We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“REALLY NICE STAY” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“REALLY NICE STAY”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

Had a lovely stay for 1 night. It was an Anniversary gift and we really enjoyed it. The hotel is really clean and the staff are lovely. We had a 3 course dinner in the evening and that was superb. I would highly recommend this hotel and will definitely stay here again when we return to Harrogate.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    661
    158
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
95
532
25
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel for one night in the Baxter Room, it was a lovely room we wre not to sure on the 2 beds together but it did not spoil a good nights sleep. Both room and bathroom spotless, breakfast one of the best we have tasted the food remained hot due to the plates being warmed (always a good trick) everybody was very accommodating and helpfull.
Will without doubt recommend this hotel to my friends.

Room Tip: Book Early
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BRENDAN Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stayed at Ascot House for two nights whilst attending a conference at the HIC which was a two minute walk away. My room was lovely. Immaculately clean and very tastefully furnished and decorated. Breakfast was excellent, with a great choice of different combinations. Staff were welcoming and attentive. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The double loft room is lovely and very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAJ101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were staying at The Ascot House, Harrogate for one night for a friends birthday party in town. The hotel is lovely. Very nicely decorated and super clean. Over the evening and morning after we met the owners and a member of staff Fred. They were really friendly and helped us with our bags and info on the local area.

We booked the loft room and it was more like a suite. Separate seating area, desk/dressing table, lovely bathroom and a wonderful bed. Hotel was really quiet and the glazing is triple. You hear nothing which is a big thing for me.

Breakfast was great with one of the biggest choices is found in a long time. We went away suitably recharged and happy. If back in Harrogate we will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Choose the loft room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddingtraveller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leek, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

My wife and I have just returned from spending 7 nights here. This is one of the best small hotels that we have been to. Everything is to a exceptional high standard, from cleanliness and comfort to the food in the restaurant. It is just a short walk into the town, which meant we were able to leave the car at the hotel for our trips into town. To save time we booked a meal at the hotel on our first night and were very pleased that we did so as the food is exceptional, the chef definitely knows what he is doing. Service was excellent throughout our stay and everyone was very helpful and friendly. We will certainly return and would recommend this place to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We chose Ascot House for our one night in Harrogate based on the tripadvisor reviews and after seeing what previous guests had to say, we were very much looking forward to our stay there.

On checking in we were greeted very nicely by one of the owners and given a map of the area and directions in to town which was a nice touch. We also reserved a table for dinner.

The hotel itself is immaculate and the staff very friendly, although we felt that the young man we saw in the afternoon was a little overworked perhaps as in the space of ten minutes we saw him on reception, hoovering the dining room and serving in the lounge bar. In the evening he was also serving dinner in the restaurant. All of this done with a smile and good humour though.

The lounge bar was a lovely area for a pre dinner drink however we felt that perhaps was not used an awful lot as the soda water I ordered was flat and the brandy my fiance ordered had certainly seen better days! You could tell by the smell of it that the bottle had been open quite some time. The dry ginger that was ordered with it never did arrive, but again perhaps a sign that they were a little understaffed.

Dinner was exquisite. The food was excellent although after the hiccups in the bar we were a little concerned. Particularly when we were presented with the menus, which were two different ones! The food certainly redeemed this though. Breakfast is equally good. Perfect poached eggs for me and a lovely full English for my fiance but no sausages on the plate even though these were described on the menu!

The big grumble we had however was about the bed. We had chosen a classic room and I must say it was very nice, although the bath plug was not working properly which resulted in the quickest bath ever!!

The double bed we had expected was in fact twin beds put together, which would not have been a problem, however they were perhaps not fixed together properly as by the morning they were quite separate. So much so I could fit my hands between them. One of the mattresses was a good inch higher than the other also so not the best nights sleep we have ever had.

We did mention this to the owner after breakfast the following day and she did apologise, explaining that she had never had this before, however we were tired and grumpy at this point!

Overall I would say that this is a lovely hotel, with excellent service and food but let down a little by a couple of minor things. Shame.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a room with a fixed double rather than converted twins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rachaelchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Whereas you can usually never fully believe everything you read on TA - this time I don't think you could say 'I have been misled'.This small hotel provides the level of service and comfort that it claims together with never ending smiles. We spent 3 days in Harrogate last weekend and found that Ascot House was everything that we thought that it might be - if we were lucky! We had what I would describe as a mid-range room on the ground floor which I think was a larger twin, with shower and separate bath. What we focus on is wholesome freshly cooked food and comfort and convenience in the room. Window view is of interest only when we are on the coast or deep in the country. Next time we go to that area we know where we will be heading and will reserve our accommodation in good time!!.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 10KML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,399 reviews
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Property: Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Address: 53 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Hotel Harrogate 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ascot House Hotel Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Harrogate
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing