We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marvellous stay at The Crown in Harrogate”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marvellous stay at The Crown in Harrogate”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Last week I went with a group of work colleagues from London to a conference in Harrogate. We stayed in the Crown and it was excellent. This is a very special, distinctive, grand hotel which is proud of its well deserved reputation and history (it was founded as a hotel about about 400 years ago). It is in a lovely part of Harrogate, close to the centre and Betty's but with a stunning park, just seconds away, tucked behind the hotel. The facilities are completely up-to-date but are sensitive to the hotel's heritage. My room was great - very comfortable bed and pillows. The breakfasts are superb - everything you could wish for, served in a stunning high-ceiling period dining room. Above all, I would praise the warm welcome and exceptional service from the staff. They combined unfailing friendliness with professionalism and all seemed proud to be working at The Crown. In particular, Emily, on reception, seemed to be constantly on duty and always with a winning smile that made us feel at home! Definately the place to stay in Yorkshire.

Room Tip: I would recommend asking for a room with a view as some face an inner courtyard. I mentioned this a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelHorsley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Hello


Many thnks for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at The Crown Hotel.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and i forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards


Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    471
    246
    101
    61
See reviews for
163
551
48
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2012

stayed for one night on our way south. Good location although due to hotel being full parking was a problem. Great location near to centre of the town. Understanding historic nature of hotel, must be a real problem to maintain.
Bedroom (standard double) was spacious but old fashioned, bed too small, too soft, furniture old fashioned and worn. TV on wall bracket and small . Noisy guests late at night both in corridor and outside and floor boards very creaky!
Reception staff very friendly and welcoming. Did not try restaurants in hotel as wanted to sample something in the town.
Breakfast served in huge room, good display of cold items, service very prompt and attentive. Hot items in chafing dishes, some items looked a little sad, eggs pale and considering numbers of staff and facilities thought breakfast items could have been more extensive with more choice for specials.
Overall a pleasant stay due to location

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnbruceroberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Hello


Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I thank you for your comments and I look foward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.


Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

A numer of Years ago I stayed at this, at the time, very run down Hotel, however, last week I had the pleasure of staying there again.
What a difference, over the last two years,this hotel has undergone an upgrade to a very high standard which has incorporated such attention to detail that the old original comfortable features have been maintained.
You will not regret a visit to this hotel where you will receive a warm reception, comfortable and elegant surroundings, excellent bedrooms with all mod cons are within, make sure not to miss the traditional breakfast, all laid out to allow a vast choice of well prepared food to get you off to a good start to your day, the staff in attendance were very professional in their duties

Room Tip: Personally, I chose a double room for single occupancy just to enjoy the space provided, the staff d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ageingvat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Hello

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor, and the changes you have seen for the better over the last two years, it has been a lenghty process but one that we are proud off.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown in the near future.

Kind Regards


Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jersey, Channel Islands GB
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

Harrogate is not known for its tropical weather. However, our 3 night stay at the town's enigmatic Crown Hotel was an experience we'll never forget because of the heat! Wow... 29 degrees centigrade in May! Yes, that's right. 29C!

The old girl (ie, the hotel not my wife) could just about cope downstairs but in these unusually high temperatures, we had to have nudist nights on top of the bed linen! We had to. Cold showers took on a different meaning.

The hotel is quite rightly a listed building and cannot be modified (thank God) too much for today's fickle consumer society. The owners have maintained a traditional 'Empirical' feel to the place. And it's lovely. Air conditioning is not a priority. To be fair, it would be rarely needed.

In the smart area of 'lower' Harrogate where the current recession appears to have passed by, the pubs, restaurants and hotels all seem to be well patronised. And trains to Knaresborough, Leeds, York and other notable places to visit are just 10 minutes walk from the hotel.

The Crown is a great place to base yourself for a few days in marvelous north Yorkshire no matter what the time of year.

Will we be returning? You betcha - for the traditionalism, creaky floorboards and great British and importantly Yorkshire stuff and character the place is gloriously renowned for. And for the wonderfully tasty full Yorkshire breakfast with Yorkshire bacon and fried/poached eggs to die for!

We loved it. But next time we'll make sure the weather is cooler - shouldn't be difficult for north Yorkshire - should it......?

Stay at the Crown and take a step back into historical Harrogate for all the right reasons.

Room Tip: Prepare to be woken up around 7.00am if you have a front room and you open the windows by 6 inches...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jrinjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Hello

Many thanks your taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor, i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in spite of the heatwave!!, this has long gone now and Harrogate weather is back to normal!!, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2012

This is really belated however still worthy of comment. First time we had stayed in Harrogate, 3 sets couples all met up for a weekend. So glad we chose this hotel. Centrally located with a wonderful feeling of old sumptiousness with all mod cons. It is a lovely charming hotel with friendly staff. Lovely rooms, and wonderful breakfast location. You feel as though you should be ballroom dancing not sitting eating a gorgeous array of food. The choice was fabulous. Have recommended anyone who will listen if visiting Harrogate, to stay here. Very close to local bars and restaurants, so not too far to stroll back at the end of a fabulous night.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanMEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Hello


Many thanks for taking the twime to write your review on Trip Advisor, I am thrilled that yourself and party enjoyed there stay!

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I booked this through a Late Rooms deal and didn't know what to expect. The location was good near the Royal pump rooms and is just down the hill from Betty's. I arrived early which meant I got a parking space which was lucky as for the size of hotel there's not much parking although I understand there's a car park nearby. Staff were really pleasant and accomodating in letting me book in early which allowed me to unpack and be free to go along to the conference for the afternoon session. Breakfast was part of the package and an excellent selection was available.

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank redbillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Hello

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review on Trip Advisor, I am thrilled that you enjoyed you stay with us at The Crown Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

Overnight stay for a birthday treat. Excellent location as within walking distance of town centre. Hotel staff very friendly and welcoming and also helped us find a nice restaurant for evening meal. Loads of choice at breakfast and very tasty! Probably the only downside I could see was the lack of parking for such a big hotel. We were lucky to get a space just as someone was leaving but could have been a problem if we hadn't! Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Di G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Hello


Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Crown Hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future


Kind Regards


Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,605 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing