We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“short break 12th-15th Aug 2013”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Oakham Rutland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“short break 12th-15th Aug 2013”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

our latest break took us to the Ascot recommended by a friend who lives in Harrogate, the hotel was clean our room was great with our requested walk in shower( room No 4,) staff were pleasant and the food outstanding. The downside to our stay centred round my mobility after a stroke a few years ago. The rear car park is very tight and restricted not at all suitable to limited mobility,
there are no disabled bays , the receptionist offered to move her car to help but this space was quickly taken up by another staff
member .All in all a very nice hotel just not suitable for someone with walking difficulties like myself.

Room Tip: room No 4 has a great walk in shower but be careful when using it, the what appears to be a grab han...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank huntyOakhamRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    162
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
97
544
25
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

This is a very good hotel, close to the centre of Harrogate with parking available. The front of house staff are very accomodating and the housekeeping staff are clearly good at their jobs. Our room contained a large, comfortable, bed; two occasional chairs with table; a dressing table; wardrobe and drawers. There was also a selection of tea and coffee, boiled sweets and a hairdryer. The small bathroom was perfectly kept with some complimentary toiletries and plent of shelf space for your items.
The hotel has a small, well stocked, bar (perfect for pre-dinner drinks) with lounge. There is a smaller lounge at the front which balances the dining room (on either side of reception). In terms of dinner, the wine list is well chosen and the food cooked very well indeed. Breakfast is, likewise, cooked to perfection. Portion sizes at dinner, for us, were a bit over-facing and the dining room has that very British 'hushed tones' quality about it. However, we enjoyed our stay and the hotel has plenty to recommend it.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WestYorkshireTeaPea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in July when we had tickets to the music festival at York racecourse.

First impressions for check in were really good, friendly, efficient, even asked us what our plans were gave us a map highlighting places we had mentioned then insisted on carrying my bags for me when we were shown to our room.

We were pleasantly surprised when we arrived to be shown to a superior room with a 4 poster bed :-) As an added bonus there was galaxy hot chocolate & biscuits with the tea & coffee items. The complimentary shower gel, shampoo, shower cap & shoe polish kit were another added bonus. Not many B&B's offer these extras. There was also face tissues and cotton wool pads, hair dryer and crisp white towels for the guests to use.

Slept extremely well in the very comfortable bed and woke up refreshed and happy for breakfast.

Breakfast was beautiful, couldn't criticise anything, lots of choice and cooked to perfection. Polite waiting staff and they couldn't do enough for you.

The whole house is in a lovely area of York, about 15 minutes walk from the city centre so great location but away from any noisy traffic. It's a very welcoming place, reasonably priced and we would most definitely return.

There is limited parking on site but plenty in the nearby streets.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loula_blue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We booked this hotel on the strength of previous tripadvisor reviews and I'm pleased to say that it did not disappoint. Like many families, finding accommodation to room 2 adults and a child is difficult but Ascot House provided a loft room which enabled us to have a separate space. Prior to booking spoke to the proprietor who was extremely helpful to accommodate our needs. The hotel is well appointed, close to Harrogate centre and within 10 mins walk of the railway station so is ideal whether you want to check-out Harrogate or go further afield. Nothing was too much trouble and the front of house staff were always very eager to please. The breakfasts were fantastic with a selection of traditional and light continental. We did not try the evening menu which although looked great, was a little out of a family price bracket. I would be happy to recommend this hotel to friends, family and readers alike.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PartisanArtisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We traveled from California to join our family for a 40th anniversary celebration at the Ascot House hotel. The whole weekend was flawless, welcoming staff, ready to attend to every request. The food was fabulous, the accommodation very comfortable, immaculate in every way. We will definitely recommend this place to anyone traveling to Harrogate, very positive stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tauntusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Last weekend my wife and I celebrated our Ruby Wedding anniversary at the Ascot House Hotel, along with over 20 of our close family.
The hotel could not have been more friendly and helpful, providing first class meals for late arrivals without notice,setting out the excellent room for our celebration to comply exactly with our requirements for seating, power point projection area and a 'between course' area for the youngestchildren.
The rooms were very well appointed and maintained to a high standard.
The staff, from management to chambermaids, were all welcoming and helpful, dealing with any difficulty as soon as it occurred efficiently and with the minimum of fuss.
The food throughout was superb with varied and innovative menus, prepared to a high standard and served promptly and cheerfully.
As a final personal touch my wife was given a beautiful orchid on our departure.
The following day we had a 'phone call from Ascot House to advise us of items of clothing which had been left in one of the rooms and offering to post them on for us.
I have no hesitation in wholeheartedly recommending Ascot House to any of you, either as individuals or as a venue for a celebration.

Room Tip: Just tell the hotel your requirements, they care about your wellbeing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Stayed here for a weekend on a family reunion and they were wonderful to us. We phoned ahead as our train was running late and they whipped up dinner for us when we got there, no problem. And the food was lovely. The rooms are great - clean, modern great facilities TV, ipod dock, radios, kettles, wifi. We had our big family meal there on the Saturday and the food and service were excellent. The staff were very lovely and helpful, the road was quiet and the city centre is only a few minutes walk away

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catwillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Property: Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Address: 53 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Hotel Harrogate 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ascot House Hotel Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Harrogate
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing