We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$108
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
The West Park Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Crown Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rudding Park Hotel(Follifoot)
US$377
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel du Vin and Bistro(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$156
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimberley Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$150
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cairn Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$194
US$91
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Harrogate South Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$116
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$116
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (972)
Filter reviews
972 results
Traveller rating
753
180
31
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
753
180
31
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturret roomsmall hoteltown centrestained glasslovely hotelyorkshire breakfastkippersten minute walkno liftevening mealon site parkinglarge bedwould highly recommend this hotelwithin easy walking distancecar parkhigh standardboth nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
562 - 567 of 972 reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A very good hotel if you need to be close to the town centre or if you're going to the conference centre. It is not however a luxury hotel. I suppose you get what you pay for. Breakfast was nice though I did not like walking past the open kitchen to get to my room. The room was a decent size and was very clean. Bar service was slow.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet but look out on to a car park/office building. Best rooms are in the main house apparently.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toffeefudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Ascot House Hotel. We have nothing but praise for this hotel, every aspect of our stay was very enjoyable. Our room, loft room 27 is large, clean and well equipped. The food at this hotel is excellent, we couldn`t fault the breakfast and ate two evening meals there during our three night stay, we would have eaten in a third night, but we had already booked a restaurant before leaving home! My husband was especially impressed with the salmon. We had a great short break and we are already planning our next visit.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We went to the Ascot House Hotel for a family celebratory weekend. We were one mature couple, one couple with two young children, one couple with a baby, and one single; and we occupied respectively one “flagship” double room, one family room, one double room with cot, and one single room. The rooms were clean, comfortable and very well-appointed with enviable interior decoration.

The staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and efficient – particularly the couple who were the owners and the young lady serving in the restaurant.

We were booked for two nights, two dinners and two full English breakfasts. The meals were excellent, copious and of a good standard. The Hotel had organised a private dining-room for us which gave us the intimacy we had wanted.

At all times we were very well looked after. Nothing was too much trouble for this most caring of establishments. And, when time began to hang heavy, we could always adjourn to the bar-lounge in ones and twos and groups.

The Hotel is within easy walking distance (even for the young children aged 9 and 6) of central Harrogate, the main shopping area, the Valley Gardens, the Pine Woods and the Stray. It also boasts private parking within the Hotel grounds – though the latter is not secure in the sense of being lockable.

We had absolutely no cause for complaint and we can see absolutely no reason to deduct appreciation points. This was a celebratory weekend that went off without hitch and to which the Hotel made a valuable and faultless contribution. We have no hesitation in recommending it to travellers of all age-groups.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Somniacity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

After having a lot of problems with our original hotel (The Balmoral), cutting our stay short we found Ascot House. We inquired about a room at 10.30am on New Year ’s Eve and were told that they had a room free (very last minute life savers), check in would not normally be until 2pm but we were told that they would make us a priority and our room was ready and waiting for us by lunch time.

We booked to stay in one of the loft rooms and were not left disappointed, our room was huge, beautifully decorated and had more facilities than we could use. The room had a very large bedroom including a very comfy super king size bed, digital radio, CD player, iPod dock, smart TV, free Wi-Fi, separate seating area with drink making facilities and a lovely modern bathroom.

Ascot House cannot be faulted; the staff are brilliant, the building stunning and spotless, the breakfast tasty and a great location for Harrogate.

While this hotel is not a budget stay it is worth every penny!

Room Tip: The extra £10 for one of the loft rooms is more than worth it!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SW1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights over Christmas. A warm welcome, brilliant and friendly service, and a very clean and comfortable room. A massive choice for breakfast, with everything cooked well and an excellent Christmas lunch. I would thoroughly recommend Ascot House Hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MickB824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews