We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Suusex
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

The Studley is one of the best hotels around and with an amazing restaurant on downstairs. The rooms are comfortable, tastefully decorated and functional. The location is very central in Harrogate and all the shops are in easy walking distance. If you play golf Oakdale is situation just five minutes away and is a great golf course. The one must you should do is book a table in the Orchid Restaurant, it is superb. The bar is open and bright where you can have cocktails and when it is warm there is a great outside area for you to enjoy. The staff are fantastic and so is the owner Mr Chan. Well doe to the Studley for bringing something different to a stay in a hotel.

Room Tip: You need to stay to see how good this hotel is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imdsussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    418
    230
    47
    18
    3
See reviews for
56
426
8
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bedale, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We have stayed in the hotel and eaten here numerous times the staff always very attentive. Even when we have booked and turned up early or late they always fit us in. Front of House manager an asset fantastic food always great thank you we will be back

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexandra w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

we had an upgraded room, so it had all kinds of apple devices, big tv, monsoon shower etc. wa slovely, very clean, lots of towels and robes provided. the breakfast buffet was very nice, freshly cooked full english and lots of meats, sweets, musli etc. The car park is a little small, we actually took the last space, we only have a mini so it was fine, but anything bigger would have had problems getting into that space. not sure if they have an overflow car park, might be worth checking. very close to town, and definately worth staying in.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Steffi3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We paid what I consider a lot for B&B here. Rooms were sparsely furnished, lacking adornment or a wow facor, and walls almost paper thin. Some health and safety issues with kettle balanced on a tray that wasprecariously balanced on a small shelf above the TV. Reception service was excellent though and there was use of a pool/gym at a hotel around the corner. Breakfast was OK, but you'd expect a toaster that took less than 5 minutes to toast for this money and a toaster that toasted both sides. Somewhat taken aback when we were given back our fork and knives we'd used for eating fruit to be used again for eggs etc

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tempsperdu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Studley last Sunday room 36. I can't praise the staff enough from the welcome at reception to the team at breakfast, they are all very attentive without being intrusive. We dined at the Orchid (3rd time) again the food and atmosphere were perfect. Would highly recommend the both the Studley hotel and the Orchid restaurant if you are planning a trip to Harrogate.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cumbria2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

Spent a bank holiday weekend at Studley Hotel. Booked 2 rooms one for myself and wife and a twin for mother and mother-in-law. Rooms were comfortable and the staff very friendly. Only slight downside was that the twin room was close to the bar which on the first night was quite noisy. Try to avoid rooms in close proximity to the bar!. We ate in the Orchid restaurant on first night which was excellent and I would certainly recommend it. Breakfast was freshly cooked and of a good standard. Overall the hotel was good value and well placed in the centre of Harrogate which has a many hotels to choose from, the advantage of this one is that it is small and so you do get a bit more of a personal service.

Room Tip: Make sure your room is away from the bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jakubowm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keighley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We used this for a stop-over whilst attending an event, so slept, but didn't eat dinner - not that we routinely would 'in-house' anyway. That said, we certainly smelled the restaurant when we arrived; on the ground floor, the aromatic eastern aromas float giddily up to the first floor bar. Our taxi driver, unprompted, assured us it was one of the best eateries in Harrogate.

The bedroom (on the first floor, street-side) was okay. Very high ceilings, combined with a fairly narrow window with a blind, and a northern aspect, somehow made it feel smaller and more gloomy than it was. Bed was fine - king size, though I don't see the point in the modern four-post frame. The bathroom slightly small perhaps - cosy for one, but no chance of two being in there at the same time. Wi-fi was free, though we didn't use it.

Breakfast was okay. Tinned grapefruit / prunes; croissants / pain-au-chocolat (not completely fresh); cereals. Toast and array of jams etc. The cooked breakfast I ate used a good quality sausage and bacon, and there was a good range of other cooked options.

No problem with parking behind the hotel - we arrived early Friday evening so I expected problems, but there's about ten spaces, and at least there were free.

As others say, it's a pretty good overall location. 5 minutes' walk to the centre, and very close to the Valley Gardens.

We paid £125 for the room B&B. It's okay for the price, nothing badly wrong, but it didn't blow our socks off either. Being charged for the paper always grates; somehow, charging me £2 more in the bill, and providing it as an apparent freebie, goes down better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Uponamoor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
592 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,565 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant

Property: Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Address: 28 Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the Valley Gardens in central Harrogate, the Studley Hotel has a refurbished lounge, cocktail bar and terrace. The friendly, 4-star hotel has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. The rooms all have contemporary decor and modern bathrooms and shower rooms. Rooms also feature a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Some rooms have PlayStations, MAC mini-computers and iPod docks. Guests can relax in the O Bar, which offers light snacks and classic cocktails. With 2 AA Rosettes, the Orchid Restaurant offers authentic East Asian cuisine and specialties from the Pacific Rim. Studley Hotel offers free parking permits and some on-site parking, and guests receive free passes for a local leisure centre (restrictions apply). International Conference & Exhibition Centre, Betty’s Tea Rooms and the Montpellier Quarter are just a few minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Hotel And Orchid Restaurant Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing