We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

we stayed in a double room with bed and breakfast. the room was large and very clean and had been recently refurbed. parking was not a problem as we arrived after 6 and we able to park on the road infront of the hotel. breakfast was great and the hotel was really nice - although we did not spend much time there as it was a flying visit to a wedding. cannot fault it for £70 B+B for two. it was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Dear Sarah t
many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and i look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Helene Ballinger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    472
    246
    101
    61
See reviews for
163
551
49
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Ilkley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

We arrived Saturday 6th April, the people were amicable enough at check-in, informed we'd been upgraded to a suite, as a wedding was going on and would be noisy in our original rooms. We were at a different function and would be back after the wedding finished so were not bothered by this. The room was ok, not suite quality as you'd anticipate and definitely not worth anywhere near c.£180+ that they charge for this room on a Saturday. It was dated but this wasn't an issue. The main problem turned out to be the bed itself, which initially looked more a 3/4 bed than double or as you'd expect in a suite a king or queen size. It seemed the divan base had broken and could clearly see this when the duvet was pulled back. This was the main issue, as well as they'd not even bothered to fully dress the bed. Only noticing this issue at 2am following our function, could hardly chat to front desk or move rooms.

Following a poor night's sleep, I approached the front desk who sent the duty manager to look at the bed. Following a good breakfast and packing up, I spoke with the duty manager who informed the bed was broken, they were looking to replace the beds (this didn't help my stay?) and they'd offer a £30 gesture.

I appreciated the gesture but the fundamental issue is it's the bed, it was obviously broken, the offer was c.20% off the room's price and the managers attitude was one of "what do you want me to do" and a very nonchalant and not bothered response.

Overall, a lovely hotel, good location and breakfast. Shame such poor quality, dated fixtures, poor customer service and frankly appauling responses to a known issue made me realise I'll never visit this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

stayed here for 1 night on Good Friday. Lovely huge bedroom and bathroom both of which were spotless. Large choice on breakfast menu which set us both up for the day as the weather was extremely cold. Parking could be a nightmare but we were lucky and able to park at the back of the hotel no problem. All in all a very pleasant stay and would definitely stay again when next visiting Harrogate.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbjenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
266 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Stayed here over the Easter weekend and had a enjoyable stay. The location is fantastic, within walking distance to everywhere with lots of restaurants and bars nearby. The hotel itself certainly has the wow factor when you walk in and is very grand and stately. The room we had was quite large with tall ceilings. The two things that need to be addressed are the mattress was of very poor quality - it was so soft that it was like being on a water bed - in their defence they did show us another room, but the mattress there was not much better and also was on the first floor with a function on, so we were warned that it would be noisy. The second little gripe would be that the floors are extremely creaky - in the hallways as well as the rooms and as a result we could hear the people above moving around. Breakfast was very good, with a large selection. We managed to get a parking space, but would agree there isnt much available, but as it is so central, there isnt really much the hotel can do about it. Overall we were satisfied and would stay here again and for £79 inc breakfast, was an absolute bargain!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PSP31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

I stayed in The Crowne Hotel over the easter bank holiday weekend.
The hotel looks amazing and is definately a focal point.
As for the room we stayed in (265), it was far too hot. The Mattress on the double bed was really soft and old and sagged in the middle and should have been replaced.
The Walls of the room were so thin we could hear the conversations going on next door. I even heard someone washing their face in the morning. Definately not what u would expect of a hotel of this standard.
One evening after a night out and feeling peckish we ordered a cheese and pickle Sandwich to be sent to the room. The sandwich was a poor effort with minimal cheese and pickle. At £5.65 it was a total rip off.
Due to weddings going on both the Friday and Saturday night the hotel bar was not available for guests. Is this problem? Yes it is if you have just enjoyed a meal and want a night cap before retiring to your room.
The breakfast in the grand hall was generally of a passable standard, however, if you're expecting a decent egg forget it. No fried or boiled egg, just a very poor yellow slop that was meant to be scrambled egg.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary19711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
STAFFS
Level Contributor
93 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

Stayed here over easter for three nights. Very nice hotel, pleasant staff, good breakfast both for choice and quality.just be aware that there is limited parking space for such a large hotel and that if your room is on one particular side of the hotel as ours was you will be wakened in the early hours by noisy revellers leaving the nearby revolution pub/nightclub as we were each night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the opposite side of the nearby pub/nightclub
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PULIS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Pulis18
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, please accept my apologies for the noise, the bars by the hotel are under a sound limiter which cuts them out should they reach a certain level so i am not sure what has happened excatly with that., i will forward this to the Operations Manager for her to contact them
Thank you once again for your feedback
Kind Regards
Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

I stayed at the Crown for three nights in what turned out to be, unfortunately, the coldest March since records began. When I arrived I was impressed by the look of the exterior which is old and grand, and by the reception area and bars. The corridoors upstairs could do with a fresh coat of paint though, as it is looking a little tired. The first room I was shown to, though comfortable and quite recently refurbished, had a view of a wall about 2 feet from the window. I rang to ask if it could be changed and they swiftly offered me another with a at from the front. However, this room, though larger, had not been refurbished and was bland and a bit tired. It did have a great view across the green but its large windows meant that it was quite cold. However, the staff were great and brought me an extra heater which sorted that problem out (and it wasn't their fault that there was snow and howling gale. The bathroom was an odd shape but you expect things like that in an old building. It had a nice, deep and long bath with good shower and some nice soap and shampoo - though the addition of conditioner would have been much appreciated. The bedding and towels were clean and fresh, in white cotton. The room has a hairdryer (not very powerful) and a TV with a few free channels and some paid for ones. It could have done with a power socket near the bed, as I was looking forward to curling up on the bed to do some work and couldn't charge my laptop there - however, there was a socket next to the desk. Breakfast was the usual hotel fare of cooked items and continental breakfast along with fruit and cereals but they did have some local produce such as sausages and black pudding (being veggie I didn't try that!). I didn't eat in the evening but the menu looked quite nice - my only comment would be that it was not great for vegetarians - there was one starter and one main course on the a la carte menu though not on the fixed price and the room service menu could do with an extra veggie dish or omelette. The wine list was comprehensive with some surprises such as a Bekaar Valley Lebanese red wine. All the satff I dealt with were pleasant and helpful. I would stay there agin as it is grand in an old-lady type way and the people were great. It is also handy for the town and exhibition halls. But perhaps just a few tweaks to bring it up to a great hotel rather than a good one.

Room Tip: Several rooms are facing internal courtyards and can have poor views. Try to choose one facing the f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sausage19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 2 April 2013
Dear Sausage19
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, Im pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay with us, reading through your review I have passed it onto the Head Housekeeper just for her input for sockets etc, it will be an extremley useful tool for the hotel.
Thank you once again for your feedback
Kind Regards
Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,609 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing