have stayed in, and was useful for planning our visits to various places. I think we shall consider staying in the 'Turret Room' next time we stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarneyNearSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,446 reviews
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,602 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Property: Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Address: 53 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Hotel Harrogate 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ascot House Hotel Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Harrogate
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing