We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this hotel”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Have stated at the Crown many times over the years and I love it. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The place restaurant is a great snack bar, the burgers are amazing. Very central and a 10 minute walk from the station.

The rooms are always clean, though this week was very hot with no air con or fan, I am sure had I asked they would have supplied one. Free wifi in the downstairs area.

Plan to come back in September

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2012

Dear Andrewj007

Many thanks for your recent review i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Crown Hotel Harrogate, we most definately would have been able to provide you with a fan!! we look forward to welcoming you back in September.


Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,358)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,109 - 1,115 of 1,358 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2012

We chose the Crown for our daughter's wedding reception and evening party, and I couldn't fault the service we received. It was well organised from start to finish, parents of bride and groom automatically upgraded to superior rooms which were very nice.
The meal was excellent, actually better than I expected as some large dinners can have a very 'corporate' blandness to them. Some of our guests said it was the best lamb they had had. Even tho some guests found better deals on websites such as booking.com etc the hotel was happy to make good the difference for the Friday night.

Breakfast was excellent,a good buffet selection with locally sourced bacon and sausages. Tiny gripe was having to close the window at night due to revellers spilling out from a local nightclub in the early hours, but that's hardly the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkiecorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Dear Yorkie Cookie

mant thanks for your lovely email i am delighted that you enjoyed the wedding and your stay at the Crown, its great to hear such posotive feedback.

Hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2012

stayed here in march 2012, very nice experience overall. hotel very clean and nicely decorated. attentive staff. would return. the breakfast was very good, wide selection and the breakfast area was in a lovely room. enjoyed two evening meals in the hotel in the more formal dining area, and cant complain at the quality and taste, very enjoyeable.
the only down side is the parking, not enough space at the front of the hotel, but was given a parking permit to enable parking on roadside parking near the hotel. which worked ok, was able to park outside the hotel on the sunday as it was more quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Hello

many thanks for your email regarding your recent stay at The Crown Hotel, i am pleased taht you had an enjoyable stay, unfortunately the car park is the size it is, but as you found out there are plenty of places nearby.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

I've stayed here every year for the last 10 years for 1 night as I visit the Gift Fair every July. My wife books the room along with others for her company colleagues and I come along for just a night which is good because if I stayed longer, it would drive me nuts!
The irritation starts with the parking which is awful. The hotel's frontage has space for about 25 cars. If your not one of the lucky ones to get a space you'll have just 3 hours on the road and the nearest long stay parking is distant (road parking is free from 6.00pm on Saturday until 8.00am on Monday) but 3 hours is about £4.00 the rest of the time. People (me included) sit in their cars in the morning waiting for car park space holders to check out so their space can be used.
Inside, we have a grand lobby which probably hasn't changed since it opened. It's large, grand and without any character or atmosphere.
Check in is ok (staff are polite and efficient)
Rooms - we always seem to get a box room at the rear of the hotel. It's called a small double and I guess that's exactly what it is. Small, tight, cheap furniture, over-bouncy bed (cheap) and rediculously positioned TV half way up the wall at chest height - just high enough to bang into every time you walk past! This year, the other problem was the heat in the room and the sash window had been painted shut!
Public rooms are devoid of atmosphere and completely faceless. The one exception is the bar which is half decent with trendy furniture and good staff.
I said this hotel is irritating and that's because it could be so, so much better. It needs some real cash investing in it and some senior management who are prepared to make some radical changes. This is a grand old hotel with history. This doesn't mean it should live in the past!
One only has to walk over the road to see what's possible.......

Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
Thank timchambola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Hello

many thanks for your your trip advisor review, unfortunately the car park is the size that it is there is plenty of off street carparking nearby, the town was very busy with yourself and others attending the Home and Gift Fair.
With regards to your comments on the beds as a hotel we are continuely trying to improve our product and i know that new mattresses are on the list for the future improvements

I am pleased that you liked The Place Bistro, it is proving very popular with guests and local people as well.

Many thanks for taking the time to write the review, i would hope to welcome you back to The Crown in 2013 for the Home and Gift Fair

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Came to hotel to find no parking on site as it was full. had to park in public car park and pay for it, disappointing when one reason we booked the hotel was for the parking included. Very old fashioned and a dark hotel. Service in the restaurant was poor, think this was down to very little training in customer service from the hotel. Good location for getting into town, but bad if you want to actually go to sleep on a night as all you can hear is music from bars near by... And actually make out the words of the songs it's that bad. Would never stay again!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leilalala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Hello

many thanks for your recent review on Trip Advisor, i would like to apologise for the noise for the surrounding bars which disturbed your stay, unfortunately we have little control over this. The Carpark is what it is im afraid, and something we are looking into.

Thank yu once again for taking the time to write

kind regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

What a wonderful stay, a lovely clean and well kept hotel, with very friendly staff and superb food.A must to visit. The breakfast staff worked really hard, but had a smile on their faces every morning, even with the tricky residents my husband and I had joy in watching, although no joy for the staff.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rmpope68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Hello

Many thanks for taking the time to post this review I am thrilled taht you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards


Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

My recent stay at the crown hotel was a very pleasant experiance, staff were really friendly and helpful, room was very clean, decor and furniture were a but dated but nothing to complain about, as the hotel building has lots of character and lots history, found the hotel bar prices a little bit expensive, but the breakfast in the morning was excellent, a self service all you can eat buffet with plenty of selection with quality tasty products, the hotel is also in a very handy location for walking into town centre and nearby pubs. only complaint was noise from street that distrurbed our sleep but was not the hotels fault. I paid £80 for my nights stay which i thought was good value for money and would recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: keep window closed at night if dont want street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ronnie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2012

Hello

Many thanks for taking the time to write your review i am thrilled taht you enjoyed your stay at The Crown Hotel Harrogate, especially the breakfast, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
293 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,030 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,762 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £45 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. Whilst our central location means that parking on site is limited, there are a number of parking areas close by. Guests are invited to drop of luggage at reception before parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing