We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Crowne Plaza Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$152
US$119
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The West Park Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cedar Court Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$155
US$113
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel du Vin and Bistro(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$173
US$151
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimberley Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$149
US$127
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Cairn Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$193
US$86
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Old Swan Hotel(Harrogate)
US$161
US$124
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveller rating
453
247
50
19
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
453
247
50
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrimbach suiteexecutive roomlovely hotelwalk in wardrobecar parkpump roomvalley gardenstop floorsunday nighttown centrecentral locationbooked a tableboutique hotelsmall hotelstayed for one nightbuffet stylebirthday treat
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
700 - 705 of 773 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2010

Agree with lots of other reviews . Hotel not much to look at from the outside,but beautifully presented inside. Our room, a superior Orchid, was chic and well-designed (apart from the daft shaped basin in the bathroom which didn't like to let go of the water and the noisy plumbing when the toilet was flushed). However, our room was on the ground floor overlooking the car park (rooms 20-24)and was quite noisy from cars outside and noise carrying inside! Still felt the room was a little expensive because of these factors,even on a 'special rate'. The meal in the restaurant was exquisite and I can understand why it is so popular, even on a Monday night, however it was a little cramped for a romantic dinner for two. Staff were attentive and friendly throughout our stay. Breakfast was disappointing, lacking in finesse, no comparison the the mealin the restaurant the night before. I ordered the cooked breakfast minus the fried bread and sauteed potato. In their place I received what looked like a full tin of baked beans - odd! I rasher of bacon and a paultry chipolata,with standard sliced bread, Brown or white that you had to toast yourself. I'm glad the £9.95 cost of the breakfast was included in the room rate. Would definitely return tothe Orchid restaurant for a meal.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DizeeHexham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2010

An ivitation to a wedding( which involved a group booking for guests) was our first visit to Harrogate, and our first experience of the Studley Hotel. This was definitely a case of "love at first sight", and we have since become addicted to this beautiful Yorkshire town and to the priceless jewel that is the Studley. The hotel is located close to the centre of town, but nestles in a little niche of peace and tranquillity close to a magnificent public park. From the outside it looks like a typical victorian terrace, however the interior has been impeccably refurbished and exudes an atmosphere of relaxed charm. The reception and lounge/bar have a distinct oriental flavour to their decor. The armchairs are so comfortable and inviting that you could just chill out in them for hours... that is assuming you were completely immune to the lure of the Orchid Restaurant. What can one say? Imagine the best Chinese restaurant you have ever been to, and then think again. This place is so good that you will need to book well in advance to get a table. The extensive menu covers a wide range of oriental dishes, and the wine list is superb.
The service is discreet and highly professional. We have been back to the Studley once already, and have booked our third visit for September this year. We can't wait to renew our link with this truly magnificent town and its crown jewel - the Studley.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davisofmourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2010

My partner and i stayed at the studley for two nights through our friends recomendation and it certainly did not disappoint. Although the rooms are not "fantastic", they offer a good nights sleep and included possibly the largest tv i have ever seen in a hotel bedroom- probably to big for the room- and i feel this money could of been better spent on the general upkeep of the room which had started to look a little tired around the edges. This however was surpassed by the excusite food (the best pacific rim food ive eaten outside asia) and the faultless service provided by chris who was very efficient and obviously took his job very seriously whilst remaining relaxed and making sure the whole restaurant ran smoothly. He even remebered our names the following evening when we dined and which wine i had drunk. When we checked out the friendly receptionist wished us well on our way and asked us if we had enjoyed our stay to which we both promptly answered yes! To top it all and the reason i felt i had to review this hotel and mention the staff, chris still smiling and working hard offered to carry our bags to the car and reccomend somewhere we should have lunch. Studley hotel we will be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank y0rktraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2010

I have been a lover of the Orchid restaurant for the past three years having been lucky enough to have discovered it based on a family recommendation.

I live approximately 15 miles away in Leeds and regularly travel to the restaurant simply for a takeaway as there simply is nothing else quite like it locally.

Perfect for a light sunday lunch sandwich, evening meal or breakfast.... quite literally one of the best restaurants/dining experiences in the UK in my opinion.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben-Leeds-UnitedK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

My friend and i stayed one Friday night at the Studley to break the journey up on the way to see friends. First impressions were very favourable. We managed to get a space in the small car park at the rear and went up the back stairs to the reception.
Very plush and homely with friendly staff on the reception. Although it was only noon we only had to wait ten minutes for the key to room 306. I had requested a high floor and this is exactly what we got. We were in the roof with fab views over the park of Harrogate. As this room is on the end you also get fab views of the Majestic hotel from the bathroom window. Huge comfy bed, huge plasma screen , tea and coffee makings and lashing of hot water from a fab shower. What more could a girl want other than perhaps a small fridge to keep our wine in,.
Everything was immaculately clean with very pleasant decor. Room was warm enough with easy to open windows and lovely dark wood blinds to keep the morning sun out. We didn't eat at the hotel as we alway eat at the Grille at the Balmoral hotel when in Harrogate , however the smell from the Orchid restaurant and the amount of clients visiting it means it may have to be tried in the future. If the full breakfast the next morning that we had is anything to go by the food will be delicious. We had a full English and everything was piping hot with fresh sliced potato and none of the made up hash brown rubbish. Check out was simple and quick as was check in. Great location for easy walking access to shops, park and Bettys of course for those foolish enough to waste their well earned cash.
Well done Studley, clean ,welcoming and good value. Thanks very much ,we will return.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gatesheadgirlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMStudleyHotel, General Manager at Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2010

Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for such a glowing and detailed response, it was such a pleasure to share such a fabulous review with our team, who of course work hard extremely hard to maintain the standards expected of them.

Your note regarding a mini bar or wine fridge is something we are considering and hope to implement that in our premium rooms in the near future.

Please do give us a call when you next visit Harrogate and will do our best to ensure we provide the same room (38) for you both. We also have special offers and rates on our website which include a voucher and wine for dinner in the Orchid, so you may take advantage of the deals and try our food for the first time. Hopefully we will have a fridge in your room then.

All the best
Bokmun Chan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews