We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel with very helpful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel with very helpful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Stayed for 1 night with my wife and i would definitely recommend a stay at this hotel.The rooms were spotlessly clean and the beds very comfortable with a choice of hard or soft pillows.The underground car park made it very easy to arrive and depart the hotel.The staff were very Helpful and and courteous and if they were checking you in,serving in the bar or restaurant they always seemed to have a smile on there face.I will definitely come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SteveGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGHIHarrogate, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2011
Dear SteveGH


Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following a recent stay at the Holiday Inn Harrogate. I would like to assure you that we value all feedback and use it to improve our customer’s experiences for the future.

It is often said that the team make the hotel such a great experience for guests and I am so glad that this has been the case with your stay. I will pass on your fantastic comments onto to all; it makes such a different to their day to receive such positive feedback, we all look forward to hopefully welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

If there is anything further I can help with then I would be delighted to assist you, please contact myself over the phone or via email, I can be contacted on 01423 849988 or on ops.hiharrogate@qmh-hotels.com.

Yours Sincerely

Peter Byard

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    397
    596
    310
    98
    35
See reviews for
156
671
42
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (351)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

Booked for family event mums birthday. hotel really nice. rooms good big beds.
Bar was too expensive. good breakfast apart from the sausages where undercooked, and
one member of staff was clearing our plates while we still eating which was rude.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 186356Patricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGHIHarrogate, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear 186356Patricia


Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following a recent stay at the Holiday Inn Harrogate. I would like to assure you that we value all feedback and use it to improve our customer’s experiences for the future.

I was most concerned to read about the issues you encountered during your stay with us and I can assure you the relevant steps have been taken to ensure they don’t occur again. Both the Head Chef and Food & Beverage Manager have been spoken to, in order to rectify this going forward

If there is anything further I can help with then I would be delighted to assist you, please contact myself over the phone or via email, I can be contacted on 01423 849988 or on ops.hiharrogate@qmh-hotels.com

Yours Sincerely

Peter Byard

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2011

Stayed here for just the one night. Excellent hotel, staff are fantastic. Micheala on reception is fantastic and made us feel very welcome. We have stayed here a few times now and will be returing in the next few weeks. Great little getaway, right next to everything you need in Harrogate. We did find the bar expensive however asda is just round the corner to pop in for a bottle of wine. Food is great, lots to choose from, the rooms are a little on the small side but huge beds and very, very clean. All round this is a fantastic hotel with great staff and if you get a bargain all the better. Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tancolledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGHIHarrogate, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear Tancolledge


Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following a recent stay at the Holiday Inn Harrogate. I would like to assure you that we value all feedback and use it to improve our customer’s experiences for the future.

Thank you for glowing comments concerning the hotel and staff, Makaela in particularly was delighted to hear of your praise for her, I will ensure your feedback is passed onto all concerned as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Harrogate and if there is anything further I can help with then I would be delighted to assist you, please contact myself over the phone or via email, I can be contacted on 01423 849988 or on ops.hiharrogate@qmh-hotels.com

Yours Sincerely

Peter Byard

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

The staff are very helpful and friendly and the hotel is conveniently positioned right next door to Harrogate International Conference Centre.

We held a client dinner in one of the suites and the staff ensured all of our needs were met.

Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank SarahNorthLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGHIHarrogate, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear SarahNorthLondon


Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following a recent stay at the Holiday Inn Harrogate. I would like to assure you that we value all feedback and use it to improve our customer’s experiences for the future.

I was delighted to read of your praise for the team here at the hotel and I will be sure to pass this onto them. Fantastic news that everyone enjoyed the client dinner and we hope that we get to welcome you back next time your event is in Harrogate.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Harrogate and if there is anything further I can help with then I would be delighted to assist you, please contact myself over the phone or via email, I can be contacted on 01423 849988 or on ops.hiharrogate@qmh-hotels.com

Yours Sincerely

Peter Byard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2011

I stayed here with two collegues 13/06/11 we found the hotel to be excellent,no problem parking an easy check-in a nice clean comfortable room to relax in(the tv set was a little retro)the bar was very modern the hotel is a 3 minute walk from the centre of the town a sound sleep was had by all and then a buffet breakfast the food was a wide variety from fresh fruit,yogurt and cearels to a traditional english cooked breakfast.I look forward to my next trip to Harrogate and the Holiday inn

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sje100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGHIHarrogate, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear SJE100


Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following a recent stay at the Holiday Inn Harrogate. I would like to assure you that we value all feedback and use it to improve our customer’s experiences for the future.

I was most pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and spoke so positively about the staff here, I will pass on your comments to all as I know they love to get positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Harrogate and if there is anything further I can help with then I would be delighted to assist you, please contact myself over the phone or via email, I can be contacted on 01423 849988 or on ops.hiharrogate@qmh-hotels.com

Yours Sincerely

Peter Byard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

excellent hotel, safe underground car park, lovely clean modern room with good view from window over harrogate (6th floor)
super breakfast, plenty of choice. very friendly helpful staff on check in and out. definately recommend. only downside is the drinks in the bar are very expensive, we found this the first time we stayed there, so on our last stay there we didn't drink in the hotel, plenty of nice pubs and eating places within walking distance for evening meal.

Room Tip: both times we have stayed we had lovely rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yorksgal2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGHIHarrogate, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
Dear Rodders1

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following a recent stay at the Holiday Inn Harrogate. I would like to assure you that we value all feedback and use it to improve our customer’s experiences for the future.

I’m delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your trip to Harrogate and your stay with us. The team take real pride in making a positive impact on guests during their stay and clearly it shows here, I will pass on your words of praise to them as I know that they love to hear how they have made a positive impact on the customers.

If there is anything further I can help with then I would be delighted to assist you, please contact myself over the phone or via email, I can be contacted on 01423 849988 or on ops.hiharrogate@qmh-hotels.com

Yours Sincerely

Peter Byard
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
689 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 544 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2011

I stayed for four nights at the Holiday Inn Harrogate situated next door to Harrogate International Centre and has views over the rolling Yorkshire Dales. It's a short walk to the sights of Harrogate. Guests can use facilities at the Harrogate Academy & Spa (5 minutes drive away), including a pool and tennis courts. A full English breakfast buffet is served daily in the Abbey Restaurant. The hotel has a bar serving light snacks and refreshments.
There are 3 lifts, accessible above the second floor only with use of a room key, corridors are wide though the carpeting on my floor was dark with an abstract pattern. The underground car park is large (150 cars) and clean.
Services include a mini gym – key available from Reception; High-speed Internet Access (£10 initial charge) and pay as you go in the lobby; Same day Dry Cleaning Pickup/Laundry and Safety Deposit Box available at Front Desk.
En-suite rooms offer pay movies on TV and a choice of pillows. There is complimentary tea and coffee. Facilities include direct dial phone; hairdryer and Iron / Ironing Board. All rooms are non-smoking. My room was about irregularly shaped, about 4m x 3m with a bathroom 2m x 2m. The room contained a double bed with a choice of pillows, a wooden headboard, desk and chair, wardrobe (without a top), easy chair and occasional table. 2 bedside shelves had bed lights with reading spotlights. A fan was provided. The television was old fashioned with only 8 channels. Reception was poor. The overall level of lighting was good and the black-out was effective. The carpet was striped orange and fawn and looked faded. The bathroom had a black tiled floor and marble wash basin and white bath with shower. The windows could be opened and the radiator was effective in heating the room.
The room was clean and adequately serviced. Toiletries were ample and towels crisp and clean. Bed Linen was crisp and I slept reasonably well. Toiletries were adequate and replaced every day, but the hospitality tray was limited (no biscuits).
The group I was with were provided with a 3 course carvery meal each night. Generally good, the vegetables served were disappointing. The buffet breakfast was good and plentiful. Service was generally good, though some of the party I was with had to wait a long time for wine they had ordered to arrive.
Little issues were: used items from the hospitality tray were not replaced on the second day; the television in the Bar is affected by use of mobile phones which causes the signal to cut out; the full length mirror was located in a corner of the room behind the occasional furniture; the Abbey restaurant is located along a winding corridor – almost ‘tucked away’ (the carpet in the corridor approach is very dark and worn!; service in the restaurant struggled to cope at busy times; several keycards of the group I was with stopped working during the stay; that included mine and I only got into that room on that occasion because the housekeeper had left the door ajar – poor!; a cup I had used was washed but left on the desk and not returned to the hospitality tray.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGHIHarrogate, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 30 June 2011
Dear Topkoppite

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following a recent stay at the Holiday Inn Harrogate. I would like to assure you that we value all feedback and use it to improve our customer’s experiences for the future.

I was most concerned to read of the disappointing aspects of your stay, please accept my most sincere apologies for these being occurred, I have investigated into the issues experience and the relevant department heads have been spoken to and retraining issued where required.

If there is anything further I can help with then I would be delighted to assist you, please contact myself over the phone or via email, I can be contacted on 01423 849988 or on ops.hiharrogate@qmh-hotels.com

Kind regards

Peter Byard

Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,201 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,566 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn

Property: Holiday Inn
Address: Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 1XX, England (Formerly Harrogate Moat House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#11 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Harrogate is a 4-star hotel, ideally located in the town centre adjoining the Harrogate International Conference Centre. This 214 bedroom hotel is only 8 miles from the A1(M).Many rooms have stunning views across both the famous Yorkshire Spa town and the surrounding countryside. Both contemporary and welcoming, the fantastic Classics bar and Restaurant 701 offers a wide variety of traditional and International dishes from around the world. All guests can benefit from our association with The Academy nearby, Harrogates premier health and fitness Club providing complimentary use of the indoor heated swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room. The club is conveniently located less than a mile from the hotel. Our flexible range of conference and meeting rooms provide excellent facilities for up to 360 delegates with extensive break-out facilities, all air-conditioned for your comfort. Our meeting rooms feature the very latest conference equipment and high-speed Internet access.Holiday Inn Harrogate is the ideal base to explore the delights of the Yorkshire Countryside including Bolton Abbey, Ripon Cathedral, Harewood House, Richmond Castle, Fountains Abbey and the Lightwater Valley Theme Park. In accordance with English law this hotel is now non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Holiday Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Harrogate
Holiday Inn Harrogate, Yorkshire
Harrogate Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing