We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great staff, and a great location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This was one of the best accommodation experiences I have ever had. The hotel is conveniently situated in the city center, but with some distance with all the hustle and bustle of the central area. It is about 10 minutes walk from the train station; however, if you have luggage, you would be better off hoping on a taxi as it is only five pounds to the hotel. Being on the corner of St Luke's avenue and King's Road makes it possible for all rooms to have beautiful views. The breakfast is great and the person who manages the breakfast room is a real gentleman. Rooms are extremely clean and towels are clean and abundant. The only minus it the absence of a lift. I do recommend this lovely place if you don't mind spending a few more pounds for the sake of peace and luxury.

Room Tip: Loft rooms have the best views!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momeeted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (906)
There are newer reviews for Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

461 - 467 of 906 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2014

We stayed two nights at Ascot House and were most comfortable in this delightful late Victorian house. The welcome was very warm and all your would expect from a family run hotel. The waiting staff were lovely and we enjoyed talking to the Polish waitress and the Portuguese waiter as these are both countries we have visited and like very much. We had a most pleasant dinner on our first night; for the second we tried a restaurant in town. We slept very well in the comfortable room and enjoyed a great breakfast with local produced food. I am bringing my group there for a stay in 2015 and I am sure they will enjoy it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soundtravellerLudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

What a delightful hotel. We stayed here with friends for two nights and experienced hospitality at its highest level. Our room was light, airy and spotlessly clean, as was the rest of the hotel. We dined in the hotel both nights and the food was simply superb and beautifully presented. The staff were welcoming and good humoured but the little extras they did for us was what made this stay so special. Walking into the centre of Harrogate took about 10 minutes, so the location was good. We did discuss how we would rate the hotel out of ten...as one friend said, it would have to be eleven! If I return to Harrogate I would definitely choose to stay at this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Gools68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Booked this hotel very last minute but was very pleasantly surprised. Lovely warm welcome by reception staff, large room with huge comfy bed and modern bathroom with luxury toiletries. We had a drink and a bar meal, best beer battered cod and chips ever ! Again, breakfast couldn't be faulted and the staff were lovely and attentive. If we ever visited this area again we wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clairestoke-on-trent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had a prompt and friendly greeting which gave me a good feeling which only got better during our stay.
The room was lovely, clean, warm, quiet and with sufficient space. The ensuite was immaculate and a real pleasure to use. We had a tv, wifi and a DAB radio with alarm facility. Our bed was really comfortable and gave us a good nights sleep.

We decided to stay in for our evening meal and it was excellent. The food looked good and tasted better and the staff were concerned about ensuring that there was no problem with dietary requirements. The dining room was airy and comfortable which added to the pleasure of our evening meal which we enjoyed with a good bottle of wine. The dining room staff were friendly, attentive and efficient both for the evening meal and for breakfast. The breakfast was like the evening meal beautifully cooked - the mushrooms were really succulent.

We will definitely stay at the Ascot House again as not only is it a great hotel but the location suits us for our business trips as it is a short walk into town and has good access to the main roads nearby.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We stay in Harrogate quite regularly, visiting family who live there but have never stayed in this hotel before but it will be our first choice from now on. We arrived a little early hoping to just leave our car but the guy on reception made us feel very welcome and checked to see if our room was ready - it was - and it was no problem at all to book in straight away. The room was lovely - well furnished with a large comfortable bed and modern en-suite shower room. Tea, coffee and biscuits were there for our use. The cleanliness throughout the hotel was exceptional. The breakfast was excellent with everything you could wish for in fruit and cereals and a great choice for cooked breakfast. Every member of staff gave service with a smile and nothing seemed too much trouble. We will definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ChrissyMay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

I booked this hotel for a two-night stay weekend away with friends having read the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed! The hotel was excellent, rooms clean and fresh and nicely decorated and the service within the hotel was exactly as it should be. We had a meal in the restaurant the first night and that too was excellent. If we come to Harrogate (which incidentally was a great place to spend a weekend) again this will be the place to stay

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#8 of 30 in Harrogate
188 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,664 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Address: 53 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5HJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Best Value Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £66 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Hotel Harrogate 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Ascot House Hotel Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Harrogate
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing