We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 1 December 2012

We found this hotel by looking at trip advisor and the reviews were spot on. Only stayed for one night, but couldn't fault anything. The room was comfortable and well furnished. Breakfast was lovely and quickly served. The location couldn't be better.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MhairiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    686
    167
    28
    6
    2
See reviews for
102
554
25
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed recently and cannot fault the quality of service food and comfort of this hotel. Also within walking distance of harrogate town centre, it suited our needs so well. Thank you, we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2012

I booked 2 double rooms at the Ascot House Hotel in early November for a 2 day trip to Harrogate. I had read all the reviews on Trip Advisor and spoke to a gentleman I presumed was the owner. He was very courteous and as the double rooms were for 2 single people slightly reduced the cost without having to be asked. I felt very confident about my choice and the locality which seemed perfect. I was looking forward to taking my Mother on a visit to Harrogate.

What can I say... I was shown to room 16 which appeared fine. My Mother was shown to room 7 which quite frankly stunk of cat pee. My Mother staright away said she could not stay there and was shown to room 3. The gentleman refuted any claim of animal odour and said no animals were allowed however I subsequently read in the information book that at an extra cost animals can stay in certain rooms. Unfortunately I had not read this on the internet or was not advised of it when I booked. I have no problem with animals it is just the lingering scent of urine I find a tad unpleasant in a hotel.

The next thing I reported was that I found the pillows in my room smelled of stale sweat, enough to disrupt my night sleep. The bed linen was clean, the room was clean but the pillows really should have been destroyed and replaced. I spoke to the housekeeper after the first night but the pillows were either not changed or replaced with even more disgusting pillows for my second night.

So, apart from a smell of cat pee in room 7 and stale unpleasant pillows in room 16, the stay was ok. The best thing about the place is breakfast with a charming host. However, I could not possibly stay there again as the thought of where I rested my head at night makes me positively nauseous..

Room Tip: Find out which rooms animals can stay in at an extra cost and avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank George1096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2012 via mobile

Decided on a visit to Harrogate and an overnight stay, checked Trip Advisor and found the Ascot House. What a great recommendation. Our welcome was warm and we were quickly booked in and directed to our room. We were located at the rear of the hotel, but the benefit was that the room was nice and quiet. The room was a good size with an enormous double bed (which was comfortable), nicely furnished and very clean. The bathroom, while on the small size, was more than adequate with excellent facilities. And the water was red hot!

We decided to eat in the restaurant and that was also a good choice. While there were only two other couples in the restaurant, which was a shame, the food was really very good, nicely presented and extremely enjoyable.The service, by a nice young lady, was polite and efficient.

Breakfast the next morning was a treat. A choice of buffet or hot. The full English was superb, The bacon and sausage were excellent. On checking out the pleasant and polite approach by the staff continued and we were courtesly bid farewell. The Ascot House Hotel was a great choice and was great value for money. Would recommend.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ProudCestrian60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

A very clean and comfortable hotel within short walk of Harrogate town centre. I do not like UHT milk that so many hotels provide with the 'in room' tea tray, but this was not a problem as I was brought a jug of fresh milk - super service. I only stayed one night as I was en route, but would love to spend a long weekend there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minder9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Stayed on Friday 16th November and for the price, was excellent value for money. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a very warm welcome. The room was excellent, well equipped, warm and inviting and also very quiet. Breakfast was very good, and again, the staff were efficient and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Ascot house is a Jewel and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Just returned from two nights at Ascot House after spending three nights there in August,once again the service,food,cleanliness was top notch.If you book in for b&b be sure to have dinner there as well,the food is delicious.Also the best nights sleep on a lovely comfortable bed.If in Harrogate give the Ascot a try,you will not regret it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 in August and 19 in November both were clean and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morag E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
592 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,274 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,565 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
134 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Property: Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Address: 53 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Hotel Harrogate 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Ascot House Hotel Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Harrogate
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing