We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel with charm”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 5 April 2012

we stayed on 2nd & 3rd of april, and we got parked at the hotel with no problems,there is also parking at the back of hotel,we were on the second floor, and our our room was spotless,as was the hotel its self,i couldnt falt the hotel,it has lots of cham,the breakfast was in the elegant churchill suite,and was very good with good choice,staff were very helpful and friendly,would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonwoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,136 - 1,142 of 1,345 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2012

We ate at this hotel after seeing the offer of ' 2 dine with wine for £39'. The three course table d'hote menu was not the most extensive I have ever seen but still gave a reasonable choice. Three well-presented and perfectly cooked courses served with a reasonable bottle of wine were served by extremely discreet but attentive staff in a very pleasant setting. Who could want for more? We will certainly eat here again and who knows next time we may well stay here too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank housewife51_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2012

This was a superbly located elegant historic hotel with extremely helpful and friendly staff. Our room no 121 was situated at the front on the first floor and was really huge with massive windows with a lovely outlook, but with very heavy curtains which mainly drowned out any light traffic noise at night - we certainly had no problems getting off to sleep. It was a bit warm on the first night, but the windows did - as we discovered the next day - open so the room got a good airing the next day. The floor was very creaky but so what, the web reviews did confirm this, and it was all part of the period charm. Staff were more than happy to look after our luggage when we arrived early and also on the day of our departure when our train was not until mid-afternoon.The Churchill Suite where breakfast was taken was full of character with ample seating. The breakfasts were extremely good, although the only eggs on offer from the servery were scrambled, but there was no shortage whatsoever of everything else. You could cerainly stoke/stock up for the day!We would certainly visit again, but would seek an advance special offer as the standard tariff is not cheap, but then The Crown is the second premier hotel in Harrogate.

The parking is the problem and it would be unwise to rely on getting a space in front of the hotel, but this was not an issue as we came by train ( £34.60 return for 2 people from Grantham Advance bookings by Senior Railcard - what is there not to like?! ). There is however parking available within a few hundred yards, as long as you can get your bearings and find it. During our stay, the hotel was fully booked which testifies to it's popularity, but there was a wedding party there on the Saturday night some of whom apparently were assembled outside the hotel until the early hours quite noisily, although I personally did not hear them. Our only slight note of discord was that the international receptionist who greeted us on our arrival may have been under pressure all by herself and was not over-friendly, perhaps a little thrown by our arriving at 1pm. The supplies of tea and coffee etc were not particularly generous with 2 tiny biscuits being perhaps a touch on the mean side given the price paid for the room. The girls at reception were however happy to provide top-ups, although there was no cocoa/drinking chocolate. Maybe the executive rooms are more generously supplied. There was no room refrigerator or safe, but maybe that is something for the hotel to look to in the future. Certainly, we were not looking for a Holiday Inn experience but there is plenty of competition in Harrogate so The Crown must not rest on it's laurels.Our overall experience was however enjoyable and we would go back. Special mention must be made of the very friendly Monika together with Emily and the other receptionists.I did after our stay notice some rock-bottom last minute booking prices so may make use of these in the future rather than booking ( and having to pay ) a month in advance as we did with booking.com....

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank michaeld32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Lovely hotel, we stayed for one night at a very good price.
Yes the floors do creak but this is a very old building, and we were not disturbed at all by inside or outside noise though we were at the front 2nd floor and there was a wedding on.
Lovely breakfast, served in a splendid room. All staff efficient, pleasant and polite.
We'll stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pauline P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

A lovely old building with a charm all of its own. The lobby is remeniscent of the thirties and forties elegance while the rooms are modern and confortable. Breakfast had an excellent choice of food and the service was good. The hotel is situated in the town centre close to many of the local places of interest. The only downside was there was two wedding receptions that evening so it was very noisy until the early hours which apparently was unusual.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FoxyLady1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Excellent central location with the benefit of free parking! Excellent combination of beautiful old features in the main areas but rooms very modern! Good selection of food at breakfast. Only critisism is that while the rooms are lovely and warm there is no opportunity to open a window for ventilation. Otherwise would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: ask for room on the front just for a nice view of the centre. However the window does not open to m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

We stayed in Harrogate on Tuesday night and decided to stay at this hotel mainly due to it's location, right on a roundabout and a very well lit front car park.

The hotel decoration is very nice as are the rooms , the only issue I had was whoever was staying in the room above ours, room 250, on Tuesday night was proberly doing ZUMBA all night as the floor boards were creeking when they were moving about the room .

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fmc1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
2,987 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
1,485 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £45 - £129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing