We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Night stay”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 6 January 2012

Beautiful hotel in a beautiful town. Loved the hotel, staff were quite helpful. The room was very small but very comfortable and clean. Very easy to have a walk around the town as hotel is situated very well. Breakfast was amazing, one of the best we have seen and the room was breathtaking, we enjoyed our stay and recommend to anyone visiting the area.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,399)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,214 - 1,220 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed for night whilst visiting family and can only say what a totally pleasant experience we had. Our room was well equiped, large and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant that evening and were very impressed with the food and service we received. All in all the Hotel represented very good value indeed.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JujaSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Between Christmas and new year every year, 5 of us stay at the crown. This year one of us was in a wheelchair with a broken leg. Along with our Guide Dog puppy, we weren't your average family. No problem to all the staff at the crown. They changed the room for wheelchair access, reserved us a parking space (although one kindly disabled person stole it one day) and couldn't have been more helpful.
The food was excellent and the redecorated Thackray suite had just the right atmosphere. On the first night the waitress service was a bit hit and miss, I think they were understaffed as the same staff were serving in the bar and the restaurant

We chose the four course dinner for new year. Salmon followed by veal, apple tartin, freshly made coffee with mince pies, hats and crackers. A great time was had by all.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BECHESH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2011

Visiting family, and needed just one overnight in the area. So value for money was what mattered most on this trip. BUT....having made my choice on that basis, my, was I pleased with it when we arrived!

The Crown is a wonderful, grand hotel, and unlike so many that share its exterior 'look', this one has been cared for and recently (and very thoughtfully) refurbished. There was space for our car (and no charge) and the breakfast was first class. The rooms were spotless, and the staff all polite and smiling and helpful.

I really hadn't expected it to be as good as it was (which probably explains my enthusiasm!), and having stayed at other hotels in Harrogate, I think it deserves a higher ranking than it has achieved so far. I will definitely be using The Crown again.

Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
1  Thank transport_director
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2011

My Husband and I stayed at the Crown for 2 nights when we went to Harrogate for the weekend.
The room was clean and comfortable and the service was good. The hotel is ideally situated in the town centre. The hotel parking is limited so we had to pay for parking in a nearby carpark. (£10 for 24 hours)
The hotel was an interesting place to stay because of its long history and grand reception rooms. While we were there there was a wedding and a xmas party, but we were not disturbed by noise.
My only critisism is that at breakfast they had run out of food, and we had to wait for more to be prepared. It is not a modern hotel, so don't expect a modern room. We would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: If there is a function on, ask for a higher floor to be away form any noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess1441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

Great position in centre of town, shops restaurants (recommend van zeller accross road). Rooms old fashioned but spacious - average facilities apart from the car parking. For such a large hotel the car park is totally inadequate with no reasonable alternative within walking distance. Marred a good stay.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GandTi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We attended a wedding at the Crown and booked a one night stay. We had been quoted £110 direct from the hotel but then discovered we could have booked it at £100 on the internet. The hotel was obviously grand in its day but like a lot of these places now looks a bit frayed. Our room was clean, comfy and adequate but definitely not a £100s worth.

The staff were a little surly and most looked fed up. The bar staff in The Place (bar) were over-worked and, with the exception of one lad, all had an attitude. The breakfast was excellent

Our main complaint was the noise. The party went on until 1.10am, the last hour of which was head banging so-called 'house' music. We lay in bed and could hear AND FEEL every drum beat.

On the sunday morning the same room appeared to be the venue for a happy clappy religious meeting with a throng of god-fearingh singers all praisin dee lard.

All in all - OK but over-priced and, if you are staying when there is a function of any kind on, don't expect much sleep. Also, if you are ffling depressed don't expect the staff to cheer you up.

Final word: we attended a wedding which we enjoyed very very much.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel????
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nellya377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
355 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,193 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,796 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel
Cedar Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Harrogate
2,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £42 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. Whilst our central location means that parking on site is limited, there are a number of parking areas close by. Guests are invited to drop of luggage at reception before parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing