We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable and excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable and excellent location”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We went to Harrogate as a late birthday visit and were pleasantly surprised , even more so with this brilliant hotel which was close to everything including its wonderful orchid restaurant . Staff couldn't be nicer, my husband turned up early and they went out of their way to keep him comfortable on the lounge and got the room ready earlier than required . The room was lovely, temperature was perfect and very very clean. Thank you for a most enjoyable stay

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anitahs_my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    234
    47
    18
    3
See reviews for
56
433
8
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annalong, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Just back home from our 7th visit to Harrogate, where - as always - we stayed at the Studley Hotel. Well, why change when you've found the perfect place to stay? It's not one of those ultra modern buildings, but rather a comfortable Victorian terrace conversion with a cosy "lived-in" atmosphere.
The rooms are superb, and each has free Wi-Fi and facilities for charging your mobile, I-Pad or tablet. The staff are absolutely first class, combining outstanding efficiency and professionalism with a genuine friendly, helpful approach to all their guests. Nothing is too much trouble for them as they do their best to ensure you have a wonderful holiday. As for location, the Studley couldn't be better placed as it nestles at the entrance of the beautiful Valley Gardens (a great place for that early morning walk before breakfast), and the many fantastic shops of Montpellier
Crescent and James Street are less than 5 minutes away. If you can manage to drag yourself away from the world-class restaurant that is The Orchid, there are plenty of interesting places to eat in the town, all of them within easy walking distance of the hotel.
There is one thing you really must do before leaving this jewel of an hotel - make a booking for your next visit! We always do, just to avoid disappointment.

Room Tip: Swan Road is usually very quiet at night, so you're unlikely to be disturbed at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davisofmourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013 via mobile

Went to Orchid restaurant with friends, all was fab, would recommend the set menus, we had Jasmine which was fantastic. Wine list very reasonable. Great place to go with friends. Will certainly be back very soon.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank KezraB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Excellent location near to all Harrogate's attractions. Stunning hotel with excellent facilities and friendly professional staff. The rooms are of a high standard with all the electronic gadgets and mod cons you could imagine! The Orchid restaurant is stunning with food of the highest quality. Excellent value for money we will defiantly return.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Philbol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

This hotel is excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It's set in a quiet street but only a few minutes' walk away from the centre of Harrogate. The rooms are spotlessly clean, and the bar and breakfast are both excellent (Lowenbrau on draught and good value for money prosecco, and breakfast cooked to order rather than an overheated buffet).
Our room had a feature four poster type bedframe which seemed to dominate the room. I've never really been a fan of these but others like them so it must be positive. Also the bathroom was a little small. Set against that, the towels and toiletries were tip top quality, and the team were superb hosts. Thoroughly enjoyed staying there and would definitely stay there again.
The car park is pretty tight so be careful when trying to get out!

Room Tip: Get a room looking out onto the road - there is surprisingly little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Swindoneric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We could not have been more pleased with a boutique hotel than we were with the Studley. The entire staff is composed of intelligent professionals who were truly concerned about our comfort and well-being during our stay. In fact, we liked the hotel so much that we went back again several days later after having moved on to two other towns in the meantime.

We are from the US and have traveled the UK extensively, but had never been to Harrogate, which is worth checking out. Where York is frantic and crowded, Harrogate is soothing and stunning, especially the fantastic city garden, which is only steps from the Studley's front door. The historic Victorian sulfur bath buildings are also within eye-shot of the Studley, so the location is second to none.

I highly recommend the Studley.

Room Tip: Our executive room on the back was super-quiet, but faced the parking lot. Our deluxe room on the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tradefreak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We have stayed here three times now and every time have managed to eat at the Orchard on one of the nights - beautiful Thai food. We don't normally eat in a hotel restaurant but this is definitely worth a visit. The rooms are lovely and the service friendly and a great location. If there was one criticism it would be the self service breakfast on a Sunday - not sure why as other days it is table service. Looking forward to another visit soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jo48Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
602 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
151 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant

Property: Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Address: 28 Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the Valley Gardens in central Harrogate, the Studley Hotel has a refurbished lounge, cocktail bar and terrace. The friendly, 4-star hotel has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. The rooms all have contemporary decor and modern bathrooms and shower rooms. Rooms also feature a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Some rooms have PlayStations, MAC mini-computers and iPod docks. Guests can relax in the O Bar, which offers light snacks and classic cocktails. With 2 AA Rosettes, the Orchid Restaurant offers authentic East Asian cuisine and specialties from the Pacific Rim. Studley Hotel offers free parking permits and some on-site parking, and guests receive free passes for a local leisure centre (restrictions apply). International Conference & Exhibition Centre, Betty’s Tea Rooms and the Montpellier Quarter are just a few minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Hotel And Orchid Restaurant Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing