We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but breakfast misunderstood”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2012

Booked a special deal and the room was very comfortable. Excellent choice and very close to conference centre but my wife asked for porridge and scrambled egg with salmon for breakfast and they were both delivered at the same time!!!! Perhaps a misunderstanding.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Castleman073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (732)
There are newer reviews for Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

508 - 514 of 732 reviews

Reviewed 8 November 2012

Lovely old building with great location. The staff were excellent and service was excellent. Only down side they can't do anything about which is accessibility around the hotel itself is difficult. Lift doesn't access all floors and there is a lot of stairs.

Room Tip: Ask for easy accessibility if you find a lot of stairs unacceptable
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LinWil202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Lovely private hotel with a French maitre d' and marvellous standards. Modern decor, not overdone, and superb Thai restaurant in basement. You can benefit from the restaurant menu in room service. Mac mini PCs and broadband in the larger suites and wifi throughout. Very attentive and helpful staff, in fact the staff are the best feature.

Room Tip: Choose a basic room with a bay window on the top floor overlooking the front of the hotel. Best valu...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2012

Stayed here as part of a move to the area , was a bit disappointed TBH. Very very small room and bed, nicely decorated, good shower, tiny double bed, and up lots of flights of quite steep stairs. Service very good and food in the restaurant also excellent..was only a small amount cheaper than the deal I got in the Rudding Park the prior week, which was much much nicer if you can get a good deal! So, not awful, and the people were lovely, but not brilliant either.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poppy94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

We stayed for just a 1 night treat for our anniversary and boy was it a treat. From checking in to service in the gorgeous bar and the exceptional service in the restaurant was second to none. We had a superior room on the ground floor such a comfy bed and a very sleek and modern look to room and the shower room so chic, very clean and tidy through out which is down to the pride the staff seem to have working in such a lovely enviroment. Wheather your coming from near or far its worth staying to get the most out of the hotel, restaurant and the town centre if you can tear yourself away from the luxuery of the hotel. The orchid restaurant was not as expesive as some people have commented, but its exceptinal value for money as far as we was concerned and very very tasty eastern food a must try experience.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

This was our second visit to The Studley, and it was even better than last time. We were checked in in a very friendly manner, and our executive room was large, quiet and very comfortable. The bed was excellent, and the bathroom all one could wish for. There is a very comfortable lounge near the bar, and there is convenient parking at the back of the hotel. On top of this, the asian restaurant is first class - we had a great meal and we thought the prices very reasonable. On a Thursday the restaurant was full - several tables were occupied twice. If you stay at the Studley, you really ought to eat here.

Room Tip: The standard rooms are not large, but are perfectly adequate, while the executive rooms are large an...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ericmyra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

The hotel is located in a good central location. It was not cheap although we were able to negotiate a better price. Enormous bed! and oversized energy guzzling tv.
The facilities are good quality. We didn't try the very expensive restaurant but the very helpful and pleasant receptionist made a booking at a local restaurant which proved very good (it was Saturday and a lot of places are booked up).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HalfyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
621 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#8 of 30 in Harrogate
186 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,662 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,312 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant

Address: 28 Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £65 - £152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the Valley Gardens in central Harrogate, the Studley Hotel has a refurbished lounge, cocktail bar and terrace. The friendly, 4-star hotel has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. The rooms all have contemporary decor and modern bathrooms and shower rooms. Rooms also feature a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Some rooms have PlayStations, MAC mini-computers and iPod docks. Guests can relax in the O Bar, which offers light snacks and classic cocktails. With 2 AA Rosettes, the Orchid Restaurant offers authentic East Asian cuisine and specialties from the Pacific Rim. Studley Hotel offers free parking permits and some on-site parking, and guests receive free passes for a local leisure centre (restrictions apply). International Conference & Exhibition Centre, Betty’s Tea Rooms and the Montpellier Quarter are just a few minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Hotel And Orchid Restaurant Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing