We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, would stay there again”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Booked this hotel at the last minute for my wife and I for a night away.
We've stayed in many hotels throughout the uk and this is in our top 3.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,226 - 1,232 of 1,377 reviews

Reviewed 6 August 2011

a one night stay at the Crown( 3rd Aug )( room 154 disabled room) although not needing a disabled room with wheelchair access, we were advised that this room came with a parking space outside the entrance(this was useful as my mobility is restricted due to having an A.V.M.) PLUS points: room large and clean, great walk in shower, LCD TV ,PHONE ECT.great breakfast buffet style with good helpful service, good value £80 B&B MINUS POINTS: no air con in room, windows sealed,duvet only on bed so either too hot or too cold, bathroom big clean and well fitted but shower too complicated for anyone without 20/20 vision to read the instructions on the 4or 5 buttons, unless of course you shower in your glasses (whatever happened to the on/off button and cold to hot switch?) one other strange missing bathroom item NO LOO BRUSH(thought this was a mistake,but none available in public toilets either), lastly a novel intruder alarm in our room, the floorboards were so creaky one could not move over them without waking everyone.
Alan & Nancy Hunt

Room Tip: if you require the disabled room be prepared for sealed windows,view is other windows only , ask for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank huntyOakhamRutland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2011

I have been working in Harrogate for some time and was using The Swan almost weekly via a discount hotel site (the hotel didn't offer matching rates on their own site).

Sadly, I stopped staying when they twice put me in a small, dark single room, although the hotel was very empty, and offered an 'upgrade' to a bigger room for £10. I now use an alternative, The Crown which doesn't play upgrade games and The Swan has lost a regular customer as a result.

I recommend the expansive bar, but it's disappointing that wifi doesn't seem to reach the rooms (at least the 3 or 4 I've been in)

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jzedward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I was visiting Harrogate with my elderly parents, and we wanted something near enough to the centre, but couldn't get in to the hotels near Betty's Tea Room. The Crown is actually well situated for getting up to the shops - Harrogate is hilly so you have to walk up a small hill to get to the centre, but there are shops and restaurants nearby, (including the excellent Royal |Bath Chinese restaurant).

This is a strange hotel - one of the best breakfasts around, in a really gorgeous big dining room.

Rooms good enough but lack those finishing touches such as a small table on which you can put things, or eat a room service meal or write your postcards. Bathrooms appear new and are quite nice. Linen is first class and the beds comfortable.

Lobby area has a few functional sofa's. Bar leading off lobby wasn't open once, so no atmosphere, and the evening dining room.......well, it felt as if some tables had been shoved into this room, and we were put in there out of the way to eat. No formal dining set up or atmosphere of normal hotel dining room. The large beautiful dining room is kept for breakfast only. (and that really is first class). The food at night was mixed - some good and some not so good. A plain pizza had a strange sweet taste, and the chef added some unknown herbs to a cheese sandwich. But burgers were excellent. It's odd, because they are sitting on a goldmine if they got their act together. Hotel up the road has smart fancy dining room which was packed tonight, with residents and locals. Crown hotel had 2 single men at separate tables, a couple at another, and us, all spread out away from each other. Saturday night every single restaurant we went past, or tried to get in to was full. Not a problem at the Crown. If they furnished it properly, got the staff and kitchen up to speed, got a theme going, it would bring the punters in. They like to eat out in Harrogate!

Staff perfectly pleasant. Seems a good venue for a wedding as the hotel was completely full on Saturday night and it appeared a lot of the guests came from that. They had a great time and spoke highly of the hotel.

Is suitable for wheelchair user as it has good access at the front, and two (that I know of) adapted bedrooms. Did find that the toilet is very low, so depending on your needs, it might be tricky pulling yourself up.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vld258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2011

short walk to shops .nice clean hotel,with a very good breakfast
A great pub across the road called the old bell,real ale(old peculia) and steak pie.
would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckyruby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I stopped for four nights over Easter for a conference. The staff were very helpful in all matters I felt well looked after.
The English breakfast buffet was beyond compare! - if you like that sort of thing - and I do.
Two pleasant bars and an enormous lobby for meeting and chatting, as well as meeting rooms for some of the conference fringe events.
It is a grand old hotel with in the traditional style but is very well looked after with modern facilities. Wifi Internet access in the lobby with points in the rooms; I didn't have to pay for the wifi, but there may be a charge normally.
I can't comment on value for money as I didn't do the booking.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

if this is not at the top of the list of hotels in Harrogate then there must be some very good ones.we paid £90/nt bband 2 crs evening al-a-carte evening meal,what ever you do here have a side order of chips ,not cheap (£2.75 ) but the best bar none.Rooms first class on cleanliness,quite warm ,but thats much better than being cold.Position A1, no sea view but it may not be their fault. Breakfast again top notch

Room Tip: the summer sizzler
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nrNottsCliff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
322 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,076 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel
Cedar Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Harrogate
2,363 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £49 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. Whilst our central location means that parking on site is limited, there are a number of parking areas close by. Guests are invited to drop of luggage at reception before parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing