We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

Just back from a 2 night business stay. Good comfortable room. Good WiFi throughout. However, I didn't get the service from the staff that many other reviews have mentioned. Didn't eat in the restaurant the first night as advised it would be closing early as not many people booked in and timings didn't work for me. Breakfast was OK. Cereal & juice buffet to start. Choice thereafter.
Would I return? Yes, if price was similar. Did I get the service that I though I would from a highly rated, trip adviser Hotel? No.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rat_Tabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (927)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

493 - 499 of 927 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Just enjoyed our second visit to this hotel and was just as good as the first. The hotel has recently undergone some refurbishment and looks and feels nicer. The rooms are clean, warm and comfortable. The food is great, especially scrambled egg at breakfast made with cream. You can book a meal for the evening in the restaurant and the quality and presentation are superb. The staff here, especially Umberto cannot do enough for you. The hotel is just a short leisurely stroll from town. So good that we want to return for our wedding anniversary in November.

Stayed: March 2014
3  Thank pabcfc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Lovely small hotel in Harrogate, lovely rooms, staff are super friendly with nothing too much trouble, we arrived around 12.30pm just at ask if we could drop our bags off as check in want until 2pm, lady on reception went and checked if our room was ready and let us check in there and then, great service. We stayed in the coppice room which was large but lovely and cosy, bed was so comfy. Breakfast was delicious.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank maxflia10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Spent a wonderful weekend in Harrogate which was made perfect by staying at the Ascot House Hotel.
Beautiful building, superb room, friendly helpful staff and idealy situated just a short walk from the town centre.
Will definitely be back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank stib92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Very good room size, attractively decorated and large TV. Would go here again but when we stayed the entrance way was being refurbished. As this was a "special" sleepover it didnt give the right ambiance as we arrived at the hotel, which was a shame. Breakfast very good. Parking a bit tight. Good walking location to Harrogate shops and theatre..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jae55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We're just back from a surprise trip to Harrogate celebrating a birthday. I admit to being a little perturbed when we arrived to find the whole of the entrance and reception area populated by decorators, but was soon won round by the lovely attitude of the lady who greeted us, and the notice apologising that 'We're not always this scruffy!'
It appears that the decorators have been working for several weeks, and they are doing a sterling job.
We had a large double room, well apointed, and with super little ensuite bathroom. Plenty of hot water, fluffy towels and very clean.
The bed was a 2x3', giving us 6' of space, clean and comfy.
The well stocked bar has already been refurbished, and is light, spacious and welcoming.
The breakfast menu is pretty standard fare, and is well presented, and cooked.
Evening meals were a treat - 5/6 choices on each course. 2 courses £19.95 or 3 for £24.95 I believe. Between us we tried a good selection, and none were disappointing.
My only concerns were the unavoidable steps to the rooms [ fine for us, but would have been a problem for people with limited mobility, so it's worth asking when you book.] and the fact that the fire escape door was padlocked shut. Thankfully we didn't have to use it, but it would have presented a real problem in the event of a fire.
A lovely break, very helpful and accomodating staff.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hadenmaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The hotel was in an excellent position to the town centre and a two minute walk away from the international conference centre. We received a warm welcome and there is plenty of onsite parking. The room was clean, well presented and maintained. The breakfast was a good choice and hot (rather than kept warm under a heat lamp) with good quality produce overall they catered for all our needs.

Room Tip: We booked a larger room with a separate seating area but on reflection I would only book this room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
269 reviews
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
640 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,768 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,726 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Address: 53 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Best Value Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £64 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Hotel Harrogate 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your Ascot House Hotel Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Harrogate
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing