We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DISAPPOINTED.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DISAPPOINTED.”
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at Ascot House to celebrate my partner's birthday. As I run my own B and B my standards are quite high. The first disappoiment was the bedroom which was miniscule but did have everything needed. If you are a few pounds over an average size the bathroom would be a tight squeeze and the bath itself impossible to fit in.

The hotel is undergoing refurbishments at the moment.

Breakfast was OK but the fruit salad on the buffet table looked very anaemic.

The location is great and an easy walk into Harrogate.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jasmine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

872 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    676
    162
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
97
544
25
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cle Elum, Washington
Level Contributor
165 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

I operate a small group tour company and we always look for wonderful, small accommodation choices for our tours. We like an overall feel more than anything else and Ascot House Hotel really filled the bill! Having never stayed there, I was a bit concerned, but that was quickly put to rest upon our arrival. The hotel is perfectly situated just outside the hustle and bustle of Harrogate in a lovely neighborhood. We were driving two small minibuses and had no problem with parking. The rooms were large and very nicely done with loads of comfort.
We had diner at the hotel one night and we were so well taken care of we felt like we were in one of the finest dining establishments in the UK. The meal was exceptional and we couldn't have been more pleased. I cannot fault the hotel in any way!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ScottishDreamTours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
herts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

A very good hotel if you need to be close to the town centre or if you're going to the conference centre. It is not however a luxury hotel. I suppose you get what you pay for. Breakfast was nice though I did not like walking past the open kitchen to get to my room. The room was a decent size and was very clean. Bar service was slow.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quiet but look out on to a car park/office building. Best rooms are in the mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toffeefudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Ascot House Hotel. We have nothing but praise for this hotel, every aspect of our stay was very enjoyable. Our room, loft room 27 is large, clean and well equipped. The food at this hotel is excellent, we couldn`t fault the breakfast and ate two evening meals there during our three night stay, we would have eaten in a third night, but we had already booked a restaurant before leaving home! My husband was especially impressed with the salmon. We had a great short break and we are already planning our next visit.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank louise K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Draguignan, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We went to the Ascot House Hotel for a family celebratory weekend. We were one mature couple, one couple with two young children, one couple with a baby, and one single; and we occupied respectively one “flagship” double room, one family room, one double room with cot, and one single room. The rooms were clean, comfortable and very well-appointed with enviable interior decoration.

The staff were extremely welcoming, friendly and efficient – particularly the couple who were the owners and the young lady serving in the restaurant.

We were booked for two nights, two dinners and two full English breakfasts. The meals were excellent, copious and of a good standard. The Hotel had organised a private dining-room for us which gave us the intimacy we had wanted.

At all times we were very well looked after. Nothing was too much trouble for this most caring of establishments. And, when time began to hang heavy, we could always adjourn to the bar-lounge in ones and twos and groups.

The Hotel is within easy walking distance (even for the young children aged 9 and 6) of central Harrogate, the main shopping area, the Valley Gardens, the Pine Woods and the Stray. It also boasts private parking within the Hotel grounds – though the latter is not secure in the sense of being lockable.

We had absolutely no cause for complaint and we can see absolutely no reason to deduct appreciation points. This was a celebratory weekend that went off without hitch and to which the Hotel made a valuable and faultless contribution. We have no hesitation in recommending it to travellers of all age-groups.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Somniacity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

After having a lot of problems with our original hotel (The Balmoral), cutting our stay short we found Ascot House. We inquired about a room at 10.30am on New Year ’s Eve and were told that they had a room free (very last minute life savers), check in would not normally be until 2pm but we were told that they would make us a priority and our room was ready and waiting for us by lunch time.

We booked to stay in one of the loft rooms and were not left disappointed, our room was huge, beautifully decorated and had more facilities than we could use. The room had a very large bedroom including a very comfy super king size bed, digital radio, CD player, iPod dock, smart TV, free Wi-Fi, separate seating area with drink making facilities and a lovely modern bathroom.

Ascot House cannot be faulted; the staff are brilliant, the building stunning and spotless, the breakfast tasty and a great location for Harrogate.

While this hotel is not a budget stay it is worth every penny!

Room Tip: The extra £10 for one of the loft rooms is more than worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SW1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Stayed here for two nights over Christmas. A warm welcome, brilliant and friendly service, and a very clean and comfortable room. A massive choice for breakfast, with everything cooked well and an excellent Christmas lunch. I would thoroughly recommend Ascot House Hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MickB824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,498 reviews
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,653 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Property: Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Address: 53 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5HJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Hotel Harrogate 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Ascot House Hotel Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Harrogate
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing