We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

A great pick to spend a night in Harrogate. Location wise you can't beat Ascot House, its located a few minutes walk outside of the town centre. The property is set back from the road so you cannot hear any traffic from your room. There is free parking which is a great bonus in a busy town like Harrogate (the amount of traffic was a surprise). Excellent check-in service, the manager happily helped us plan the afternoon and provided a free map. We picked one of the deluxe rooms - nice big bed, lovely box window spaced room (light and airy). The shower worked well, and free tea and coffee was included with the kettle in room. The free wifi worked well with a strong signal all over the hotel. The tv reception was particularly poor but that was just a minor issue. Breakfast is fine - a nice hearty cooked breakfast was included in the price. We had dinner too - very good value for the choice and amount of food you get (Yorkshire portions).

All in all a very good choice if you want to be close to the centre of town but a walk away from the tourists. Highly recommended

Room Tip: upgrade to one of the deluxe rooms, more space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tayfun F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    158
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
95
532
25
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Piermont, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We were very well taken care of at the Ascot House. The room was very clean and comfortable, the staff attentive. We rested and enjoyed the beauty of Harrogate, thanks to the great location of our hotel. The street is quite during the night, green and pleasant during the day. Very nice walk to the center of town. We always very carefully search out restaurants in every location we plan to visit. We arrived at the Ascot House very tired and decided to just have a simple dinner so that we can rest, foregoing our plans to eat out. We were welcomed at the dining room and could not have made a better decision. We ate there every night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vmfaulkner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verwood
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Well we are back for the fifth year running and the standards are just as good. The staff are the same which shows contentment and the meals are excellent.
Cleanliness is of the highest standards and the bedrooms are nicely done out light and airy.
The town centre is about a seven minute walk so no problems in parking and you are not too far from the Yorkshire Dales (a must).
The only problem you could have is the weather, we have no control of this but I can assure you if it is good you will not regret and it will be a holiday to remember.

Room Tip: just book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ahallverwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Fantastic family run hotel in an absolutely perfect location for heading into Harrogate centre about 5 minutes walk away.

Very friendly staff, a great breakfast and a very comfy room. We booked on of the deluxe loft rooms which had a lovely sitting area, really comfy big bed and a luxurious bathroom.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a lovely small hotel. The management are excellent who are really interested in making their guests comfortable and welcome. The room was very clean with a large bed and lovely en suite. The evening meal was excellent - sirloin steak cooked to perfection. This is a real gem of a hotel and I would definitely stay there again. Even the guests were friendly and seemed to stay there frequently which in itself is a recommendation of the hotel. It was an enjoyable experience and you immediately felt calm and relaxed. It was only one night as a stop-over to break a long journey but if I was going back to England I would make sure a few nights stay here were included in my itinerary. It is a short walk into the town center so the location is very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Y M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night at the beginning of August en route from South Wales to Edinburgh. This was not just a stopover but a wonderful start to our holiday in Scotland. Our room was beautiful, large double at the front of the hotel. Everything spotlessly clean.Our foray into Harrogate included tea at the famous Bettys Tearoom Our dinner was superb preceded by an aperitif in the lounge. The staff were attentive and friendly. A very good nights sleep was followed by a great breakfast freshly cooked with plenty of choices. All told, a marvellous stay which was all too short. We would love to return

Room Tip: Our room was a large double at the front I think 26 , very spacious with a chaise longue perfect for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

This is a very well run small hotel. The management are friendly, effective and efficient. The same applies to the staff. Our room was quite large and well furnished. Scrupulously clean. We chose to eat in the hotel on the evening of our stay and were very impressed with both the quality and the value. If, or when, in Harrogate again we'll without doubt return.
Book with confidence!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arthurrbailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,399 reviews
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Property: Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Address: 53 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Hotel Harrogate 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ascot House Hotel Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Harrogate
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing