We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel Excellent Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Ranked #3 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in April whilst visiting relatives and indeed chose the hotel on personal recommendation from family and friends. It is a charming hotel and is run to a very high professional standard by courteous and friendly staff. Our room on the ground floor whilst not huge was very comfortable, tastefully decorated and with modern amenities. There is an excellent restaurant and a separate bar area which is a perfect place to enjoy pre or post dinner drinks. The food was outstanding and good value too. We thoroughly enjoyed our daily breakfasts with a wonderful array of continental and cooked choices and also a superb evening meal which my father joined us for. None of us could fault the cooking or service in any way.
The Ascot is well situated; it is a few minutes walk down the hill to the Montpellier Quarter with it's boutique shops and cafes and the Harrogate Convention Centre is just down the road too.
Overall the Ascot provides a warm welcome to it's visitors and I have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (941)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

619 - 625 of 941 reviews

Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed one night only at this small hotel in Harrogate having first checked it out on 'Trip'. We were certainly not disappointed - the service being a particular highlight from our reception, to the excellent service provided by our two freindly and competent waitresses at dinner, to the quickly served and freshly cooked breakfasts and the friendly check-out. There were some minor issues in the accommodation - the showers do not have grab rails which, considering the age of most of our fellow guests, would probably have been much appreciated, and the baths do not have flat edges, meaning that the soap automatically slides into the bath once you put it on the edge, but these are small matters and more than compensated for by the VERY high standard of cleanliness in the rooms. The reason for our stay was as a treat for my father-in-law's birthday and I can also report that he was absolutely delighted with his stay.

Room Tip: If you book a 'cosy' room (which is quite amply sized, so don't be put off by the name...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Moles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Husband and I stayed for 3 night stay in May and booked on the strength of trip advisor reviews. Check in was good and our executve room lovely - at the front of the house. The bed was huge and very comfortable. I enjoyed the chaise lounge in front of the large window, watching the world go by. There are toiletries provided so you can travel light. And there are tea/coffee facilities and biscuits in the room. For two of our three nights we dined in the restaurant in the evening. A three course is £22.50 and is SUPERB. Plenty of options for all three courses and the menu changed the nights we dined. In fact we dined out the third night - pre-arranged on previous experience and to be honest I wished I dined at Ascot for 3rd night too. The dining room is light and bright and the whole decor of this hotel is lovely. The bar area is huge and for a hote we found the bar prices very reasonable. Breakfast was good; buffet for cereals and then the traditional cooked with variations to suit. We ordered a packed lunch for £6.00 each as we were going out for the day. Fantastic - sandwiches, crisps, fruit, cake (Hmm) biscuits and a drink. All the staff we met were polite and courteous. It is a gentle 10 min walk to centre of Harrogate and 5 mins to the conference centre. There is free parking and this Hotel is a real gem. No hesitation in recommending, will visit again. You will not be disappointed. Thank you for a lovely stay - only disappointment was the weather but you couldn't do anything about that!

Room Tip: Executive room slightly larger, represent good value still.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PamLudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Yet again we have had the most superb stay at the Ascot House hotel - nothing too much trouble and always a smile and a good welcome, The food was simply superb and the newly decorated rooms are fabulous. Spotless, comfortable and welcoming- you could stay nowhere more welcoming or friendly. Do not pass the chance to experience this amazing hotel. Thank you to all for making our weekend special.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Yet another enjoyable stay at Ascot House. Lovely room, modern spotlessly clean bathroom with fluffy white towels. As always, attention to detail and excellent food and service.
Hotel is about ten minutes walk to town centre and rail/bus stations, from where there are regular trains to Leeds and York, and buses to Leeds/Ripon every 15 mins (No36).

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rowland64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

Excellent rooms, food and service. The choice at breakfast was impressive and the food in the evenings is not to be missed. The location was quiet but still central. We stayed for four nights and didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo-annLloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We spent one night here as part of a short holiday in North Yorkshire.

Ascot House is a lovely old house with an interesting history. We booked a de-luxe room and were given the "Coppice Room", which is beautiful with a huge bed and lovely furnishings. The brand new bathroom which has a large walk-in shower (no bath), was well equipped and had the biggest, fluffiest and whitest towels I have ever come across in a hotel! The standard of cleanliness was first class, not just in the room but throughout the hotel. There was plenty of off street parking.

We had booked a dinner, bed and breakfast deal and I'm so glad we decided to have dinner in the hotel rather than going out, as I doubt we could have found better food anywhere in Harrogate. I believe that the owner was an Executive Chef in a former life, and it certainly shows in the food! Breakfast was also excellent, and the Italian gentleman who looked after us was charming and professional, as were all the staff we came across in this lovely hotel.

If you want a comfortable, competitively priced hotel within easy walking distance of the town centre look no further than Ascot House - you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: I would recommend the "Coppice Room" but have little doubt that the other rooms in this lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank annadrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
331 reviews
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
653 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
1,783 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Address: 53 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £55 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Hotel Harrogate 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ascot House Hotel Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Harrogate
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing