We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Great location for our stay, we had a standard room, very clean, and a lovely hotel,full english breakfast in the morning was a bit on the small size, but overal would recommend and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinzano39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    231
    47
    18
    3
See reviews for
56
427
8
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Booked the £101 deal which included a £100 bar tab in the restaurant which was a great deal but we paid for it in the room and the restaurant booking... We were told, despite booking over a month in advance, that we could only take a table before 7pm or after 9pm which was a shame.

I had previously stayed at the Studley and after booking a single room, was upgraded to a lovely double room, however the room this time was a real let down. I had raved about the Studley to my husband, yet we were put in a tiny room, with no room to walk around and not even a bath in the bathroom! Food was Ok, service was fantastic, was really disappointed when I ordered off menu and asked for the vege phad thai with chicken. Had about 3 small pieces of chiken in it, and I was charged an extra £5!!

During the nght, we were awoken around 2am by a party coming home to discovering one of the rooms they had booked had a flood. Called reception to complain about the rowdy group chatting in the corridor, to be told "oh I know, I am there with them" by the night porter! Surely he could have ushered the other people into their rooms and dealt with it quietly rather than keeping us awake for an hour?

Really disappointed with our stay, won't be visiting again for work or pleasure and wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above reception, they were much nicer than room 34 we were in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mrs_Solman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Stayed the weekend for my husbands 30th....all i can say is fab. Had an executive room and it was lovely. Would go back tomorrow. Staff were great and very helpful, its close to everything. We got the lesuire pass for st georges hotel from reception and enjoyed the use of the spa. Ate at the orchid...food was great. Ate at marabelle on the sat and that was also lovely.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tinker24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I have visited Harrogate on a number of occasions with work, but have always struggled to find a nice hotel. I stumbled across the Orchid restaurant on my last visit and was very impressed with the food. I noticed that my receipt for the meal said The Studley Hotel, so on my next visit I decided to take a chance and book the hotel, so that I did not have to walk across town to find the restaurant. The hotel is fantastic, located centrally near Montpellier it has a nice lounge and bar area. The restaurant is fantastic, friendly staff and a very good manager called Francois who was very attentive.. The room was clean, comfortable and had a lovelly view. Little touches to the room really made it feel special and without a doubt, I will not use another hotel in Harrogate. The Studley Hotel is brilliant, comfortable, classy with a great bar, restaurant and manager. Thank You

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank scottf867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Cayman
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I visited the Studley on a special offer in mid January 2013. Cost 150 pounds for one night in their best room, but with a bag of spa goodies for the girlfriend thrown in, and a 50 pound voucher to spend in the bar or restaurant. The bathroom was well fitted out and very clean, and the bed was extremely comfortable.

The room was very nice, just enough character to remind you that you aren't in a chain, but with everything you'd expect to find in a good hotel. The location is great, the staff are helpful and friendly, they have on site parking for free, and the barman knows how to make a decent cocktail.

I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013

had one night stay given as a xmas present,so did not chose hotel myself but could not have been more happy. hotel ideally located,2 min walk to center,very clean, great service,free upgrade to executive room lovely treat.room very modern and large all together a perfect stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lambert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We stayed a weekend at the Studley 2 couples both in Orchid superior rooms. The whole experience was excellent. The hotel itself spotlessly clean and the staff were very friendly and obliging. The room was a pleasure spacious, comfortable and warm(it's January and snowing outside) ideally located a short walk from the theatre shopping and the park. We will definitely be back to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gkbage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
593 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,568 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant

Property: Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Address: 28 Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the Valley Gardens in central Harrogate, the Studley Hotel has a refurbished lounge, cocktail bar and terrace. The friendly, 4-star hotel has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. The rooms all have contemporary decor and modern bathrooms and shower rooms. Rooms also feature a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Some rooms have PlayStations, MAC mini-computers and iPod docks. Guests can relax in the O Bar, which offers light snacks and classic cocktails. With 2 AA Rosettes, the Orchid Restaurant offers authentic East Asian cuisine and specialties from the Pacific Rim. Studley Hotel offers free parking permits and some on-site parking, and guests receive free passes for a local leisure centre (restrictions apply). International Conference & Exhibition Centre, Betty’s Tea Rooms and the Montpellier Quarter are just a few minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Hotel And Orchid Restaurant Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing