We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very helpful but a little tired”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Budapest
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very helpful but a little tired”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We were in Harrogate for two weeks as I had to have a minor operation which left me needing special bathroom facilities. The Crown was perfectly located close to both the hospital and a physio centre and the extremely helpful staff on reception identified a perfect large suite with a walk in shower for us, looking out towards parkland. Our stay was not a holiday but it was a pleasure with very attentive staff and a comfortable room in an ideal location to easily reach Betty's and the Turkish Baths and the excellent Orchid restaurant.

The only small gripe concerned the otherwise very generous breakfast. We always see two menu items as a good indication of quality...sadly the hotel failed on both counts. The orange juice was not freshly squeezed and the croissants were stodgy and inedible.

My other strong suggestion would be a welcoming log fire in the winter in the empty grate in the vast reception area.

It is a great hotel ...provided you are happy with traditional style ....but some attention to details would push it up to a higher bracket of excellence.

Room Tip: Ask for a room a the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BudapestDavidandKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Budapestdavidann
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay i have passed on your comments re the food and juice to the Chef.
Its only when people take the time to give feedback that we are able to lookm at where we are going on and where we need to improve.
Thank you once again
Kind Regards
Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    479
    252
    105
    67
See reviews for
167
566
52
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Oxted
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We booked into the hotel for 3 nights for a short break in North Yorkshire. The hotel is a little old fashioned in style but in a very central location although guest car parking is on a 'first come, first served' basis. We booked a standard deluxe room which was very spacious (236), warm (and it was freezing outside) and a bottle of wine awaited us on arrival. The cooked breakfast was also excellent. The food in The Place Bistro was good value for money. We had to check out a day early as our daughter was taken ill and the hotel did not charge us for the third night booked - we did not expect this and thought it was a remarkable gesture. We would definitely recommend it for a weekend in Harrogate.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Janb
many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor I am glad that you enjoyed your stay, with us and I hope that your daughter is feeling better now, we look forward to welcoining you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We stayed at the Crown Hotel for two nights when we went to see our grandson's Passing Out Parade at Army Foundation College, Harrogate. It was really good but ask for a room that doesn't overlook the night club opposite. Lovely room and very clean. Very good value restaurant on site as well.

Room Tip: Ask for one not overlooking the night club opposite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Sally2208
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Booked in via laterooms for a one night birthday stay.

When booking I did mention it was a birthday treat as my partners and i have birthdays a day apart . I also asked for a room with a nice view.

We checked in with no problem and were delighted to find a birthday card each and a box of chocolates. What a nice touch.
We were given a room on first floor looking out the front of the hotel which was fine.
The room itself was fine but would not have wanted to pay anymore than the £71 we paid. Nice clean bathroom and comfy bed.
Good buffy style breakfast.
Would we stay again? Yes but at the right price.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Stevieatki
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and i look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Ideal location for this wonderful historic town, good for all the local sites and shops. Betty's just a couple hundred yards up the road, but beware not many car parking spaces at the front of the Hotel, however there are free alternatives nearby.
Our room (359) was really clean and quite large with a super comfy bed and soft towels in the spacious well appointed Bathroom. All the things you need for a good stay and sleep, even a lovely two sweater sofa.
If I was to be very picky, I could have done with the window being able to open, but that's better than a cold room.
Breakfast was all you need, fruit,pastries, cereals yogurts and all the hot English you could wish for, tables well attended and great surroundings.
Staff were polite and we would be happy to stay here again.

Room Tip: You can request a room with windows that open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear AlanT
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, Im pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back to the Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, England
Level Contributor
76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2013

A very large number of us stayed here this week and the hotel were very helpful and accommodating to all our various needs. Twenty six of us (ages ranging from 7 to 80) ate in the restaurant and the food and service was excellent and reasonable. Our bedroom was perfectly adequate, a little old fashioned but fine, and the bathroom looked like it had quite recently been up-dated and was very nice.

Room Tip: If you like to sleep with a window open it is probably advisable to request a room that is not at th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Kittykent

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am pleased that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards
Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Four of us were travelling, including two children: We stayed in a family room on the third floor. The room was well-appointed. Both the room and the bathroom look as though they have been recently refurbished. The room was generally quiet, although in the dead of night you could hear the plumbing from another room.

Check in was quick and efficient.

Parking in Harrogate can be a challenge. They do have a small car park, but it is unlikely you’ll get a space – many of the spaces are, understandably, reserved for disabled guests. Instead, after dropping your bags off, they suggested we head for the nearby Cromwell Road, where we found unrestricted free on-street parking. Allow a five minute walk back to the hotel. If it’s a nice day you can walk back through the park the road runs alongside.

We got a good WiFi signal from our room on the third floor, but the login page implied we’d need to pay for access. We didn’t investigate further, as we had a good phone signal and used that, so I’m not sure if the WiFi is free or not – perhaps they’ll clarify in the comments below.

They have a nice bar/restaurant area called ‘The Place’ where you can get a drink and some food. Bar prices can be pricey on some imported beers – maybe a campaign to promote local beverages!

The only meal we ate at the hotel was breakfast, which was a full English buffet, with a wide choice of fruit, pastries, sausage, bacon, black pudding etc etc. Don’t skip the breakfast, it will keep you going most of the day.

Overall we liked the hotel, and would happily return.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2013
Dear Bob N
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, just to clarify the wi fi is still chargeable in the bedrooms however this is set to change, the ground floor area is free of charge.
Thank you your feedback, it is very much appreciated.

Kind Regards
Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
587 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing