We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Nearby Hotels
Crowne Plaza Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Cairn Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$198
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Crown Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rudding Park Hotel(Follifoot)
US$383
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimberley Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The West Park Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Innkeeper's Lodge Harrogate-West(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$103
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Harrogate West Park Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$62
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (969)
Filter reviews
970 results
Traveller rating
751
180
31
6
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
751
180
31
6
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsturret roomsmall hoteltown centrestained glasslovely hotelyorkshire breakfastkippersten minute walkno liftevening mealon site parkinglarge bedwould highly recommend this hotelwithin easy walking distancecar parkhigh standardboth nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
910 - 915 of 970 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel in order to visit the autumn flower show and Rievaulx Abbey. It is a substantively built establishment. Assuming you have read the earlier reviews we really cannot heap more praise upon it. The welcome is "big" and service excellent particularly the dining staff led by Umberto. The food is outstanding (we were appalled to see one guest heap tomato ketchup and brown sauce on his meal even before tasting it He specially asked for these as they were not obviously available) We as a couple are not in favour of the pressure to dumb down and thankfully some 50% of male guests wore jacket and tie to dinner.
There were two minor problems. The car park is small and difficult to manoeuvre and is shaded by lime trees which give rise to resin. You can park in neighbouring streets if this bothers you. Secondly in this computer age there is a WI-FI station mounted on the wall in the corrider. If you are a light sleeper and in a room close by the hum can be annoying. I am an extremely light sleeper most other guest would probably not notice it.
There is a bus service from right outside the hotel. The hotel thoroughly deserve its 96% satisfaction rating. Trip advisor gives spot ratings from one to five - if there had been a six we have given this to the food.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank darby_and_joanRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2010

This hotel is a little gem in harrogate. The hotel and staff are very welcoming and friendly nothing is too much trouble. The rooms are pleasant and very clean and have everything you need. The food well were do I start... I would advise a diet before you go to this hotel, the food is excellent and there is plenty of it, there is no need to eat out. The restaurant is bright and pleasant and the tables are laid out with lovely linen and fresh flowers for breakfast and dinner. There is plenty choice for dinner and breakfast. We took my husbands parents for a long week-end and we had a wonderful stay. It is no more than 10 mins walk into the centre of Harrogate so is a good base. We would definately stay again. Highly Recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saxlady_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We stayed at this hotel for two nights while visiting the area. We ate in the hotel on the first night as we were too tired to walk into the town. What luck! The food was excellent. The fillet steak in pepper sauce was delicious, and it was excellent value for money. We ate in the hotel on the second night to because the food was so good we didn't want to eat anywhere else! If you get the chance eat in. We weren't dissapointed. We had the room at the top of the first fllight of stairs, on the left. It was ok. Quite big, but beginning to look a little tired. We slept well, so no real problem.
All the staff are a very friendly and helpful. The hotel is within easy walking distance of the town, and Betty's Famous Tea Rooms. If you get the chance try and visit for the afternoon tea, it's a real treat. (My husband and I had one to share as we didn't want to spoil our dinner!) Excellent shopping in the town. An enjoyable place to stay for a short break.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

This was booked through laterooms: £79 for a standard double room with breakfast. Had less time there than would have liked as it was really comfortable and staff we met were all welcoming and pleasant. Breakfast lovely.
However the room we had (first left at top of stairs) desperately needs a deep clean as a previous guest has smoked (a lot) in there. Nothing worse than the smell of stale nicotine especially now no-one smokes indoors. Spoilt an otherwise lovely room!
The other thing was that we were woken in the small hours by the blue standby l.e.d. on the flat screen tv. FLASHING! It lit up the whole room and was a rather disturbing experience... It took my partner a few minutes to locate the proper 'off' button on the side of the t.v.! In a hurry so forgot to tell management about this. I also would have asked for a different room due to the smell, but we were in a hurry to get out for the evening.
Otherwise this is a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank singletravellingmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2010

Overnight stay following a family reunion. Victorian house with character and a pleasant garden. On-site parking a definite asset! Well situated for the town centre with restaurants and pubs nearby. Spacious residents lounge, only had breakfast but food was good, staff were friendly. We had a spacious double room with large bed (2 singles) and armchairs. Modern ensuite bathroom reasonable size. BUT we were very disappointed when we saw the single room which a member of our party had! It was very small with enough room for a bed and wardrobe, the bathroom was cramped and didn't seem to be as modern as ours. She didn't complain to us but we felt embarrassed as I had suggested this hotel. It was the only failing in the visit but I would hesitate to use this hotel again if there was a single room required.

Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
Thank peteman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews