We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel - Great Service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Haltwhistle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel - Great Service”
Reviewed 17 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 night in room 10. HUGE bed - very comfy. Tidy clean rooms. Lovely service. Very friendly staff especially the man serving breakfast (may of had an Italian accent?) Will deffo return. Can not complain

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnysun a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    166
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
101
547
25
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

Stayed at this lovely family run hotel for 2 nights for the late May bank holiday weekend. Great clean rooms, friendly staff in all parts of the hotel. Booked dinner bed and breakfast package which was great value for money. Breakfast and dinner was of a very high quality and service impeccable. Nothing was too much trouble and staff were very attentive. Dinner was delicious on both nights with different choices on both evenings. Breakfast was fantastic served piping hot with great service.
I stayed in the Turret room was absolutely stunning, beautifully decorated and spacious.
The Ascot House Hotel is highly ranked by Trip Advisor for good reason.
I highly recommend staying at this great family run hotel in Harrogate.

Room Tip: Choose the beautiful Turret room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pw007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE England
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Ascot House is a small family run hotel located near the centre of Harrogate, within easy walking distance of the Baths, parks and and shopping areas that make the town the among the most beautiful in england. Nothing about the hotel was dissapointing. We had booked a room described as 'Cosy Double', the only room available, which made me a bit apprehensive but it turned out to be plenty large enough and well appointed. Needless to say, it was spotlessly clean. The staff were unfailingly pleasant and friendly...nothing was too much. There is a very pleasant bar and lounge area with a small balcony overlooking a local park. All in all a lovely place to spend a few days.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank R56SEEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2013

We stayed here for one night and will be returning, it is ideally situated just around a 5 minute walk into the main town. The hotel is lovely great value for money we stayed on a Thursday night for only £109 this included a 3 course evening meal with plenty of choice and it was lovely, and a lovely full english breakfast with plenty of choice, excellent service all round nice separate bar area. We stayed in the loft room at the very top and was lovely very clean. Just a really nice hotel i don`t think you will be disappointed.

Room Tip: The loft room was lovely but obviously is up two flights of stairs so wouldn`t be ideal if you have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie637
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in April whilst visiting relatives and indeed chose the hotel on personal recommendation from family and friends. It is a charming hotel and is run to a very high professional standard by courteous and friendly staff. Our room on the ground floor whilst not huge was very comfortable, tastefully decorated and with modern amenities. There is an excellent restaurant and a separate bar area which is a perfect place to enjoy pre or post dinner drinks. The food was outstanding and good value too. We thoroughly enjoyed our daily breakfasts with a wonderful array of continental and cooked choices and also a superb evening meal which my father joined us for. None of us could fault the cooking or service in any way.
The Ascot is well situated; it is a few minutes walk down the hill to the Montpellier Quarter with it's boutique shops and cafes and the Harrogate Convention Centre is just down the road too.
Overall the Ascot provides a warm welcome to it's visitors and I have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed one night only at this small hotel in Harrogate having first checked it out on 'Trip'. We were certainly not disappointed - the service being a particular highlight from our reception, to the excellent service provided by our two freindly and competent waitresses at dinner, to the quickly served and freshly cooked breakfasts and the friendly check-out. There were some minor issues in the accommodation - the showers do not have grab rails which, considering the age of most of our fellow guests, would probably have been much appreciated, and the baths do not have flat edges, meaning that the soap automatically slides into the bath once you put it on the edge, but these are small matters and more than compensated for by the VERY high standard of cleanliness in the rooms. The reason for our stay was as a treat for my father-in-law's birthday and I can also report that he was absolutely delighted with his stay.

Room Tip: If you book a 'cosy' room (which is quite amply sized, so don't be put off by the name...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Moles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Husband and I stayed for 3 night stay in May and booked on the strength of trip advisor reviews. Check in was good and our executve room lovely - at the front of the house. The bed was huge and very comfortable. I enjoyed the chaise lounge in front of the large window, watching the world go by. There are toiletries provided so you can travel light. And there are tea/coffee facilities and biscuits in the room. For two of our three nights we dined in the restaurant in the evening. A three course is £22.50 and is SUPERB. Plenty of options for all three courses and the menu changed the nights we dined. In fact we dined out the third night - pre-arranged on previous experience and to be honest I wished I dined at Ascot for 3rd night too. The dining room is light and bright and the whole decor of this hotel is lovely. The bar area is huge and for a hote we found the bar prices very reasonable. Breakfast was good; buffet for cereals and then the traditional cooked with variations to suit. We ordered a packed lunch for £6.00 each as we were going out for the day. Fantastic - sandwiches, crisps, fruit, cake (Hmm) biscuits and a drink. All the staff we met were polite and courteous. It is a gentle 10 min walk to centre of Harrogate and 5 mins to the conference centre. There is free parking and this Hotel is a real gem. No hesitation in recommending, will visit again. You will not be disappointed. Thank you for a lovely stay - only disappointment was the weather but you couldn't do anything about that!

Room Tip: Executive room slightly larger, represent good value still.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PamLudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
586 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,529 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Property: Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Address: 53 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Best Value Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Hotel Harrogate 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ascot House Hotel Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Harrogate
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing