We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended hideaway” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Louth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Highly recommended hideaway”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just spent three nights here. Chose it mainly for its position close to the Royal Hall theatre but it ticked most other boxes too.

I'll get the minor downsides out of the way first - our room ('superior' 20) got a little noise from kitchen staff loading and unloading. So, if you go for a 'Superior', ask for 24, 23 or 22. Also, the car park is extremely small and, despite it being a quiet time of the year, on the Friday night (our last) it was full. Next, the under-floor heating in the bathroom appeared not to be working at all; and the bedroom heating had clearly been found wanting as a free-standing electric radiator had been placed in the room (it was certainly needed during our stay. We also had some rather quirky reading lights which had minds of their own at times, but not a major issue.

The staff were without exception polite, friendly and helpful. The décor was tasteful, clean and well maintained - with a nice oriental accent acknowledging the in-house restaurant, The Orchid which we understand is excellent (though sadly we didn't have time to try it). We found the mattress in our room too firm for our backs but, on mentioning this, a memory-foam topper was immediately found and fitted. There are quite a lot of steps within this fine old building but the lift largely eliminates this problem. Breakfasts were very good with generous portions of good quality produce. The menu includes a variety of egg dishes stating "Two eggs any way" but beware! I ordered scrambled egg with smoked salmon and I'm sure I must have had five or six eggs-worth on my plate - don't fill up on fruit or cereal first!

All in all, I would definitely stay again but would probably wait until warmer weather.

Room Tip: Go for Superior rooms but not 20 or 21 (a bit noisy).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    401
    221
    45
    18
    3
See reviews for
52
406
8
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

This is the type of hotel you must try! It is comfortable, clean and modern - a refreshing change from the usual choice of hotels in the area.
This was our second visit and hopefully not our last. We stayed in a top floor room with Harrogate views and it is well worth the money. We had an overnight stay on the special sale offer. The decor is chic with little extras such as throws and music through the tv.
The cocktails down in the bar are perfect and moreish, the staff always friendly and polite, professional, a credit to management.
The room was large and comfortable, the bed as good as my own and the shower washes away any trace of a hangover in the morning. Food in the Orchid was fabulous and breakfast was delicious, all freshly made to order. We did not want to leave and hope to return soon. If you're looking for somewhere special this is it.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Foulridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2014

Stayed here for one night(Sunday special, an Xmas gift for our children) stayed in room 25 and very nice it was too? Nice bottle of "champas" chilling in room, arrived 5 mins earlier than the stated 2pm so wasn't allowed to room so had a look around shopping centre to kill time. As said before room was very nicely turned out although the tv quality wasn't brilliant(picture not good and to small a screen for size of room(not as we were bothered one of the beside lights wasn't working and there was a quite a severe draught from one of the windows(had to close the curtains to reduce it) bathroom was quite nicely fitted out although fancy magnified porthole section in mirror wasn't much use unless you were a "six footer" and the built in radio could only manage 1 local station. The Orchid is a delightful place to eat all the staff were very friendly and only to happy to meet you requirements, now comes the downside to a most pleasant stay, it has to said it must rank as the worst overnight stay at any hotel we have been to in 46 years!! Constant whoosh and the single bang every 5 mins or so kept us both awake all throughout the night, don't know what it was, made a complaint when checking out and was informed that night attendance was on site and that we should have come down and informed, yes in hindsight I think we should but in the early hours you think it will cease? Gave my tel no. And email but didn't receive a reply(as yet) would dearly love to have known what it was just peace off mind? Would we stay again?? Not really sure perhaps we just got unlucky!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LancashireDingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

We decided to have an overnight in Harrogate on New Year's Eve, staying at the Studley. We love the Orchid but ate elsewhere this time. Our room was lovely, a very comfortable four poster, good view and all the necessary ingredients for an excellent stay. We thoroughly enjoyed an excellent breakfast the next day.

Room Tip: Overlooking Swan Road is good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HandT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
137 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

I only stayed one night with two colleagues and had a very enjoyable stay. The room was very comfortable and clean. I slept very well :-) The bar is very good and a bit eclectic, very well stocked. I certainly will stay there again when in Harrogate. A very big thank you to all the staff there, they were all, without exception very friendly and helpful, a credit to the establishment!!! Lastly but not least the breakfasts are great plentiful in both size and choice!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WookiePlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staffordshire, England
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

my friend and I stay here for a long weekend each November for an exhibition and they never disappoint. the rooms are very comfortable and well furnished. they are always spotlessly clean. prices in the bar are what you would expect in a hotel but everything is of really good quality. we ate in the Orchid restaurant on both evenings and as always the food was brilliant. you have to try the oriental prawns

Room Tip: it is worth paying the little extra for an executive room if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tc241103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We didn't stay at the Studley but dined at the Orchid. We have eaten here many times. Service is always excellent and food is outstanding. The menu allows you to explore many styles of food from different countries. Absolutely fabulous. Our favourite main is red Thai curry which is to die for.
wine prices are reasonable too.
overall the best restaurant in Harrogate in our opinion.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,400 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant

Property: Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Address: 28 Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the Valley Gardens in central Harrogate, the Studley Hotel has a refurbished lounge, cocktail bar and terrace. The friendly, 4-star hotel has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. The rooms all have contemporary decor and modern bathrooms and shower rooms. Rooms also feature a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Some rooms have PlayStations, MAC mini-computers and iPod docks. Guests can relax in the O Bar, which offers light snacks and classic cocktails. With 2 AA Rosettes, the Orchid Restaurant offers authentic East Asian cuisine and specialties from the Pacific Rim. Studley Hotel offers free parking permits and some on-site parking, and guests receive free passes for a local leisure centre (restrictions apply). International Conference & Exhibition Centre, Betty’s Tea Rooms and the Montpellier Quarter are just a few minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Hotel And Orchid Restaurant Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing