We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Trip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Business Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Pre booked via Hotelscene for 5 night stay , the room given was on 7th floor , excellent quick check-in , room very spacious and clean , breakfast taken with token charged to room saves £5 a day and they are usual hotel style buffet which was 'hot' not luke warm like most .The location is really good with only a short walk into the centre of Harrogate where you will find a excellent variety of eateries and bars . I am booked into the Holiday Inn for another visit at the end of Feb so i really hope i have the same experience as this visit .

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGHIHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Andy B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following a recent stay at the Holiday Inn Harrogate, I would like to assure you that we value all feedback and use it to evaluate our customer’s experiences for the future.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular you found the service to be of a high standard, I will of course ensure that your kind comments are passed onto the team involved.

I do hope we see you again in the near future and if there is anything further I can help with then I would be delighted to assist you, please contact myself over the phone or via email, I can be contacted on 01423 849988 or on ops.hiharrogate@qmh-hotels.com.



Yours Sincerely

Peter Byard

Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    595
    308
    98
    35
See reviews for
155
667
42
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north west uk
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

the hotel is a decent standard and in a good location - 2 mins walk will bring you to the shops, bars and restaurants.
room was a decent size, comfy bed and a really good breakfast. Bar service was quick and not too expensive. all in all a good stay and would definately stay here again on another trip to harrogate.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank soll131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGHIHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Kiwitripper,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following a recent stay at the Holiday Inn Harrogate, I would like to assure you that we value all feedback and use it to evaluate our customer’s experiences for the future.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and in particular you found the service to be of a high standard, I will of course ensure that your kind comments are passed onto the team involved.

I do hope we see you again in the near future and if there is anything further I can help with then I would be delighted to assist you, please contact myself over the phone or via email, I can be contacted on 01423 849988 or on ops.hiharrogate@qmh-hotels.com.



Yours Sincerely

Peter Byard

Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bedale
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

Second time we have stayed here for a weekend break and overall it's an ideal venue in a good location, The staff were friendly and helpful even though we had to wait a long time for someone to appear behind the bar when we arrived. However what annoyed me was that we decided to upgrade to an executive room, reasonable extra charge but you do expect a decent room, which on first glance it was, but.... my wife dropped something on the floor and discovered somebody's broken arm from a pair of glasses, also the broken plastic cover off the chair arm. On further examination of the chair it was just about falling to bits, not difficult things for a cleaner to spot As we went out on the evening I told the receptionist who was very apologetic and gave us a voucher for a complimentary drink, very nice but as I pointed out I would rather have had a clean room that had been checked and decent furniture. She promised to pass my concerns on, who knows whether she did. On our return we did have a new chair in the room! Overall I would recommend this hotel but as another reviewer said it's part of a chain and it just lacks attention to detail.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeff f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGHIHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Jeff F,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following a recent stay at the Holiday Inn Harrogate, I would like to assure you that we value all feedback and use it to evaluate our customer’s experiences for the future.

Please accept my most sincere apologies for the lack of attention to detail with specific regards to the cleanliness in your bedroom. I have discussed the issues with the Housekeeping Manager and I am confident that this will improve for the future. In terms of the bedroom chair we are currently sourcing a suitable chair to replace throughout.

I do hope we see you again in the near future and if there is anything further I can help with then I would be delighted to assist you, please contact myself over the phone or via email, I can be contacted on 01423 849988 or on ops.hiharrogate@qmh-hotels.com.



Yours Sincerely

Peter Byard

Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

Visited hotel during course recently food of excellent standard and location to Harrogate centre is good.Did not stay here so cannot comment on accommodation standard.

Car park is under hotel so is handy and you get rates for day at £5 which is good !

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGHIHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Jon T,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following a recent conference at the Holiday Inn Harrogate, I would like to assure you that we value all feedback and use it to evaluate our customer’s experiences for the future.

Its always nice when we receive reviews of our conference offering here at the hotel, so I was delighted to read your review and the praise that followed, I will pass this onto to the teams involved.

I do hope we see you again in the near future and if there is anything further I can help with then I would be delighted to assist you, please contact myself over the phone or via email, I can be contacted on 01423 849988 or on ops.hiharrogate@qmh-hotels.com.



Yours Sincerely

Peter Byard

Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

We could not wait to leave,we were there for a exhibition,we were given wrong rooms on check in,unhelpful staff in restraunt,cold,depressing however Harrogate has somenice shopping for my wife.
NEVER AGAIN will we stay in a H.I

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarlettandevie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 5 February 2013
Dear scarlettandevie,

Thank you for staying with us and providing us with your valuable feedback. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the unacceptable service you received during your stay with us. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Karen G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

Visited again for business on 22nd January and I still cannot really fault the place, by a distance the best HI I have stayed at. I wanted a room on a high floor and sure enough this was granted by email 1 day before arrival. I was on the 9th floor and as the hotal has a great position in the centre of Harrogate the view was great. Check in and check out were extremely quick, the breakfast and service was excellent as were the staff who seem to be 95% English, this does really help as I have had difficulties in the past at making myself understood at other hotels including HI's when the staff are European or Asian,this is not a racist comment but an honest one.
I will return here next January for sure!

Room Tip: Go for a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dutchy777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGHIHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Dutchy777,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following a recent stay at the Holiday Inn Harrogate, I would like to assure you that we value all feedback and use it to evaluate our customer’s experiences for the future.

I was delighted to see that you love staying at the Holiday Inn Harrogate so much! It really is a pleasure to welcome back our advocate guests who return over and over. Thank you for your kind comments about the team which I will of course pass on to them.

I do hope we see you again in the near future and if there is anything further I can help with then I would be delighted to assist you, please contact myself over the phone or via email, I can be contacted on 01423 849988 or on ops.hiharrogate@qmh-hotels.com.



Yours Sincerely

Peter Byard

Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

Got a good deal on Groupon for this hotel.
Not as modern as some I've stayed in but met our expectations. Wouldn't want to pay the full price to stay here.

Great location, 5 minute walk to the shops and bars.

Multi storey car par - charge payable.

Breakfast - your average buffet.

The one selling point, the views were great!

Met our needs for the one night away.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Faye M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGHIHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 1 March 2013
Dear Faye M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following a recent stay at the Holiday Inn Harrogate, I would like to assure you that we value all feedback and use it to evaluate our customer’s experiences for the future.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and the visit to Harrogate was to your liking.

I do hope we see you again in the near future and if there is anything further I can help with then I would be delighted to assist you, please contact myself over the phone or via email, I can be contacted on 01423 849988 or on ops.hiharrogate@qmh-hotels.com.



Yours Sincerely

Peter Byard

Acting General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn

Property: Holiday Inn
Address: Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 1XX, England (Formerly Harrogate Moat House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#11 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Harrogate is a 4-star hotel, ideally located in the town centre adjoining the Harrogate International Conference Centre. This 214 bedroom hotel is only 8 miles from the A1(M).Many rooms have stunning views across both the famous Yorkshire Spa town and the surrounding countryside. Both contemporary and welcoming, the fantastic Classics bar and Restaurant 701 offers a wide variety of traditional and International dishes from around the world. All guests can benefit from our association with The Academy nearby, Harrogates premier health and fitness Club providing complimentary use of the indoor heated swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room. The club is conveniently located less than a mile from the hotel. Our flexible range of conference and meeting rooms provide excellent facilities for up to 360 delegates with extensive break-out facilities, all air-conditioned for your comfort. Our meeting rooms feature the very latest conference equipment and high-speed Internet access.Holiday Inn Harrogate is the ideal base to explore the delights of the Yorkshire Countryside including Bolton Abbey, Ripon Cathedral, Harewood House, Richmond Castle, Fountains Abbey and the Lightwater Valley Theme Park. In accordance with English law this hotel is now non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Harrogate
Holiday Inn Harrogate, Yorkshire
Harrogate Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing