We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Grand Cayman
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I visited the Studley on a special offer in mid January 2013. Cost 150 pounds for one night in their best room, but with a bag of spa goodies for the girlfriend thrown in, and a 50 pound voucher to spend in the bar or restaurant. The bathroom was well fitted out and very clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable.

The room was very nice, just enough character to remind you that you aren't in a chain, but with everything you'd expect to find in a good hotel. The location is great, the staff are helpful and friendly, they have on site parking for free, and the barman knows how to make a decent cocktail.

I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    231
    47
    18
    3
See reviews for
56
427
8
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

had one night stay given as a xmas present,so did not chose hotel myself but could not have been more happy. hotel ideally located,2 min walk to center,very clean, great service,free upgrade to executive room lovely treat.room very modern and large all together a perfect stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lambert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed a weekend at the Studley 2 couples both in Orchid superior rooms. The whole experience was excellent. The hotel itself spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly and obliging. The room was a pleasure spacious, comfortable and warm(it's January and snowing outside) ideally located a short walk from the theatre shopping and the park. We will definitely be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We have stayed here before so were happy to return in December. This hotel is in an excellent position, perfect for all the shops and the local gardens. parking is available at the rear of the hotel. The staff are friendly and welcoming. This time we had a standard double room which was nice. Some of the doubles are small so check before you book. The Orchid restaurant is exceptional. The food is outstanding and the staff very good, you will need to book in advance. The only down side was the breakfast. Very meagre, not worth going down for. Also met the only irritating member of staff who felt the need to take our entire order before we sat down. Some language issues also. However dont let this put you off, it is a very good hotel.

Room Tip: upgrade if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CambridgeOwl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I have stayed at the Studley for a number of years and would not consider any other Hotel in Harrogate. I have in the past stayed at one or two others but nothing compares to the standard of service that the Studley offers to its guests.From the minute you check in at reception you are made to feel special. The standard of rooms is excellent, the Orchid Restaurant is the best Tai Restaurant I have been to and the Managemant and staff could put some of the other larger hotels to shame.For the business traveller it even offers free Wi Fi which many of the larger Hotels charge for.
Would highly recommend the Studley for both business and pleasure.

Room Tip: Short 5 min walk to the Exhibition Centre and Theatre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2012

With so many hotels to choose from in Harrogate it was probably the restaurant that finally swung it for us to celebrate my wifes birthday. We love Thai food and what a result this restaurant is. A huge choice of tastes and flavours from around the orient superbly presented and absolutely delicious.
The hotel is located literally yards from the town centre, ideal if you venture out to sample the miriad of restaurants cafes and shops.
We stayed in a large superior room. It was nicely decorated as is the rest of the hotel and had a large large bathroon with walk in shower. it also had a seperate walk in wardrobe area and a very large flat screen TV.
The staff without exception were all friendly and helpful and made for an enjoyable ambience.
The only thing that stops me from rating this five * (from 4 1/2) and it is picky, is the carpark is very small. We were fortunate to arrive just as someone left. If not then it would have been a bit of a bun fight trying to find a parking spot in a very busy town.
One thing I will say is that we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davieMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012 via mobile

Booked a special deal and the room was very comfortable. Excellent choice and very close to conference centre but my wife asked for porridge and scrambled egg with salmon for breakfast and they were both delivered at the same time!!!! Perhaps a misunderstanding.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Castleman073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
596 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
137 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant

Property: Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Address: 28 Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the Valley Gardens in central Harrogate, the Studley Hotel has a refurbished lounge, cocktail bar and terrace. The friendly, 4-star hotel has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. The rooms all have contemporary decor and modern bathrooms and shower rooms. Rooms also feature a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Some rooms have PlayStations, MAC mini-computers and iPod docks. Guests can relax in the O Bar, which offers light snacks and classic cocktails. With 2 AA Rosettes, the Orchid Restaurant offers authentic East Asian cuisine and specialties from the Pacific Rim. Studley Hotel offers free parking permits and some on-site parking, and guests receive free passes for a local leisure centre (restrictions apply). International Conference & Exhibition Centre, Betty’s Tea Rooms and the Montpellier Quarter are just a few minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Hotel And Orchid Restaurant Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing