We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a perfect holiday inn” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
london county hall
Level Contributor
331 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“a perfect holiday inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our room was a double on the 11th floor it was superb. We had a great view over Harrogate and the room was massive. Lovely giant bed and spotlessly clean. Couldn't fault anything. We had an evening meal which was excellent and breakfast was perfect too. It was fairly busy at breakfast at 7.30 on a weekend and getting a hot drink was tricky because of the queue.
The lifts are tiny and are hectic at this time also .But all in all a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Higher rooms are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatrice-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Thank you Beatrice for your fantastic review. Coming from a "Top Contributor" with 182 reviews makes this feedback even more valuable and we thank you for your comments. We hope to see you again in our little lifts soon.

Best regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,430 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    595
    308
    98
    35
See reviews for
155
667
42
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We chose this hotel at the last minute for a couple of days away. Main attraction was the secure parking on site for the motorbike. You know what you get at a Holiday Inn and this one was very central, nice staff, good room, clean and breakfast was included in the price and was very varied. Would recommend

Room Tip: Ask for advice on where the car park is as its in an adjacent street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denise2955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Biking around North Yorkshire at this time of the year is great! Thank you for staying at Holiday Inn Harrogate and I am pleased to hear that our Brand Promise is one you have grown to trust.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mayne Island, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

This was the first place we stayed that charged for Wi-Fi. (Even small cafes and B&Bs provided free access.)

Our room was small, the sheets were too small for the bed (at least 3 inches of tacky mattress pad were exposed at either end), the radiator didn't work and neither did the bathroom fan.

As an aside, there are only three small elevators servicing the entire hotel so waits can be long at peak times, and the underground parking lot is a rabbit warren.

Another irritation was that the rate quoted on line did not include VAT, as it did for every other place we stayed.

When we checked in, we were told that breakfast was included in the rate but when we went down for breakfast the next morning, we were told that breakfast was not part of our rate and that we'd have to pay extra. We left.

When we checked out, we tried to communicate our disappointment to the desk clerk but she was distracted by the number of other people checking out at the same time.

So I emailed the manager of the hotel.

In his reply, it was clear that he had personally gone to some lengths to investigate my concerns and he subsequently assured me that measures were being taken to address the problems I'd brought to his attention.

He was extremely gracious and I felt he was genuinely concerned about our disappointing experience at his hotel.

While I stand by my review, I would like to acknowledge and thank the manager for his personal and thoughtful response to my observations and comments. His reaction certainly took some of the sting out of our experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sadie820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Even though we always strive to receive five star reviews, we understand that we do not always get it right for all our Guests. I am sorry your experience was a dissappointing one but thank you for your understanding and patience during our personal correspondence following your initial feedback. It is difficult for one to take the sting out of a dissapointing experience if the other is not as openminded as you are.

Thank you once more and I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back for a comfortable stay during you next visit in Harrogate.

My very best regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We booked this hotel last minute and was pleasantly surprised. The staff in the lobby are very welcoming and warm making you feel right at ease. We stayed in a double room on the 11th floor and was so happy with the size, yes the decor was a little dated but seriously, for the price you pay does it matter! the bathroom was lovely, large and very modern A*. The thing we loved the most was the size of the bed, it was huge and so comfortable we both had a great nights sleep.
The hotel is in a great location, only 5 minute walk from the town center and a two minute walk from several bars and restaurants. I cannot comment on the food here but it seemed very over priced, breakfast was £14 if you went to the restaurant and £10 if you got it from the lobby which again, seems a little over priced!
We will definitely be back!
Just a heads up for some who are driving, parking is £7 a night which all in all is very good compared to the prices in many town centers!

Room Tip: If you have breakfast there be sure to buy it from the downstairs lobby and save money. Take a hai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Comiskey1411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Wow, what a great way to start the day... Thank you for your five star review, the Team and I are delighted we managed to impress you upon your visit. I note your comment concerning the Breakfast: Don't knock it 'till you had it! We receive great feedback and the price is justified by the variety on offer. Over dinner, you could also enjoy an awesome two course meal for two including a glass of wine for only £29.99... and it is popular. Harrogate has fantastic choice for the foodies in all of us, but I do recommend giving us a try on your next trip up.

Thank you once more and best regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

The location is good for staying in Harrogate although equally many others are too.
The staff at reception were lovely, welcoming friendly and bubbly.
The hotel is dull and dark and definitely needs some money and TLC
Our room was ok although a little depressing but it was dirty in places which I didn't expect.
Our shower curtain had an unpleasant brown stain over it, the carpet was filthy and the base of the bed had a lot of stains on.
The bed was ok although the sheets had a slightly damp smell and compared to the bedding in premier inns felt rough. The kettle in the room was faulty and didn't switch itself off when boiled so overall the place just felt a bit unloved.
Bearable for a cheap deal and one night but I doubt we would return unless paying £50 or less as there are so many other hotels in good locations we know are much better.
We didn't have breakfast but I couldn't fault the staff at reception.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen1587763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Many thanks for your feedback and please accept my apologies for the shortfalls mentioned. Please may I request you to email me at gm.hiharrogate@qmh-hotels.com with further details of your visit as we would like the opportunity to follow up on these. The Team thanks you for your kind words concerning their service.

Thank you,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

The hotel is very convenient for the Congress Centre, which is presumably where most of its business comes from. So it probably doesn't matter that the facilities are not exceptional. In truth, the hotel is clean and the staff both friendly and helpful; parking in the adjoining underground car park is very close by. The breakfasts are good with an excellent range of cooked and cold fare. Why not more stars? The hotel shows its age and specification when new-rooms are small, there isn't air conditioning and the lifts are often crowded. So it is a perfectly good choice for a two day conference but probably not for longer...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank unclepious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
There is more to our hotel than the convention centre next door, as many past reviews suggest. We do wlecome guests from all wlaks of life, but appreciate your thoughts on the hotel. I apologise if the hotel was not to your liking in all areas, but thank you for feedback both positve and constructive.

Best regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Wonderful hotel and. Superb location for the conference centre next door as was there for the ISBA conference. Was clean and tidy and staff were incredibly helpful. Breakfast was lovely and lots of choice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emma v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review, the Team and I are really pleased you had a great experience. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,564 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn

Property: Holiday Inn
Address: Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 1XX, England (Formerly Harrogate Moat House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#11 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Harrogate is a 4-star hotel, ideally located in the town centre adjoining the Harrogate International Conference Centre. This 214 bedroom hotel is only 8 miles from the A1(M).Many rooms have stunning views across both the famous Yorkshire Spa town and the surrounding countryside. Both contemporary and welcoming, the fantastic Classics bar and Restaurant 701 offers a wide variety of traditional and International dishes from around the world. All guests can benefit from our association with The Academy nearby, Harrogates premier health and fitness Club providing complimentary use of the indoor heated swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room. The club is conveniently located less than a mile from the hotel. Our flexible range of conference and meeting rooms provide excellent facilities for up to 360 delegates with extensive break-out facilities, all air-conditioned for your comfort. Our meeting rooms feature the very latest conference equipment and high-speed Internet access.Holiday Inn Harrogate is the ideal base to explore the delights of the Yorkshire Countryside including Bolton Abbey, Ripon Cathedral, Harewood House, Richmond Castle, Fountains Abbey and the Lightwater Valley Theme Park. In accordance with English law this hotel is now non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline and Superbreak UK so you can book your Holiday Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Harrogate
Holiday Inn Harrogate, Yorkshire
Harrogate Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing