We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nobody does it better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Annalong, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nobody does it better”
Reviewed 8 August 2010

An ivitation to a wedding( which involved a group booking for guests) was our first visit to Harrogate, and our first experience of the Studley Hotel. This was definitely a case of "love at first sight", and we have since become addicted to this beautiful Yorkshire town and to the priceless jewel that is the Studley. The hotel is located close to the centre of town, but nestles in a little niche of peace and tranquillity close to a magnificent public park. From the outside it looks like a typical victorian terrace, however the interior has been impeccably refurbished and exudes an atmosphere of relaxed charm. The reception and lounge/bar have a distinct oriental flavour to their decor. The armchairs are so comfortable and inviting that you could just chill out in them for hours... that is assuming you were completely immune to the lure of the Orchid Restaurant. What can one say? Imagine the best Chinese restaurant you have ever been to, and then think again. This place is so good that you will need to book well in advance to get a table. The extensive menu covers a wide range of oriental dishes, and the wine list is superb.
The service is discreet and highly professional. We have been back to the Studley once already, and have booked our third visit for September this year. We can't wait to renew our link with this truly magnificent town and its crown jewel - the Studley.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davisofmourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    229
    47
    18
    3
See reviews for
53
425
8
96
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 August 2010

My partner and i stayed at the studley for two nights through our friends recomendation and it certainly did not disappoint. Although the rooms are not "fantastic", they offer a good nights sleep and included possibly the largest tv i have ever seen in a hotel bedroom- probably to big for the room- and i feel this money could of been better spent on the general upkeep of the room which had started to look a little tired around the edges. This however was surpassed by the excusite food (the best pacific rim food ive eaten outside asia) and the faultless service provided by chris who was very efficient and obviously took his job very seriously whilst remaining relaxed and making sure the whole restaurant ran smoothly. He even remebered our names the following evening when we dined and which wine i had drunk. When we checked out the friendly receptionist wished us well on our way and asked us if we had enjoyed our stay to which we both promptly answered yes! To top it all and the reason i felt i had to review this hotel and mention the staff, chris still smiling and working hard offered to carry our bags to the car and reccomend somewhere we should have lunch. Studley hotel we will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank y0rktraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2010

I have been a lover of the Orchid restaurant for the past three years having been lucky enough to have discovered it based on a family recommendation.

I live approximately 15 miles away in Leeds and regularly travel to the restaurant simply for a takeaway as there simply is nothing else quite like it locally.

Perfect for a light sunday lunch sandwich, evening meal or breakfast.... quite literally one of the best restaurants/dining experiences in the UK in my opinion.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben-Leeds-UnitedK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, England
Level Contributor
107 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My friend and i stayed one Friday night at the Studley to break the journey up on the way to see friends. First impressions were very favourable. We managed to get a space in the small car park at the rear and went up the back stairs to the reception.
Very plush and homely with friendly staff on the reception. Although it was only noon we only had to wait ten minutes for the key to room 306. I had requested a high floor and this is exactly what we got. We were in the roof with fab views over the park of Harrogate. As this room is on the end you also get fab views of the Majestic hotel from the bathroom window. Huge comfy bed, huge plasma screen , tea and coffee makings and lashing of hot water from a fab shower. What more could a girl want other than perhaps a small fridge to keep our wine in,.
Everything was immaculately clean with very pleasant decor. Room was warm enough with easy to open windows and lovely dark wood blinds to keep the morning sun out. We didn't eat at the hotel as we alway eat at the Grille at the Balmoral hotel when in Harrogate , however the smell from the Orchid restaurant and the amount of clients visiting it means it may have to be tried in the future. If the full breakfast the next morning that we had is anything to go by the food will be delicious. We had a full English and everything was piping hot with fresh sliced potato and none of the made up hash brown rubbish. Check out was simple and quick as was check in. Great location for easy walking access to shops, park and Bettys of course for those foolish enough to waste their well earned cash.
Well done Studley, clean ,welcoming and good value. Thanks very much ,we will return.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gatesheadgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStudleyHotel, General Manager at Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 July 2010
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for such a glowing and detailed response, it was such a pleasure to share such a fabulous review with our team, who of course work hard extremely hard to maintain the standards expected of them.

Your note regarding a mini bar or wine fridge is something we are considering and hope to implement that in our premium rooms in the near future.

Please do give us a call when you next visit Harrogate and will do our best to ensure we provide the same room (38) for you both. We also have special offers and rates on our website which include a voucher and wine for dinner in the Orchid, so you may take advantage of the deals and try our food for the first time. Hopefully we will have a fridge in your room then.

All the best
Bokmun Chan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
119 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2010

I have stayed at the Studley regularly over the years and seen the constant improvements turn this into an excellent hotel. The Spa rooms are the best - large, contemporary, with walk in wardrobe, big TV and a big rainbath type shower.
The new bar is very nice, well stocked with a good variety of beers and a good lounge area attached. There's plenty of outside seating, all under large umbrellas.

The breakfast is great, the Orchid Thai restaurant food is always a winner and without exception the staff are lovely.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chalky31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 12 July 2010

Having little knowledge of Harrogate, we were delighted with our one night stay in the hotel. Our first floor room was clean, comfortable and well-decorated. The bathroom had been recently refurbished and was sparkling clean. The staff were very friendly and always willing to help and the location of the hotel was ideal, only a 5 minute walk from the Turkish Baths.

We also ate in the Orchid restaurant which was excellent. The food was exceptional and the staff were very attentive.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank innestj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
154 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We spent a two night mini break in the Orchid Superior Room at the Studley Hotel in Harrogate. We couldn't fault the general service and location of the hotel, but were very disappointed that for a 'superior' room it was on the ground floor and overlooked the car park... We could hear people chatting and dustbins being emptied and outside our room at night/early morning which we felt didn't really make for a 'superior' stay. We couldn't fault the room itself as such, the bathroom had clearly had some money spent on it and the monsoon shower was excellent, huge flat screen tv too. However, when we booked, we were choosing between The Studley and Hotel du Vin... and on reflection, for the money we spent and the outlook we could have had, I regret not chooser the latter. On the plus side, the Orchid Restaurant was fantastic, incredibly popular even mid week, perhaps a little on the noisy side if you are wanting a quiet night out, but the food and service was impeccable and we wouldn't hesitate in returning there or recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mejo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStudleyHotel, General Manager at Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant, responded to this review, 21 July 2010
Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel and restaurant.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the room facilities, staff service and Orchid Restaurant food. However, we are disappointed to hear that people's chatter ane noise from the use of the bins in the morning and late evening had spoiled your stay. We have investigated into the matter and have since addressed this with our staff members. The view however is something that we can not change unfortunately.

Service and the standard of our food and rooms are always at the forefront of our minds so thank you for the feedback. Meanwhile we look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
586 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,529 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant

Property: Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Address: 28 Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the Valley Gardens in central Harrogate, the Studley Hotel has a refurbished lounge, cocktail bar and terrace. The friendly, 4-star hotel has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. The rooms all have contemporary decor and modern bathrooms and shower rooms. Rooms also feature a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Some rooms have PlayStations, MAC mini-computers and iPod docks. Guests can relax in the O Bar, which offers light snacks and classic cocktails. With 2 AA Rosettes, the Orchid Restaurant offers authentic East Asian cuisine and specialties from the Pacific Rim. Studley Hotel offers free parking permits and some on-site parking, and guests receive free passes for a local leisure centre (restrictions apply). International Conference & Exhibition Centre, Betty’s Tea Rooms and the Montpellier Quarter are just a few minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Hotel And Orchid Restaurant Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing