We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
1 review
“Surprisingly good”
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Having little knowledge of Harrogate, we were delighted with our one night stay in the hotel. Our first floor room was clean, comfortable and well-decorated. The bathroom had been recently refurbished and was sparkling clean. The staff were very friendly and always willing to help and the location of the hotel was ideal, only a 5 minute walk from the Turkish Baths.

We also ate in the Orchid restaurant which was excellent. The food was exceptional and the staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank innestj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    234
    48
    18
    3
See reviews for
57
433
8
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We spent a two night mini break in the Orchid Superior Room at the Studley Hotel in Harrogate. We couldn't fault the general service and location of the hotel, but were very disappointed that for a 'superior' room it was on the ground floor and overlooked the car park... We could hear people chatting and dustbins being emptied and outside our room at night/early morning which we felt didn't really make for a 'superior' stay. We couldn't fault the room itself as such, the bathroom had clearly had some money spent on it and the monsoon shower was excellent, huge flat screen tv too. However, when we booked, we were choosing between The Studley and Hotel du Vin... and on reflection, for the money we spent and the outlook we could have had, I regret not chooser the latter. On the plus side, the Orchid Restaurant was fantastic, incredibly popular even mid week, perhaps a little on the noisy side if you are wanting a quiet night out, but the food and service was impeccable and we wouldn't hesitate in returning there or recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mejo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStudleyHotel, General Manager at Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 July 2010
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and restaurant.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room facilities, staff service and Orchid Restaurant food. However, we are disappointed to hear that people's chatter ane noise from the use of the bins in the morning and late evening had spoiled your stay. We have investigated into the matter and have since addressed this with our staff members. The view however is something that we can not change unfortunately.

Service and the standard of our food and rooms are always at the forefront of our minds so thank you for the feedback. Meanwhile we look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anglesey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed at this hotel for a one night break before going to York for 2 nights but wish we had stayed for 2 in Harrogate and one in York.This hotel is absolutely superb and we could not fault anything at all. The meal we had at the hotel restaurant The Orchid was something not to be missed. Everything about it was perfect. Service wast 1st class., staff polite and well presented,food absolutely fantastic and price very very reasonable.if ever anyone is in the area whether you are staying at the Studley or not do not miss an opportunity to visit The Orchid. The breakfast was also 1st class with plenty of choice. All in all this hotel was overall one of the best we have stayed in for the price payed and we would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerlinAnglesey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheWoods
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Currently staying at the Studley with my wife and 5 month old, and have to say that we have stayed in many hotels arround the world and this, is without doubt, one of the best.
we are in the trimbach suite which is FANTASTIC for several nights away with a young child. The hotel is well laid out, tastefully decorated and the ideal location for exploring Harrogate and surrounding area.
The one and only downside is the parking(careful drivers only) but this is a small price to pay for the excellent service that you recieve from your first minute in the hotel.
Congratulations, keep up the good work

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bad-Old-Bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North east England
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We stayed in an executive room for my wife's birthday, it was a lovely room(14) on the ground floor. I had arranged for flowers to be in the room, and they were with a lovely note, the flowers were of a high qualitiy. The staff were extremely helpful especially Rafael on reception, (ice bucket and ice and champagne flutes) arrived within minutes of there request.
The food in the restaurant was outstanding as was the service, well worth the money. Breakfast was a very relaxed occasion with plenty of choice and of a good qualitiy.
Overall an excellent experience and would certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Etherlycc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2010

Stayed here for one night as a stopover in Harrogate. The Hotel is superb and the staff could not be more helpful. Location is fantastic.

We ate at the Orchid and the food was to die for. Will definately stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBluetac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BlackwoodGwent
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

We always stay at Studleys every April for 5 nights. We are always made welcome and have at least 2 meals at the Thai Orchid. The food is fantastic and there is so much taste it is really that good! The rooms are continually being renovated and this year a new bar has been introduced which is extremely modern and very smart. Mr Chan, the owner always makes a point in speaking to us and always interested in our comments on the continued improvements. Noting is too much trouble for the staff including housekeeping and maintenance. We thoroughly enjoyed the cooked breakfast each morning with everything cooked freshly for you. On the Sunday you have a buffet style breakfast which is equally as good. The hotel is right in the middle of Harrogate - not too noisy and is great for sight seeing. Look forward to returning again next year. We love it and wouldn't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shaunthesheep1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
604 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
155 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant

Property: Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Address: 28 Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the Valley Gardens in central Harrogate, the Studley Hotel has a refurbished lounge, cocktail bar and terrace. The friendly, 4-star hotel has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. The rooms all have contemporary decor and modern bathrooms and shower rooms. Rooms also feature a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Some rooms have PlayStations, MAC mini-computers and iPod docks. Guests can relax in the O Bar, which offers light snacks and classic cocktails. With 2 AA Rosettes, the Orchid Restaurant offers authentic East Asian cuisine and specialties from the Pacific Rim. Studley Hotel offers free parking permits and some on-site parking, and guests receive free passes for a local leisure centre (restrictions apply). International Conference & Exhibition Centre, Betty’s Tea Rooms and the Montpellier Quarter are just a few minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Hotel And Orchid Restaurant Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing