We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Nearby Hotels
Cedar Court Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The West Park Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$142
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel du Vin and Bistro(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$123
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
The Crown Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kimberley Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Old Swan Hotel(Harrogate)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairn Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$187
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rudding Park Hotel(Follifoot)
US$361
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (976)
Filter reviews
976 results
Traveller rating
756
180
32
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
756
180
32
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturret roomsmall hoteltown centrestained glasslovely hotelyorkshire breakfastkippersten minute walkno liftevening mealon site parkinglarge bedwould highly recommend this hotelwithin easy walking distancecar parkhigh standardboth nights
Filter
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 976 reviews
Reviewed 3 July 2014

I have just returned from a long weekend in Harrogate where I stayed in the Amazing Ascot House. I chose the hotel due to its reviews and was not disappointed. Our 'cosy double' was clean and comfortable and perfect for a short stay. Breakfast was delicious I ate the porridge and fresh fruit salad whist my husband opted for the Yorkshire breakfast - both were larger than expected and of excellent quality. Service was friendly and relaxed; we made use of both the lounge and the bar. The attention to detail in the whole hotel makes it feel so much more than a 3 star. I recommend it fully.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buddwort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Well, stayed here for a family do, in the family room, small cramped, designed for OAPs Even the stairs up to our room smelt of damp. Bathroom cleanish but far from squeaky clean, whatever happened to the hot water after the first half inch I can't imagine. Staff and service a bit creepy and again more suited to old people - most of the guests seemed elderly. Not for families.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tildy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Having checked that all websites offered a double room for two at 79 pounds, and that the Ascot House Hotel's website guarantees 'lowest price', I called the hotel to make a reservation. The gentleman who answered offered me a double room for two for 84 pounds. When I queried the difference between the hotel and the websites, he snapped "Well, you should have said you wanted the 'cosy double'. That I can let you have for 79 pounds. I asked what the difference was between the 'cosy double' and the 'classic double' and he confirmed it was the size of the room. Still, I chose to proceed with the reservation for the 79 pounds 'cosy double'. After taking my details, he informed me that he'd need a 50 pounds deposit taken from the card immediately. When I asked why he needs me to pay 50 pounds at the end of June for an end of October reservation, he replied, "That's just the way it is." I explained that every hotel I know of will take my credit card details and charge me the cost of the room if I become a 'no show', and that if I show, I pay on departure. "Well, that might be other hotels, but here you have to pay 50 pounds deposit now," came the reply. We closed down the discussion and I placed my reservation elsewhere.

Room Tip: Research the type of room and cost options in advance.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank TrevorHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Turret room which was perfectly nice - clean, relatively spacious, nice seating area and fireplace - but the en suite was poor quality in comparison with the rest of the hotel. It felt cheap and the shower had very poor water pressure. Breakfast was nice - the room and table setting were lovely - but it wasn't clear how it worked with no one to greet you when you came down to the dining room - main disappoint here was the old grubby metal teapots, especially after having a nice proper china teapot in the room. Overall it was fine and worked well for exploring the area but after thinking we would pay extra for the better room we felt it wasn't value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Cate257
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We booked the Ascot , as part of a very brief honeymoon, on our way back from Scotland. We found the Hotel to be elegant . The staff charming and so welcoming . Our room, was immaculate and so quiet. The breakfast was superb and plenty of choice .
We sat out in the garden the first evening, which is beautifully kept .
If in Harrogate again , we shall return.
We must also thankyou for the generous bottle of chilled Proscecco . Thank you so much .

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Belinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews