We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Barnstoneworth
Level Contributor
92 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Excellent location for exploring Harrogate on foot. Car park a tad awkwardly shaped, best for those driving narrow/short cars, such as Austin Seven's, definitely not for those with Cadillac Escalades. It was cheap though, only £7 for the weekend.
Room was fine, with splendidly large bed making for a good night's sleep. Bathroom a little tired, but perfectly functional.
Breakfast was a little mixed, poor orange juice and fruit/yoghurt choice, but full English part was excellent, with hot food AND plates, which does help.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EricOttershaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback both good and constructive. Your observations have been discussed with the Team this morning. I am pleased you found the hotel worth returning to and look foward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    395
    595
    309
    98
    35
See reviews for
155
669
42
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
190 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Holiday Inns do vary but this is a good one. A little difficult to find but follow the signs for Harrogate International Conference Centre and it is next door with its own underground car park - free for IHG (International Hotels Group) members; free to join and you get daily newspapers free as well! Staff are both friendly and efficient. As we were there with a Group we received the buffet dinners but they were of good quality. Breakfasts were superb and plenty of choices. Very centrally positioned and Harrogate well worth a weekend away!

Room Tip: Overlooking the rear rooms are certainly quiet at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmogano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank MMike_7 for you kind review. The Team were delighted when we read it out this morning and we are all really pleased you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
164 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Fairly easy to find using the SAT NAV, underground parking is tricky with a large car.
I was upgraded to a executive room - thank you!
Room was large and homely, good wi fi connection.
The reception staff were very helpful in recommending a nearby fish & chip restaurant and acknowledged that I was a priority club member.
Great breakfast, lots of fresh cooked produce.
Will stay here again when in the area.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunseekers-TRIP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback and we are delighted you had a five-star experience. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed here for two nights on a family trip. Our group had two twin rooms, both felt quite dated especially the bathroom compared with other 4* hotels in the area. The reception and bar area was nice but the food and drink was very expensive. The location is perfect as it is a 10 minute walk to the train station and the town center with a selection of nice restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank magic-debz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback and I am pleased to read you enjoyed our location. I am sorry to hear that your rooms allocated were not to your liking. Please may I request that you contact me at gm.hiharrogate@qmh-hotels.com with your room numbers in order forme to properly follow up on your observations.

Many thanks,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

This is just a note to anyone booking at this holiday please ensure that you specify a 'walkin shower' in your disabled room, unfortunately I have just had a short break at this hotel in a room with all disabled facilities but only a bath. Other than this our stay was ok.

Room Tip: Make sure you set out precisely what accommodation you require on booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 775Diane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGHIHarrogate, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review from your most recent stay with us. I'm sorry we were unable to provide a walk in shower but unfortunately we don't have any rooms with this feature. Hopefully, this will be on the plans for future refurbishments.
I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best Wishes,

Sarah Turner
Operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

After reading several critical reviews we found that this hotel exceeded our expectations.
Reception and help from the hall porter were excellent and we were given the twin bedded room on the 6th floor that we had requested.It was easy to park and enter the hotel from the large garage.
The weather was hot but the room temperature could be controlled by opening the window and using the fan supplied.
The room was a good size and had a hair dryer, tray for tea and coffee, iron and ironing board, and basic toiletries in the bathroom.
Breakfast was well managed, the self service system was speedy, a large selection of both hot and cold dishes were available and constantly replenished by the kitchen staff.Only irritation was the table hopping behaviour of some large coach parties-- not really the hotel's fault.

We had dinner in the restaurant on the first night but found it slow and the portions and menu too heavy.We had 3 enjoyable meals in the bar and found the service faster,the ambience more relaxed and the menu more to our liking.
Housekeeping was good, the staff coped very well with the busy Tour de France weekend.
The only disappointment was finding that the swimming pool was 20 minutes walk away in a health club not attached to the hotel though my husband used the gym onsite .Wifi is expensive.The hotel is very close to the centre of Harrogate, it was easy to walk around.Thank you for a good weekend.

Room Tip: The higher you go the cooler and quieter it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGHIHarrogate, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Thank you for your detailed review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to suit your needs.
I hope you managed to see the Tour on one of the 2 days it came through Harrogate, was a fantastic atmosphere!
Look forward to welcoming you both back in the future.

Best Wishes,

Sarah Turner
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Having stayed at this hotel, in its several guises, many times over the years purely for conference visits this was my first stay as a tourist. Both the public areas and rooms were better than I remembered. Bedrooms are a good size, beds are comfortable and most of the facilities you would want are there. Reception staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful as were the bar staff. Breakfast was very good and we did not feel rushed, nor where the queues for the buffet a problem.

The hotel was the base for a four day touring holiday, bought as a package and therefore I cannot comment on the price of the hotel stay. I could comment on the quality of the four evening meals we had as the food, and the service, was the worst I have had for a long time. However, I recognise that the price negotiated with the tour company precluded better quality and is probably not representative of the normal cuisine served and therefore I have not considered it my my rating.included it in my rating.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JackandWillsMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
The Team will be smiling from ear to ear once I read out your review, thank you. I am really pleased to see such feedback from a top contributor and delighted you enjoyed your return visit. Concerning the dinner, price should affect selection but not quality and for this I apologise. I will discuss this with the Chef to ensure that selection is all that remains affected.

Thank you once more and best regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn

Property: Holiday Inn
Address: Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 1XX, England (Formerly Harrogate Moat House)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#11 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Harrogate is a 4-star hotel, ideally located in the town centre adjoining the Harrogate International Conference Centre. This 214 bedroom hotel is only 8 miles from the A1(M).Many rooms have stunning views across both the famous Yorkshire Spa town and the surrounding countryside. Both contemporary and welcoming, the fantastic Classics bar and Restaurant 701 offers a wide variety of traditional and International dishes from around the world. All guests can benefit from our association with The Academy nearby, Harrogates premier health and fitness Club providing complimentary use of the indoor heated swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room. The club is conveniently located less than a mile from the hotel. Our flexible range of conference and meeting rooms provide excellent facilities for up to 360 delegates with extensive break-out facilities, all air-conditioned for your comfort. Our meeting rooms feature the very latest conference equipment and high-speed Internet access.Holiday Inn Harrogate is the ideal base to explore the delights of the Yorkshire Countryside including Bolton Abbey, Ripon Cathedral, Harewood House, Richmond Castle, Fountains Abbey and the Lightwater Valley Theme Park. In accordance with English law this hotel is now non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Superbreak UK, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Harrogate
Holiday Inn Harrogate, Yorkshire
Harrogate Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing