We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Just from studley hotel our first time in harragate loved the hotel for its excellent location ,pleasant and helpful staff as soon as you step through the door they even put a card in the room wishing us a happy anniversary nice touch. We will definitely be making a return visit in the near future

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnr2470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

391 - 397 of 742 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

Really pleased we booked this hotel for our wedding anniversary treat. It was brilliant great value for money with the Sunday night deal.
The room was gorgeous & a little anniversary card left on the bed for us was a beautiful personal touch.
The hotel staff were really friendly was very polite.
We ate in the orchid restaurant & beautiful. Top quality food, beautiful surroundings. We will definitely be using this hotel again ☺

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank emma w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed here for 1 night in July and booked the "Sunday Special Offer". Even though our room was right next to the car park, we heard no sound whatsoever. The room was very clean and the bathroom and facilities were modern. As part of the Sunday Special Offer, we received a £50 voucher, which could be used in the restaurant or bar. At the time of booking the room, we also booked a table at the Orchid Restaurant (a very good meal - I have written a separate review for this). All the staff were welcoming and very friendly and the hotel overall was very well presented. On the whole, I would definitely stop here again and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kathrynnaomi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights. Walked in and was greeted by helpful happy staff fantastic customer service. My room was spotless even a fan in the room if too hot. The bathroom was just fantastic once again spotless, loved it when I walked in the lights turn on by sensor. Tea and coffee hot chocolate and lovely biscuits in the room free wifi we ate in the popular Orchid restaurant which has a big reputation in Harrogate and I agree with the reviews just stunning. This place is top of my list when I come back for a visit.

Room Tip: Can be a little noisy from the restaurant on a Saturday night that's with the window open hence...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank caron c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc1, General Manager at Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear CaronC,

Thank you choosing to stay with us here at Studley Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community.

We’re so glad that you really enjoyed your stay here, we will be sure to pass on your complements to all our staff members.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I am lucky to use this hotel qute a lot on business as the HQ is based nearby. But its worth mentioning it is a great hotel, staff are always attentive, breakfasts brilliant and rooms spotless and the hotel Orchid Rooms are quite special!

Room Tip: Try rooms 20 - 29, they are very good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TomtheCat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc1, General Manager at Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Dear Griffster1965,

Thanks for your positive review, we appreciate the comments and will certainly share them with the staff members. They strive very hard to work to achieve the standards expected of them.

All the best and we look forward to welcome you back!

Regards,
SC

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here the weekend of the Tour if France and paid way above the normal rate to do so. On the plus side the staff were friendly, and the room clean. However the room was tiny and hot - barely enough room for a double bed, the walls paper thin so could hear all movement outside our room and the bed uncomfortable - every time my normal weight husband moved I bounced up in the bed - resulting in restless night. Breakfast was average

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank boaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

So many different thoughts about the hotel make it difficult to review. Really small rooms, even smaller bathrooms but the setting and restaurant are ideal. Dinner in the Orchid Restaurant was so good but the same chef served a breakfast to be avoided! A pre-prepared buffet with crunchy melon and a heated breakfast that sat there for half an hour. You know the type! No attempt to market great Yorkshire food, even down to the mass produced eggs and bacon.
How the experience can change from evening to morning with the same staff is beyond me! I wouldn't rush back to the hotel but I would to the restaurant of an evening. No air conditioning but room fans that don't do the job. A small car park behind the hotel which is useful.

Room Tip: Unfortunately they are all small so the upgrade we made to an executive room made no difference at a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidandGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#3 of 30 in Harrogate
630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
219 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,326 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant

Address: 28 Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £65 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the Valley Gardens in central Harrogate, the Studley Hotel has a refurbished lounge, cocktail bar and terrace. The friendly, 4-star hotel has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. The rooms all have contemporary decor and modern bathrooms and shower rooms. Rooms also feature a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Some rooms have PlayStations, MAC mini-computers and iPod docks. Guests can relax in the O Bar, which offers light snacks and classic cocktails. With 2 AA Rosettes, the Orchid Restaurant offers authentic East Asian cuisine and specialties from the Pacific Rim. Studley Hotel offers free parking permits and some on-site parking, and guests receive free passes for a local leisure centre (restrictions apply). International Conference & Exhibition Centre, Betty’s Tea Rooms and the Montpellier Quarter are just a few minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Hotel And Orchid Restaurant Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing