We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old but very nice”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed in Harrogate on Tuesday night and decided to stay at this hotel mainly due to it's location, right on a roundabout and a very well lit front car park.

The hotel decoration is very nice as are the rooms , the only issue I had was whoever was staying in the room above ours, room 250, on Tuesday night was proberly doing ZUMBA all night as the floor boards were creeking when they were moving about the room .

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fmc1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,123 - 1,129 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2012

This is a really stylish hotel set in a wonderful, historic building sympathetically restored and run in a modern and efficient manner. We were very impressed with in interior of the hotel, some beautiful features and the Churchill room where breakfast is served was a very grand, spacious room. Breakfast was superb in every way, from the waiters to the choice of food.
The staff were courteous to a fault, the room was clean, comfortable and beautifully appointed. The only negative were the creaking floorboards in the bedroom, but given the age of the building what did we expect!!??
There is a small car park to the front of the hotel which we were lucky enough to get into - there is plenty of other parking very near by.
I cannot offer enough praise for the Crown.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pre-RapheliteGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Stayed at the Crown for a few days recently. Really central location in Harrogate. Stayed in room 228 on the second floor at the front of the hotel. The first room we were shown was at the back. Although it was a bigger room and probably less traffic noise, it was a bit dark and we wanted a room with whatever view was available. Receptionist found us another room without hesitation.This room was better and had a pleasant view across to Monpellier Hill and the Stray. The room was very clean and bright although with creaky floorboards. Bed comfortable (soft, bouncy mattress) Some traffic noise at night with window open. Good selection of food at breakfast buffet and staff attentive and helpful. Downside is the parking. We were lucky to find a space in the hotel car park on arrival Wednesday afternoon and stayed put until Friday afternoon. Had to park in the NCP car park across the road on return - £11 for 24 hours! Apparently the hotel will supply you with a parking disc which means you can park pretty much anywhere close by but you have to ask them about this. Hotel has quite a history which is shown in the pictures around the hotel. Overall a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have noise from traffic but are brighter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dohoPoole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

We went here for a murder mystery weekend. The hotel was absolutely lovely. Very clean, comfortable and well located. The breakfast in the morning was delicious. Lots of choice and the hot food was cooked to perfection. The only let down in the parking, so good luck with that.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dairymilkYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Reception staff were friendly and polite and seemed always available. Disappointed by the lack of parking spaces. There was a wedding reception going on which made it a bit difficult to get to different parts of the hotel without squeezing past their guests who were obviously enjoying themselves. The rooms seemed really nice to start with but after staying for one night, to be honest, they werent that good. We didnt pay anywhere near the usual tariff, but had we done, I would have been rating the hotel way down. Although the bathroom and bedroom was clean, other things let it down like the floorboards constantly creeked, everywhere you walked. Thankfully we were on the 3rd floor, but had we not been, I think it would have been awful. Beds werent as comfortable as you would expect for an hotel of this calibre. The noise from next door was like they were actually staying in our room and I had to bang on the wall when they came in shouting at 3am. I was amazed by the rowdiness and screaming and shouting of nightclubbers out on the street. I guess the location of the hotel meant this was unavoidable, but the hotel could have had double glazing at least. The noise was constant (saturday night) from about 11.30 til 3.30 and I got no sleep. Breakfast was excellent. An extensive range of continental items and help yourself cooked items. The waitress brought tea and coffee to the table. Couldnt fault the breakfast at all, lovely large dining room and high quality food. We dined in The Place, the hotel's bistro bar in the evening. The service and food was excellent. Very enjoyable, and good value. We were thinking that we would come again after first impressions, but I doubt it now as I wouldnt want to risk a bedroom with guests above, or stay on a weekend because of the noise outside where the hotel fails to have double glazing. Shame really.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TripRaterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2012

I've stayed at the Crown many times in the past, but my recent visit had to top all visits.

The hotel has been refurbished since we last stayed, and although the rooms are smaller now, they are very tastefully refurbished to a very high standard. We were lucky enough to get a room on the front overlooking the town which was perfect.

The dining hall keeps its former class and glory and you feel like you are someone of title whenever you dine there. Staff are mostly foreign but cannot do enough for you and always pleasant and very polite.

But it's the location which gives the hotel the edge for me. Perfect for mooching around the lovely town of Harrogate with its shops and place of interest and, of course, the famous Betty's Tea Rooms all within strolling distance.

A perfect weekend spend in an idyllic hotel. Cant wait to go again!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank weyayelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

I loved the authentic feel to this old hotel with its Victorian decor and atmosphere. Our room was large with everything we needed including an excellent ensuite bathroom; newly refurbished. Because of the building's age the floors creaked a bit but, this for me added to its charm! The staff were lovely, and only too willing to help and make us comfortable. We only had one evening meal in the hotel but the value for money and quality of the food was superb. The buffet-style breakfasts were also very acceptable though some of our party were not too happy with the distance from table to the buffet station when it was served in a different location to normal.

As a critisism we did find the bedroom far too hot so needed the window open which seemed a bit daft in the middle of winter!

We had a very pleasant 3 nights at The Crown, which is in an ideal location and were more than happy with our overall deal for this 3 star hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 007annie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
217 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
2,912 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
1,733 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,754 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £48 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing