We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but very loud and a bit tired”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Laurel, MD
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great location, but very loud and a bit tired”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

Stayed here and asked for a quiet room after reading all the reviews. First thing to know is nobody answers reservation or service requests on weekends as I got no response. Asked at the front desk. My room wasn't on the front, but even on the side the blues music pub to the left when leaving the hotel was VERY loud with all their doors and windows open. It was like sleeping in a bar. The traffic was a welcome break. I'm amazed the town lets one establishment cause such loud noise. I expect general city noise, but not loud amplified music.

I can't recommend a room hear as you'll not get any sleep.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BikeTraveler22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear Biketraveler22

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, im sorry that your stay didnt live up to expectations, unfortunately being in a town centre hotel and when the weather is warm the noise can travel further, although all the bars do have sound limiters on to what level they can go up to.

Thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    487
    254
    110
    67
See reviews for
168
575
52
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We like this hotel. We always eat at the Slug and lettuce up the road and drink and listen to the music in the Blues Bar. We always enjoy our short breaks in this part of Harrogate..We love the breakfast in a wonderful historical room with pleasant classical music in the background.

Room Tip: the more you pay the better the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear Alanw

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and i look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We have just enjoyed a 2 night stay (fri &sat) to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary, as we booked on-line we mentioned this in our booking comments and were thrilled to find we not only had a lovely room, but also the the hotel staff had gone to the trouble of leaving us an anniversary card in our room, this was such a nice touch. the breakfast has everything you could wish for and is buffet style so you can help yourself to as much or as little as you like, the bacon was lovely and thick and the sausage was the nicest i have tasted!, although the parking is an issue, we parked on the street free when we got there as we arrived after 6pm (free parking from 6pm- 8am), we managed to get a parking space early the next morning in the hotel car park though and our car was parked for the rest of the week-end, the staff were very pleasant and helpful and we had a wonderful weekend ( a visit to the oldest pub in Harrogate, just around the corner is definitely worth a visit),

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear JulieL

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, i am pleased that you enjoyed your anniversary stay at The Crown Hotel Harrogate, we look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind Regards


Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

My wife and I stayed there on the 04/08/2012 for 1 night to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. On first impressions the hotel is very nice with good size rooms and in an excellent location. Parking is a nightmare as there are very limited spaces and it can be expensive and inconvenient to park on side streets, but that isn't the hotel's fault. Then around 7pm the noise started with a thumping disco below the rooms. We asked reception about moving rooms and was told it finished at 1am so they wouldn't move us. At 1am the disco finished as promised but it got worse from there onwards. Every floorboard creaks in the rooms and down all the corridors and every time a fire door in the corridor was opened it then slammed shut echoing around everywhere. Then there was the noise from the pubs outside until about 3am followed by the drunken guests coming in and floorboards and doors all over again. Finally around 3:30 am all was quiet. However, about 5:30am when guests begin rising (or still coming in!) the creeking boards and door slamming starts all over again.So after about 2 hrs sleep we had a really nice breakfast in the impressive dining room but as you can imagine, we were not feeling at our best to be able to enjoy it.Noisy, stuffy and full of stag, hen and wedding partes. A waste of a beautiful hotel and location.

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kh12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear KH12345

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, please accept my apologies, that the stay was not up to expectations, unfortunately being an 0ld hotel the floorboards are creaky, and at times our guests dont always before in a manner thats appropriate for other guests and for this i can only apologise.

Thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards


Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trim, Meath, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Spent two nights here to tour the east coast, very well positioned in the most beautiful area. The staff were fantastic, providing excellent service whilst also being extremely friendly. Would definitely recommend a stay here, enjoyed every moment of it and will definitely be back soon. Well done!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear LeoH

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcoing you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards


Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

I stayed here for one night for my birthday, it's a lovely hotel very clean and up to a high standard. But the room above ours had Very creaky floor boards you could hear there every move. The reception staff were quite disappointing, when we checked in we weren't told were or what time breakfast was or were the hotel bar and resturant was we had to go back and ask then. The hotel is in a fantastic location just second away from shops and restaurants!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123paris3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear 123Paris3

Mnay thaks for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review, we appreciate your posotive feedback and look forward to welcoming you nack to The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The hotel is centrally located and is quite an impressive building with lots of history. On arrival at the hotel i was fortunate enough to get a car park space immediately in front of the hotel. The receptionist was polite and check-in wasn’t a problem. My room was at the front of the hotel was overlooking parkland. It was well laid out and had a separate bathroom including a bath, shower and W.C. Everything in the room was of a good standard and was clean. I had a very good 3 course evening meal each of the 2 nights I stayed in The Crown and could well recommend the food. The service too was excellent.

Checking out was straight forward. My only concern with the Crown is the car parking. I was lucky in that on each occasion I need to find a space there was one available. However, due to the fact the building is quite old, car parking space wouldn’t have been a significant criteria in the original design.

I enjoyed my stay in Harrogate at The Crown and would certainly be happy to return there or to recommend it to friends or other T.A. members.

Room Tip: Lots of history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laughingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Dear Laughingbear

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Crown Hotel and i look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
593 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing