We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable hotel with an excellent restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights starting 17 March 2013. There was plenty of room in the car park, the rooms were modern and comfortable with free WiFi for multiple devices that worked well. The breakfasts were excellent. I had a business dinner at the Orchid restaurant and the food was excellent, as was the service. I had Thai fishcakes that were just right, very tasty sweet and sour prawns and egg fried rice and finished off with the tasting plate of desserts. The wine was also very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank md1re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (763)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

525 - 531 of 763 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2013

This was our first visit to The Studley Hotel, but other members of our party had previously stayed here so that was the reason for the return and I can see why.
We arrived before lunchtime so were able to park in their private car park with no bother at all. Only 1 room was ready, but the staff did kindly offer to look after our luggage until the other room was ready. Both of the rooms were lovely, ours was a large family size room (room 14), however the bath was slightly awkward with a small baby!
The location is perfect for exploring Harrogate on foot & the bar area was lovely both for pre-dinner drinks and after dinner drinks.
We will all most definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitty81cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed at the studley on one of the Sunday night offers, which included money off vouchers in the restaurant. We had an executive room, which was nice and clean. Breakfast was excellent, and overall we would stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 21mrsm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

First of all, I'll cover the negatives. Parking is a nightmare - there is a small, tight car par park behind the hotel, failing which street parking is outside (pay and display 8am until 6pm).

Apart from the fact that the rooms can be quite small the rest of the hotel attributes are positive. The location is right in the middle of the town so excellent for visiting restaurants and bars. Harrogate itself has a nice homely feel to it and the Studley epitomises this. The rooms are clean, and the bathrooms are fine. Service is very good and the hotel certainly delivers excellent value for money. Best of all is the Orchid restaurant, a Thai establishment of the highest order.

If you are visiting Harrogate, staying at the Studley certainly beats the larger hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Celtic_traveller165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

Great location for our stay, we had a standard room, very clean, and a lovely hotel,full english breakfast in the morning was a bit on the small size, but overal would recommend and we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cinzano39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Booked the £101 deal which included a £100 bar tab in the restaurant which was a great deal but we paid for it in the room and the restaurant booking... We were told, despite booking over a month in advance, that we could only take a table before 7pm or after 9pm which was a shame.

I had previously stayed at the Studley and after booking a single room, was upgraded to a lovely double room, however the room this time was a real let down. I had raved about the Studley to my husband, yet we were put in a tiny room, with no room to walk around and not even a bath in the bathroom! Food was Ok, service was fantastic, was really disappointed when I ordered off menu and asked for the vege phad thai with chicken. Had about 3 small pieces of chiken in it, and I was charged an extra £5!!

During the nght, we were awoken around 2am by a party coming home to discovering one of the rooms they had booked had a flood. Called reception to complain about the rowdy group chatting in the corridor, to be told "oh I know, I am there with them" by the night porter! Surely he could have ushered the other people into their rooms and dealt with it quietly rather than keeping us awake for an hour?

Really disappointed with our stay, won't be visiting again for work or pleasure and wouldn't recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room above reception, they were much nicer than room 34 we were in!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrs_Solman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Stayed the weekend for my husbands 30th....all i can say is fab. Had an executive room and it was lovely. Would go back tomorrow. Staff were great and very helpful, its close to everything. We got the lesuire pass for st georges hotel from reception and enjoyed the use of the spa. Ate at the orchid...food was great. Ate at marabelle on the sat and that was also lovely.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinker24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
659 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
355 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,794 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 28 in Harrogate
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant

Address: 28 Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £76 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the Valley Gardens in central Harrogate, the Studley Hotel has a refurbished lounge, cocktail bar and terrace. The friendly, 4-star hotel has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. The rooms all have contemporary decor and modern bathrooms and shower rooms. Rooms also feature a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Some rooms have PlayStations, MAC mini-computers and iPod docks. Guests can relax in the O Bar, which offers light snacks and classic cocktails. With 2 AA Rosettes, the Orchid Restaurant offers authentic East Asian cuisine and specialties from the Pacific Rim. Studley Hotel offers free parking permits and some on-site parking, and guests receive free passes for a local leisure centre (restrictions apply). International Conference & Exhibition Centre, Betty’s Tea Rooms and the Montpellier Quarter are just a few minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Hotel And Orchid Restaurant Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing