We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Excellent hotel for short stay in Harrogate! Room was very clean, reasonable size and all the amenities you would expect. Excellent breakfast, amongst the best, buffet type I have enjoyed in some time, the only criticism here was the restaurant was terribly, uncomfortably hot!!?? Very good location, easy to walk into centre, plenty of good restaurants close by.
Front desk and bar staff very friendly and helpful.
Unfortunate that car parking is not included, although this is made clear when booking, still feel that £7.00 per night is OK but would be better if room rate was increased a little to include parking??
Overall very happy and will definitely stay here again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Thank you for your five-star review and I am pleased to read you had an enjoyable stay. I apologise concerning the heating in the restaurant and this is now rectified. we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    595
    308
    98
    35
See reviews for
155
668
42
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I can honestly say we thoroughly enjoyed our stay!
On arrival staff were welcoming and pleasant and throughout our stay it seemed that staff could not do enough to help!
Rooms were clean and a decent size and the breakfast was also good!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gazildon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
The Team and I are delighted that you and your family had a memorable experience at the Holiday Inn Harrogate and in Harrogate itself. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Riding, UK
Level Contributor
102 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have used this hotel, on and off over many years but this is the first time reviewed. In the past one had the impression that this was primarily a conference hotel (it is, after all, part of the conference centre) and that private travellers were rather privileged to be able to stay there. Not any longer. The reception is now warmer and the restaurant is tempting diners with good value offers, but unfortunately not starting early enough for concert goers.
Once built there is little that can be done to the structure of the building and this remains a 12 storey tower with bedrooms ranked along long and somewhat stark corridors. Recent press reports say that IHC are disposing of some top range hotels to concentrate on the Holiday Inn group. Maybe this is beginning to show as the rooms are clean, bright and better furnished than they were previously. However, the biggest improvement is in the breakfast offering. This was one of the best we have had anywhere lacking only porridge. Some better quality cutlery would make it 5*!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibadan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
It is not very often that I have the pleasure to read a Tripadvisor review in which one sees the "big picture" of what the Team and I are endeavouring to accomplish for our Guests. Thank you for your morale boosting message, one which the Team and I are delighted about. All the major hotels in Harrogate, including the Holiday Inn are working closer with the HIC with encouraging results. We are in this light looking to do things differently to what we have done in the past, and you will be glad to know that pre-show dinners is on our task list, as too are our corridors.

Thank you once more for your inspiring review and we look forward to seeing you soon for a pre-concert dinner.

Best regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014 via mobile

Good location, a short walk from many good restaurants.
As members we were given an executive room with king side bed. Nice power shower.
Very good buffet breakfast with cereals, breads, full english etc.
Comparable to most holiday inns.
Parking onsite at extra cost.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we are pleased to hear the hotel suited your needs. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Best regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
206 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Check in was good staff very friendly. Rooms nice size clean with comfy beds. Location excellent for Harrogate centre. Breakfast was of good standard and we had a nice bar meal in the bar. Few things I felt let it down was the very limited toiletries in bathroom no biscuits with tea making facilities and some bottled water in rooms - not a big deal but these are the things that I would expect and have had from hotels in this price range. The biggest let down I felt was that there was no free wi fi not even in the public areas.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank meinir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 19 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to read your stay was an enjoyable one overall. We do provide complimentary chocolate and mineral water, as well as bathrobes and slippers in our Executive rooms, which may be more suited to your needs for future stays. Wifi is provided free of charge for our Elite IHG Rewards loyalty members which is free to join.

Thank you once more and best regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

We have visited the hotel a few times now after a visit to the near by Turkish baths. The rooms are always clean the staff friendly and the breakfast is very good, once you have parked your car you can leave it in the carpark as the hotel is well situated.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank riff40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for your kind review, the Team andI are delighted you have chosen the Holiday Inn Harrogate as your preferred choice in Harrogate during your regualr visits. We look forward to welcoming you many more times in the future.

Best regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

With breakfast included the costs were very reasonable. An enjoyable two night stay, friendly staff and good facilities. We stayed in a different hotel the third night but wish we had stayed here.

Within two minutes walking distance of town this was ideal for us.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Oxford-Wilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
And we wish you stayed with us on the thrid night too. Nevertheless, we are delighted you enjoyed your visit and look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Best regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn

Property: Holiday Inn
Address: Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 1XX, England (Formerly Harrogate Moat House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#11 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Harrogate is a 4-star hotel, ideally located in the town centre adjoining the Harrogate International Conference Centre. This 214 bedroom hotel is only 8 miles from the A1(M).Many rooms have stunning views across both the famous Yorkshire Spa town and the surrounding countryside. Both contemporary and welcoming, the fantastic Classics bar and Restaurant 701 offers a wide variety of traditional and International dishes from around the world. All guests can benefit from our association with The Academy nearby, Harrogates premier health and fitness Club providing complimentary use of the indoor heated swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room. The club is conveniently located less than a mile from the hotel. Our flexible range of conference and meeting rooms provide excellent facilities for up to 360 delegates with extensive break-out facilities, all air-conditioned for your comfort. Our meeting rooms feature the very latest conference equipment and high-speed Internet access.Holiday Inn Harrogate is the ideal base to explore the delights of the Yorkshire Countryside including Bolton Abbey, Ripon Cathedral, Harewood House, Richmond Castle, Fountains Abbey and the Lightwater Valley Theme Park. In accordance with English law this hotel is now non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Holiday Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Harrogate
Holiday Inn Harrogate, Yorkshire
Harrogate Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing