We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treated like a Royal!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Treated like a Royal!”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

I stayed at the Studley recently and was so pleasantly surprised at how well I was treated. I just walked in to the front desk with no reservation. They arranged a beautiful room for me, helped me get settled, directed me to the local spa, even ordered me a pizza! I travel a lot and I was so impressed with the service I got from this hotel. It was a real treat! I will stay here again in the future. Excellence should be rewarded!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenskate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    226
    47
    18
    3
See reviews for
53
421
8
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kelso, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We stayed for 1 night on our way home from visiting friends in Buckinghamshire - As it was a Sunday night we took up the option of the room with £50 voucher to spend in the bar and Orchid restaurant. From the moment of arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who made the check in process very easy and directed us to our room. The room was an executive double - very tastefully decorated with a huge bed and a most fantastic bathroom with a walk in shower and underfloor heating. Car parking on site is a bonus too. We had a drink in the bar before heading to dinner - well what can I say the food was out of this world. I am only glad this restaurant is not on my doorstep or I could be a frequent visitor. The staff were very friendly and the service was second to none. The food was of a 5 start quality. Nice little touch in the restaurant was watching the TV screen and seeing the chefs cooking the food in the kitchen. Definatley stay again if we ever pay another visit to Harrogate. The only minor criticism I would have is the refuse lorry at the rear of the hotel at about 6am on the Monday morning lol

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottm
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

I stayed here for a Saturday night with my mum. The hotel is lovely, an old building but very comfortable and modern inside. The staff are very friendly and gave excellent service. The twin room (30) was clean and comfortable with everything you need. The hairdryer was rubbish but when I rang reception they brought me a good one immediately. The location is perfect, just a couple of mins walk to the town centre, Betty's tearooms, turkish baths, Valley park/Harlow Carr gardens and Birk Crag woodland. If you like south east asian food you MUST go to the Orchid restaurant, the food is fabulous as is the service. It was full so had a good atmosphere. I would recommend the dessert tasting platter! You also need to book in advance as it's very popular.
The breakfast is also good. There was a bit of noise at night but this is to be expected in a town centre on a saturday night! Overall a fantastic place to spend a weekend and I'll definitely return.

Room Tip: Our bathroom had a very low ceiling so anyone over 6ft make struggle in the shower, perhaps ask if s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LM1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath
Level Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Could not have been better, room (suite) staff, location, and food both breakfast and evening in the Orchid 1st class Have already recommend it to family and friends. I note a couple of negative comments about noise, yes we could hear people leaving the restaurant but it was completely quite by midnight which for a central hotel is acceptable . If you want total peace stay in the countryside and sacrifice the convenience of being able to walk everywhere .

Room Tip: We chose the suite it was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jredfernBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tideswell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Beautiful hotel, attention to detail and cleanliness 5 star, Rooms are very tastefully decorated, and the hotel was so peaceful at night, no doors slamming or noisy guests. Staff and service was superb. Would recommend for a romantic weekend, not sure it is sutable family base though

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sallie014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Stay was business with a part social gathering, the hotel staff are very helpful, can't do enough for you we had a suite which was very nice nice and big worth paying a bit extra for. A great location the hotel is central for most things . There are some great restaurants around, we didn't get the chance to use the orchid. Restaurant in the hotel but hopefully next time we will.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winniethepoohLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This is the third time I have stayed at the hotel and it is still as wonderful as ever.The service is consistently courteous and attentive.The hotel has a feel of subtle design and this is reflected in the rooms.The in-house Orchard Restaurant serves excellent South Eat Asian influenced cuisine.The set menu was good value.The manager kept a high profile and would greet us at breakfast and in the evening.

I have stayed here in the past whilst on business but this time I brought three friends on a walking weekend break. Apart from being a beautiful town, Harrogate is an excellent base for a vast number of walks around the stunning Yorkshire countryside. A trip to Fountains Abbey and to RHS Harlow Carr are also highly recommended as they are both a short trip away. Harlow Carr can be accessed on foot through the wonderful Harrogate Valley Gardens.

We also managed to squeeze in a trip to Betty's Tea shop for some Ceylon tea and cake. Although very tasty extremely expensive. There are other very nice teashops, pubs and restaurants in the town.

An overall excellent weekend was had by all.

Room Tip: Some of the corner rooms are brighter as they have more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneT0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant

Property: Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Address: 28 Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the Valley Gardens in central Harrogate, the Studley Hotel has a refurbished lounge, cocktail bar and terrace. The friendly, 4-star hotel has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. The rooms all have contemporary decor and modern bathrooms and shower rooms. Rooms also feature a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Some rooms have PlayStations, MAC mini-computers and iPod docks. Guests can relax in the O Bar, which offers light snacks and classic cocktails. With 2 AA Rosettes, the Orchid Restaurant offers authentic East Asian cuisine and specialties from the Pacific Rim. Studley Hotel offers free parking permits and some on-site parking, and guests receive free passes for a local leisure centre (restrictions apply). International Conference & Exhibition Centre, Betty’s Tea Rooms and the Montpellier Quarter are just a few minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Hotel And Orchid Restaurant Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing