We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Nearby Hotels
Cedar Court Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$80
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cairn Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Crowne Plaza Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
The West Park Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Rudding Park Hotel(Follifoot)
US$361
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Crown Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$99
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Swan Hotel(Harrogate)
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kimberley Hotel(Harrogate)(Great Value!)
US$71
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (779)
Filter reviews
779 results
Traveller rating
458
248
50
19
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
458
248
50
19
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrimbach suiteexecutive roomlovely hotelwalk in wardrobecar parkpump roomvalley gardenstop floorsunday nighttown centrecentral locationbooked a tableboutique hotelsmall hotelstayed for one nightbuffet stylebirthday treat
Filter
Updating list...
681 - 686 of 779 reviews
Reviewed 10 February 2011

Great location for the Conference Centre.Clean,big rooms with lots of little touches to make you feel welcome.Small piano lounge adjacent to lobby area -drinks in the evening.I will definitely go again

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HILTONgmRICK_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2011

We stayed here for my partners birthday, the hotel had been recommended to me by a couple of friends

The room was ok but a bit small for the price, however to make it worse we couldn't ave a shower as there was no hot water!!! Rang reception and was told he would put emerssion on and wait 20mins unfortunately we couldn't due to having plans, awoke in the morning to still no hot water this was very disappointing as still no shower and my fella couldn't ave a shave!!

On the plus side though staff and food were great!!!

Would look around before booking here again

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tigsep73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2011

It is rare to stay in an hotel where every single member of staff goes out of their way to be helpful & accommodating. Even better when the food is absolutely divine. We will certainly be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yorkshireliz7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc1, General Manager at Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2011

Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your positive experience on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to the Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant.

It was such a pleasure to receive and share the comments with the staff members.

Thank you once again for your valued feedback and hope to see you both again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

My husband and I had visited Harrogate and the Orchid restaurant before. We suggested our friends join us for a meal there for New Year. We decided to stay at the Studley for the location and anticipated excellent accommodation. The restaurant is marvellous and the food is always to a high standard. I cannot fault the staff at all and everybody was extremely courteous and professional. However we were extremely disappointed to find we had no hot water in our rooms when we went to shower. Our room was very spacious but our friends room was very small and poor value for the grade of hotel. The staff could not apologise enough for the lack of hot water and we were given a magnum of rose wine to try and help the situation. A kind gesture but boiling kettles to have a wash before a night out was very annoying.
We also paid £20 each for the pleasure of attending a New Years Eve disco in the hotel. Considering it was in the hotel lounge/ bar that we had paid to stay in, we found this unacceptable. We asked for a refund which the hotel owner gave us. The owner was very apologetic about the hot water and explained it shouldn't of happened so imagine our surprise when we had no hot water yet again the following evening. The staff offered us a complimentary drink (did they think alcohol answered every problem?) and offered to put the immersion heating on (were we staying at my grandma's?). We were offered another room but as we were checking out the next morning and we wanted to go out for the evening, we decided to stay where we were. Overall a very disappointing New Year at the Studley.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DizzyD61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bmc1, General Manager at Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2011

Dear Tripadvisor reviewer,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your experience on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to the Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant.

I was pleased to read that you found the food and service standards met your expectations, I sincerely apologise again for the inconveniences experienced during your stay.

I note the points you have highlighted: the lack of hot water was due to an unforeseen boiler problem which we tried to rectify as quickly as possible. This had affected a few rooms, we had accommodated around the problem as best we could and you were offered an upgrade but you had declined it. We do not ply guests with alcohol as a means to resolve the problems, this does not resolve problems. Complimentary drinks are merely gestures to our guests at the discretion of management for any reason of our choosing.
The room sizes are different in the hotel but the grading is not affected by them.
The charge for the disco was applied to all guests who booked with us at the hotel and restaurant and was absolutely transparent at the time of your booking. Your grievance was noted and charge indeed refunded.

I can assure you that we strive to ensure that all guests are given our full attention and that the quality and standard of our food and operation is always at the fore of our minds. We had tried our best to accommodate you despite the problems.

Thank you once again for your valued feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2010

We spent two nights at the Studley Hotel. The room was clean and new, had free wifi. Breakfast was very good. Having stayed in Harrogate several times this is the only place we'll be returning to. Great value which is why its so popular. Had dinner at the Orchid restaurant the first night which was OK, but on second evening found the newly opened 'Mirabelle' restaurant next door which offered a greater range of tastes old and new in a relaxing atmosphere. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicSWetherby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews