We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Bradford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2013

Staff were extremely professional and welcoming, nothing is too much trouble, very clean rooms with attention to detail. Ate at the Orchid Restaurant downstairs, this specialises in 'Pacific Rim' food. This was fully booked when I tried to book a table the day before arrival, however when I told 'Maria' that I was a guest she managed to find a table and called me back to confirm. The restaurant was exceptional, with elegant surroundings, attention to detail and amazing quality of food. We needed a 5:30am (non-cooked) breakfast as we had a balloon flight booked for the morning - this was ordered the previous evening, brought to the room for no extra charge and very punctually, and was delicious (thank you, Edward!). I found our double room a little claustrophobic as I like to open the window and couldn't, hence sleep could have been better. Free access (with a pass from reception) to pool/sauna/steam room/gym within another hotel 2 mins walk away, was an added bonus which we made use of on arrival. Came away feeling very well looked after, by a caring and professional team.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    222
    47
    18
    3
See reviews for
53
414
8
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
newcastle
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 1 night stay, we originally booked the white hart hotel but due to a very dirty and damaged room we received a refund so I drove to the studley and checked in, our room was gorgeous great size very clean and modern, the bathroom was big with a bath and shower, the bed was one of the best I have slept in when on my travels. We went for drinks before we went out in the bar, the bar is very modern and has a great atmosphere, if you are a breakfast person look no further as it was lovely really fresh and not your usual greasy fry up! Overall we had a grey stay here and we will be back. Thanks mr Thoburn

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed at The Studley Hotel in mid March for two nights and had room number 35 (The Trimbach suite) The hotel was easy to find on Swan Road, very close to the Pump Room Museum. There is a small car park at the back of the hotel which is pretty tight, they also have parking in Swan Road available which they have to issue a permit for, we were lucky enough to get one of the last spots in the car park.

Our room was the Trimbach suite which was excellent, with a nice proportioned separate sitting area, with TV, sofa, and desk. In the bedroom a king size bed with plenty of storage space with wardrobe and various drawers, a well appointed bathroom completed the accommodation, all were spotlessly clean. Free Wi-Fi is available, it was easy to connect up and worked well throughout our stay.

Breakfast was served downstairs in the restaurant and was relaxed in pleasant surroundings. The usual cereals, toast, juices etc were available along with a good selection of hot food from the kitchen including a full English breakfast called the Studley special, although there was an absence of black pudding which was a little disappointing. Sunday was set up as a buffet which was fine and everything was kept warm well topped up.

The staff were all very helpful and even managed to find us a place in the Orchid Restaurant for Saturday evening, which baring in mind how busy it gets, was no mean feat.

All in all we would have no reservations recommending the Studley Hotel based on our experience although we did notice that some of the rooms looked a little cramped but fortunately ours was very spacious and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavenSueSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
149 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2013

A relatively small hotel not far from Harrogate town centre. The hotel has clearly been refurbished recently, the rooms and public areas are stylish and modern.

The rooms are spacious and include every amenity you could wish for - tea/coffee facilities, safe, air con, large Samsung TV, a Mac Mini (though for some reason you have to request a keyboard and mouse if you want to use it), DAB alarm clock and a generic mobile phone charger which will support any recent phone. There's also free wifi throughout the hotel which was a decent speed. The bathroom was also modern with a decent shower and under-floor heating, which was nice!

The cooked breakfast was good quality but the portions are a little mean - only one sausage and one rasher of bacon, really?! But at least it was cooked to order and reasonably quick. Service was good too, as was the coffee.

Not the cheapest hotel in Harrogate but I think it will be my first choice in future.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dj1471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2013 via mobile

The hotel is situated very close to the town and is modern with a very lively atmosphere. We booked a double room which was very clean and comfortable although a little on the small side.
We decided to eat in the Orchid restaurant and they managed to find us a table at short notice even though it was a very busy Saturday night.The meal was most enjoyable and the staff very attentive.The buffet breakfast was well laid out with a good choice of food.
The car park is very small but you can obtain a permit from the reception to allow on-street parking .

Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rosie004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed at the hotel for two nights starting 17 March 2013. There was plenty of room in the car park, the rooms were modern and comfortable with free WiFi for multiple devices that worked well. The breakfasts were excellent. I had a business dinner at the Orchid restaurant and the food was excellent, as was the service. I had Thai fishcakes that were just right, very tasty sweet and sour prawns and egg fried rice and finished off with the tasting plate of desserts. The wine was also very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank md1re
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
82 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

This was our first visit to The Studley Hotel, but other members of our party had previously stayed here so that was the reason for the return and I can see why.
We arrived before lunchtime so were able to park in their private car park with no bother at all. Only 1 room was ready, but the staff did kindly offer to look after our luggage until the other room was ready. Both of the rooms were lovely, ours was a large family size room (room 14), however the bath was slightly awkward with a small baby!
The location is perfect for exploring Harrogate on foot & the bar area was lovely both for pre-dinner drinks and after dinner drinks.
We will all most definitely be back again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty81cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,454 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant

Property: Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Address: 28 Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the Valley Gardens in central Harrogate, the Studley Hotel has a refurbished lounge, cocktail bar and terrace. The friendly, 4-star hotel has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. The rooms all have contemporary decor and modern bathrooms and shower rooms. Rooms also feature a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Some rooms have PlayStations, MAC mini-computers and iPod docks. Guests can relax in the O Bar, which offers light snacks and classic cocktails. With 2 AA Rosettes, the Orchid Restaurant offers authentic East Asian cuisine and specialties from the Pacific Rim. Studley Hotel offers free parking permits and some on-site parking, and guests receive free passes for a local leisure centre (restrictions apply). International Conference & Exhibition Centre, Betty’s Tea Rooms and the Montpellier Quarter are just a few minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Priceline so you can book your Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Hotel And Orchid Restaurant Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing