We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Easter Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Merseyside
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A lovely Easter Break”
Reviewed 24 April 2012

On arrival at the Studley we were greeted by the lovely reception who directed us to our room. Our room which overlooked the back carpark & roof (that was getting jet washed whilst we were there to remove moss etc), was nice but soooo small & the bathroom was tiny with the loo squashed at the end of the bath! I went back to reception to see if we could change rooms & they were very helpful & showed us to another room which was situated at the front of the Hotel, which was so much nicer and alot roomier!! All the staff at the Studley were very polite, friendly & helpful and although they were from various different countries, they spoke excellent English! Breakfast was lovely, with a good selection of cereals, fruits, yoghurts etc, plus a choice of cooked breakfast options to choose from. We only ate lunch in the Hotel one afternoon during our stay which was also very nice. We ate in the Orchid Restaurant on the Saturday evening which we had booked when we booked the Hotel itself and it was delicious. It must have a very good reputation as it was fully booked with locals etc!
All in all this was a nice Hotel, situated about 5 minutes walk from the centre of Harrogate with all it's shops, bar's & cafe's restaurants etc, and Harrogate itself is a lovely place, very cosmopolitan and a place I have since gone on to recommend to my Friends as somewhere well worth a visit for a long weekend etc!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front of the Hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JollyholsMerseyside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    229
    47
    18
    3
See reviews for
53
425
8
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

A really comfortable and well hotel in a great location...great food, comfortable clean and modern room...what else could you ask for we will be back!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoseYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlech
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Stayed on 13 April for one night. This is a lovely hotel, comfortable bedroom, friendly staff. We had a superb meal in the Orchid Restaurant. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GwyliauJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Standish, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have just returned from a fab stay at the Studley Hotel and cannnot fault our stay. The rooms were very nice (lovely comfy beds) with all the facilities you would expect. The staff were extremely helpful.The hotel is perfectly located near the Royal Pump Room and I would have no hesitation in staying here again. The cocktails at the cocktail bar were also excellent!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karbli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Stayed two nights. Very good hotel let down slightly by our room not being ready when we got there after being told we could go up to it and then being told it would be at least another 35 mins. The room itself was nice looking over gardens, but there were crisps down the side of the bed and we had not had any crisps. Food in the restaurant excellent, breakfast good and staff brilliant. Just slight niggles but would consider staying again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sammyjimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Cave, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Stayed last Saturday night over the Easter weekend.Hotel receptionist was very helpful on our arrival. The room was nice and had everything you needed. The location of the hotel was excellent , right in the centre of Harrogate. Breakfast was very good and we also decided to have a meal in the Orchid Restaurant.The decision was definately the right one as the food was excellent.A mixture of Far Eastern tastes including Thai and Japanese.Hotel parking was limited but we arrived early and managed to get a spot. Definately stay again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodfaith_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
82 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

We stayed at the Studley for 3 nights in April and found it hard to fault our stay. We booked an executive room and were given room 14 which is at the opposite end of the corridor from the bar (very convenient!) The room was bright and spacious and had retained many of its original period features while still appearing modern.The bathroom was spotless, albeit small. The only negative things I can find to say about the room was that the large bed was actually two single beds pushed together, so not as comfortable as it could have been. The soundproofing in the room was also not great and we could hear music at times.

The service in the hotel was attentive yet discreet. I asked for a stronger hairdryer and was brought one straight away. The staff seem like they will go out of their way to help you. One note of caution concerns the car park, which is very tight and not recommended for people with large cars or a lack of parking talent.

We didn't eat in the restaurant but did have breakfast each morning which was excellent. The food was freshly cooked to order (much nicer than the buffet breakfast most hotels offer these days.) The menu included the traditional full English, omelettes with various fillings, pancakes and smoked salmon. Again the service at breakfast was excellent.

On the whole we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Studley and would not hesitate to return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NeilandLauraGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
586 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,529 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant

Property: Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Address: 28 Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the Valley Gardens in central Harrogate, the Studley Hotel has a refurbished lounge, cocktail bar and terrace. The friendly, 4-star hotel has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. The rooms all have contemporary decor and modern bathrooms and shower rooms. Rooms also feature a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Some rooms have PlayStations, MAC mini-computers and iPod docks. Guests can relax in the O Bar, which offers light snacks and classic cocktails. With 2 AA Rosettes, the Orchid Restaurant offers authentic East Asian cuisine and specialties from the Pacific Rim. Studley Hotel offers free parking permits and some on-site parking, and guests receive free passes for a local leisure centre (restrictions apply). International Conference & Exhibition Centre, Betty’s Tea Rooms and the Montpellier Quarter are just a few minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Hotel And Orchid Restaurant Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing