We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy and Comfy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Cosy and Comfy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

We stayed in the twin room above the lounge. Attractive view of the trees and houses across the road, which is pleasant for a city hotel. The most comfortable bed I have had in a hotel for a while.
Bathroom made the most of the space available, (difficult in conversions I think to make bathrooms look as though they are meant to be there.). Clean and elegant decor.
Staff friendly, smiley and efficient. Great breakfast with good choices, although I was a little confused that when I changed my choice to just mushrooms, tomato and baked beans the portion sizes didn't increase. It looked very lonely on the plate!
Very easy walk into harrogate, it felt safe at night even in fog (as I called it, slight mist as my Yorkshire friend termed it.) They were happy to store our cases on our last day, and also called us a cab when we went back for them. Will definitely be going back. A home from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fionahw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    158
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
95
532
25
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, everything was just perfect. Felt thoroughly spoilt. The staff without exception were friendly and caring. We had two evening meals at the hotel - both were expertly cooked and delicious.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Letsgetgoing8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troon, Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

I booked this hotel based on it being number 2 on Trip Advisor and we were not dissapointed. We booked the Turret Room again on previous reviews and certainally made the right choice. A lovely large room with large bathroom and King size bed. The best part though was sitting in the Turreted window area sipping wine watching the folk of Harrogate wander by.
The Hotel is only 5 minutes walk into the centre of town with loads of small eating houses close by. A lovely old building kept in pristine condition and very clean and tidy. Staff very friendly and helpful....a lovely breakfast in the morning. A big plus point also is that free car parking available at the hotel.Look forward to returning for more than one night next time.

Room Tip: The Turret Room is the place to be.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulTroon_Scotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

Even though I booked a single room, the room could only be described as minute. The shower room was even more miniscule. However the room was clean. Not the friendliest place. The hotel should ask guests to return quietly at night as the sound proofing seems non-existent. Very awkward carpark and extremely slippery slope leading from front door to carpark.

Room Tip: Do not book a single
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

I endorse all the praise that others that heaped on this hotel and have a bit to add. On the day we were to leave my wife woke feeling very unwell. Although it must have been a nuisance to the staff, there was no problem at all about her staying in the room beyond the usual check out time until she felt well enough to travel home. This flexibility was very welcome indeed and much appreciated.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnhamwee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta GA
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed one night on our drive through Yorkshire and the Lake District, and found The Ascot House a comfortable respite. The room was spacious, the breakfast enormous. The hotel was perfectly located, as a short walk brought you into the center of town for shopping and sight seeing. Couldn't have found a better place to land and plan to return on my next trip to the UK.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank britron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Lovely traditional hotel. Arrived on a Sunday afternoon and was made to feel very welcome. Stayed in room 10 which had everything we needed and was on the whole very clean. However the room had a high ceiling with beams which gathered cobwebs, didn't affect us but some people could find offputting.

Breakfast was lovely and service excellent!

Only negative was we returned back to hotel about 9.30pm and thought we'd have a nightcap at the bar but it was all in darkness so obviously closed.

Would stay again if in Harrogate.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank janet190261
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Property: Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Address: 53 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Hotel Harrogate 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Ascot House Hotel Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Harrogate
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing