We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Murder mystery at the crown”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Murder mystery at the crown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

Just returned from a fantastic murder mystery at the crown. The murder mystery was amazing and great fun and took place in this wonderful hotel. positioned in the perfect location meaning you can explore Harrogate on foot, the Crown provided nostalgic luxury and comfort. All staff were professional and polite and the rooms very large spacious and comfortable (beds and pillows included).
Breakfast highly recommended and the best breakfast we have had on a weekend break in a long time.
We will definately be returning to The Crown in the near future.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Carolm

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, The Murder Mystery Events are always popular and i pleased that you enjoyed it plus your breakfast the next day.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future


Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    471
    246
    101
    61
See reviews for
163
551
48
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

We drove into Harrogate on a dank and dreary Sunday afternoon of fog. The motorway had been blocked and we were both weary. We entered the hotel in hope as we were without a booking. Then we met Emma who was just so welcoming and keen to look after us. We were given a room which was fresh and airy and thankfully devoid of fog. The en suite bathroom was huge.The bed was soft and kingsize and was to prove remarkably comfortable. Our room was well maintained when we were out and fresh towells provided by a young woman with an endearing smile.This proved to be the case for our three nights occupation. Dinner in The Place was excellently prepared and presented and the staff were just so keen to be helpful while at no time being intrusive. We were well looked after by Ben Luke and Keir. We loved It.

Room Tip: Be nice to people and they will be nice back!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Dennis N

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

My husband and I have stayed at the hotel many many times, we enjoyed stay but it was a surpside for my parents for my dad for his 80th birthday, a birthday card was left for him in the wrong room, I thought maybe a bottle of wine or champagne!!!.

At breakfast on the last day a young girl came down for breakfast in her pyjama bottoms, there were all cerased, she should never have been allowed in looking like that, if one persons does it, the rest will follow. There were also a lot of young people outside the hotel when we returned on the last night, smoking and hanging around the cars, this does not present a good image of the hotel.

These points should be looked at if they want to encourage people to return to the hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 400Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear 400Sue

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Triip Advisor, concerning your recent stay at the hotel, please accept my apologies for the card not being in the correct room for your arrival, we would have been more tahn happy to arrange some champagne/wine if you had wanted some.
I do take onboard about the dress code in the Restaurant, it isnt acceptable for this to happen, and i have passed this information on to the Operations Manager, thank you again for bringing this to my attention.

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

central location this hotel is good value for money breakfast as good as it gets with plenty of hot dishes to choose from incl fried eggs for the asking Rooms clean &well decorated creaky boards add to the charm. staff polite but not over friendly. Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 22 October 2012
Dear Davidh
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am thrilled that overall you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the not to distant future.

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Front of house staff rude and unhelpful - Amanda and Emma especially. Oh, and STILL waiting for a call back from JO!! Room noisey, creaky floors, no hot water for a bath (on a Friday night!) limited parking, so called EXECUTIVE room (stayed in better Travelodges!) Two days and nights of sheer torture! I have come home for a rest! We travelled seven hours to get to this hotel so we were completely shattered when we arrived and were looking forward to a nice leisurely break...However, with music banging on for two of the days (from 9am) this just was not going to happen...Two sachets of coffee in the room - again - that is what you would expect from a Travelodge/Premier Inn establishment not a (so called) four star hotel who didn't even have sewing kits available. Will not be back.

Room Tip: MAKE SURE YOU ASK FOR A QUIET ROOM....That was what I was told by Emma when we complained about the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vonski111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 25 October 2012
Dear Vonski11

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I wish to express my sincere apologies that the stay was not up to your expectations.
We are a 3 * 400 year old hotel with limited parking as advertised on all our websites, we are not a 4* hotel.
Once again please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused to you during your stay.

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

Lovely big grand hotel - steeped in history - right in centre of Harrogate. Everywhere is walking distance - shops, restaurants & bars. Rooms very clean and straight-forward. Staff friendly and welcoming. We stayed here for our annual "Girls Weekend", and found this hotel good vfm allowing more to be spent on food, drink and shopping.
Breakfast very good. Hot food in plentiful supply. Fresh fruit, pastries, continental all available too. Table clearance very quick too. Nothing worse that a big pile of plate/bowls piling up in front of you - highlighting to others just how any breakfast courses you've had.
Overall a good stay - would recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoRob4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Rinkster

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am thrilled that you enjoyed your "Girly Weekend" away, I do hope that you will be back for the next one!!.

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

We stayed here for one night and was very pleased with all the hotels facilities. We found the reception staff was helpful an the room was spacious .Breakfast ws very good plenty of choice .Definately would reccomend It is located close to shops and restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veeferStockport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 16 October 2012
Dear Veeferstockport
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay, I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing