We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far better than expected!”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
farnham, surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Far better than expected!”
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Visiting family, and needed just one overnight in the area. So value for money was what mattered most on this trip. BUT....having made my choice on that basis, my, was I pleased with it when we arrived!

The Crown is a wonderful, grand hotel, and unlike so many that share its exterior 'look', this one has been cared for and recently (and very thoughtfully) refurbished. There was space for our car (and no charge) and the breakfast was first class. The rooms were spotless, and the staff all polite and smiling and helpful.

I really hadn't expected it to be as good as it was (which probably explains my enthusiasm!), and having stayed at other hotels in Harrogate, I think it deserves a higher ranking than it has achieved so far. I will definitely be using The Crown again.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank transport_director
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    350
    475
    247
    102
    62
See reviews for
165
556
50
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (315)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2011

My Husband and I stayed at the Crown for 2 nights when we went to Harrogate for the weekend.
The room was clean and comfortable and the service was good. The hotel is ideally situated in the town centre. The hotel parking is limited so we had to pay for parking in a nearby carpark. (£10 for 24 hours)
The hotel was an interesting place to stay because of its long history and grand reception rooms. While we were there there was a wedding and a xmas party, but we were not disturbed by noise.
My only critisism is that at breakfast they had run out of food, and we had to wait for more to be prepared. It is not a modern hotel, so don't expect a modern room. We would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: If there is a function on, ask for a higher floor to be away form any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tess1441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
Level Contributor
122 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Great position in centre of town, shops restaurants (recommend van zeller accross road). Rooms old fashioned but spacious - average facilities apart from the car parking. For such a large hotel the car park is totally inadequate with no reasonable alternative within walking distance. Marred a good stay.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GandTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We attended a wedding at the Crown and booked a one night stay. We had been quoted £110 direct from the hotel but then discovered we could have booked it at £100 on the internet. The hotel was obviously grand in its day but like a lot of these places now looks a bit frayed. Our room was clean, comfy and adequate but definitely not a £100s worth.

The staff were a little surly and most looked fed up. The bar staff in The Place (bar) were over-worked and, with the exception of one lad, all had an attitude. The breakfast was excellent

Our main complaint was the noise. The party went on until 1.10am, the last hour of which was head banging so-called 'house' music. We lay in bed and could hear AND FEEL every drum beat.

On the sunday morning the same room appeared to be the venue for a happy clappy religious meeting with a throng of god-fearingh singers all praisin dee lard.

All in all - OK but over-priced and, if you are staying when there is a function of any kind on, don't expect much sleep. Also, if you are ffling depressed don't expect the staff to cheer you up.

Final word: we attended a wedding which we enjoyed very very much.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel????
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nellya377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Just stayed for the weekend at the Crown,26 couples of mixed ages,checking in was quick, ef
ficient and friendly.The hotel is a lovely, elegant old lady refurbished to excellent standards,in a very central location,the rooms are all good sized and spotlessly clean.We were b & b Fri & Sat with a xmas party on the Sat evening,breakfast is buffet with a great choice of hot and cold food,including cereals,dried fruits,fresh fruits,yoghurts,pastries etc.The xmas party was again first class,excellent food and a very good disco guy who kept the dance floor busy all night.The staff were all friendly and efficient.Highly recomended,hope to return next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huyton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
134 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2011

I stayed here for 1 night (Saturday) on a girls trip to Harrogate. The location of the hotel is great, very central and extremely close to the Turkish Baths ( well worth a visit). A bit noisy at night, especially when everyone was leaving the Revolution Bar which was across the road. Our room no 268 was a large twin, with a vast bathroom. Breakfast was Superb, a vast choice self service set up, in a beautiful room. Very good value, we paid £95 for a twin room including breakfast. All the staff were excellent.

Room Tip: avoid the rooms on the side of Montpellier Road, as noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireFamily590
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, England
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

I found the hotel to be perfect for an overnight stay, its very central and the staff were helpful and friendly whilst the room I had was a good size and comfortable.

Before leaving I had the breakfast which was in a fantastic room full of character and the choice of food was out of this world and excellent quality.

I'll definately be back either on business or leisure.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,644 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing