We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive facade ...”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is ideally located for the town; shops, bars and restaurants. From the outside it is impressive. However, it was the worse night's sleep - the double bed was more single bed size and we woke up with spring marks in us. The room was a big room as was the bathroom but it was definitely budget fittings. Every floorboard in the corridors and the room creaked excessively which is not conducive to sleep with guests coming and
Going during the night.
Breakfast was good but finishing at 10am on a weekend is early.
More importantly, the hotel did not have a welcoming feel to it. We did not see any staff smile either in reception or the restaurant (breakfast).
If you can get a deal on the hotel it is worth the money, otherwise pay for the travel lodge up the road.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank mel94210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 March 2014

Dear mel94210
Thank you for taking time to write a review of the hotel and I am sorry that you had several issues about your stay. The double beds are standard doubles however so many people have king sized beds now that doubles appear to be a lot smaller. We are hoping to change some of the beds in the near future to zip and link beds which can be converted from twin singles into a king sized bed.
As you know the hotel is a very old building, built over 400 years ago, and at times shows her age but are looking to solve this problem as each room is refurbished.
The timing for breakfast over the weekend (7.30 - 10.00) is fairly standard and it gives people time to pack before checkout at 11 o'clock. This gives the housekeeping team adequate time to turn the rooms around for the next guests, especially on a Saturday when there is a wedding and those attending want to check in early. Guests can always order a continental breakfast in their rooms if they feel like staying in bed longer a little longer.
I am sorry that you felt no-one was happy during your stay as I can assure we do smile a lot. Should you return to Harrogate I hope that you will stay with us again and I promise you that we'll all be cheerful.
Warm regards
Jo Stockewell
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,378)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

871 - 877 of 1,378 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed on a busy Saturday night with our parents aged 92 & 90 who are both frail with different needs. My husband explained our situation on booking and that we were returning to their home town for a family celebration. The reservations agent (Liz) could not have been more helpful in securing us a disabled room and the room we always love to stay in(129) and we were pleasantly surprised on arrival to find a car space reserved for us. From arriving to leaving, and entertaining members of our family in The Place, the staff were so accommodating, friendly and helpful. Special mention to the two young men at The Place on Saturday night who effortlessly reorganised furniture to deal with our 'baggage' and party and served up the must have Yorkshire Tapas. Can't thank the staff here enough for making a potentially difficult weekend so comfortable. The quality of the linen, towels, beds and breakfast are also well worth a mention.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VMLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear VMLee
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We don't normally reserve car parking spaces however I spoke to Liz who understood your concerns regarding your parents frailty and wanted to do all she could to make their stay a happy and trouble free one.
I have passed on your comments about the Place staff to the two chaps concerned and they were pleased that they had been "mentioned in dispatches".
I do hope that should you visit Harrogate in the future, you stay with us again and have as good an experience as you had this time.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Good location, friendly staff, good food, well appointed bedroom, good bathroom and an extremely comfortable bed ! What more could you wish for.

I stayed in the Crown Hotel earlier this month on a business trip and was really pleasantly surprised. It is ideally located with the main shopping area in easy walking distance. The hotel is steeped in history and has that mysterious air that only comes to well run hotels that have existed and have been nurtured over many years.

Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Harrogate, be it a business or a leisure visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Colin M
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked every aspect of the hotel including it's history.
We are lucky in being near to most of the amenities in Harrogate: The Royal Baths, Valley Gardens and The Pump Room being just a few attractions the town has to offer as well as, of course, the shopping.
I do hope that should you visit Harrogate again, you stay with us once more at the Crown Hotel
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed one night at the crown hotel never again the hotel is very tired and dirty went to our room it was big the bed was made but they couldn't put a valance on the base of the bed it was filthy and looked disgusting so did not enjoy the break for 130 a night it should be better

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 175Dottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear 175Dottie
Thank you for taking time to write a review however I am not entirely sure that you have got the right hotel. We have looked back at the room rates during February as they were reduced during that month, and cannot find a time when £130 was charged.
The overwhelming majority of the Crown's reviews praise the cleanliness of the hotel so I do take issue with you when you say that it is dirty as this is certainly not what most guests experience when they stay.
If you would like to discuss this further please e-mail me on service.manager@crownhotelharrogate.com
Regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Serves Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Thought it only fair to update all the pluses have remained ( location breakfasts etc) the last time we stayed i did complain about being disturbed by cleaners early morning firstly i got a good response from the management, and have to say they have acted upon it, so thank you for listening and acting and making our stay much more pleasurable

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plummys2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear plummys2900
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Crown Hotel. I am also pleased that your previous comments were noted, passed on and acted upon as we do welcome feedback which helps us to improve guest experiences where we can.
I hope that should you return to the hotel your stay will be as enjoyable.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed mid week on business stop over at short notice. Good valve and attention to detail excellent - quality of things like towels, etc makes a difference. Great central location, excellent breakfast. Slight limitation on parking at front. Stay was short but first impressions very good. Will certainly use again.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank DaveyGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear DaveyGriff
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your short stop at the Crown. One of the things that the hotel prides itself on is the quality of it's linen, especially the bath towels which are large and fluffy....akin to being wrapped in cotton wool!
I am also pleased that you enjoyed your breakfast which is another feature of the Crown Hotel that we take pride in.
I am happy that should you need to make another stop-over in Harrogate you intend to stay with us again.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

stayed for I night sunday 16 feb ,nice big bed room nice meal in the place, good breakfast in majestic Churchill room, staff very helpful
PS people who say this hotel is dated must come from very palatial homes

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear David R
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and every aspect of the hotel, from the Place bisto to the magnificent Churchill Suite where breakfast is taken.
I think that everyone has a different preference when it comes to interior design and that fashions come and go. Some like the minimalist look while others prefer a brighter bolder look and the secret is to strike a balance that doesn't date too quickly. I am pleased that you didn't find our look too old fashioned.
I hope that should you visit Harrogate again, you stay with us again to enjoy the food served by our friendly staff.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,081 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
1,784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel
Cedar Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Harrogate
2,364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,781 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: £48 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. Whilst our central location means that parking on site is limited, there are a number of parking areas close by. Guests are invited to drop of luggage at reception before parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing