We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this hotel!”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
231 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“We love this hotel!”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We have stayed many times because we go to the Blues Bar just up the road for the music. We go to bed late so we have no idea if other guests are noisy or not. We are quiet!
I like to go down for the 7.30 breakfast start and be served by good staff especially Monika and I like the food.
Some floorboards creak and floors are not perfectly level, but we like it like that.
We have booked for another half a dozen stays over the year, so that says a lot doesn't it.
I always worry if we will get a parking space, sometimes we don't.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear alan w
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am pleased that again you have enjoyed your stay with us and have booked further nights with us.
I am also pleased that you understand that the parking is limited and that you do get a space sometimes, but not always. There is generally a lot of on street parking around the hotel which the reception team are more than happy to direct guests to.
I have passed on your remarks concerning Monika to her and she was really pleased to get a mention in dispatches as often the breakfast staff are overlooked.
I look forward to welcoming you again in a few months time.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    354
    479
    252
    105
    67
See reviews for
167
566
52
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (320)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
South yorkshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel, fantastic breakfast well worth paying for it!! Room clean and very spacious. Yes a VERY squeaky hotel and yes to be expected, but if your a light sleeper then this hotel may not be for you. We also experienced a lot of noise from other guests on the landing with running up and down and doors slamming.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JanineE313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear JanineE313
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am pleased that you liked the hotel and had an enjoyable stay with us. As I have mentioned before, the hotel is very old and she does creak and moan on occasion, however we are planning to refurbish the rooms in the near future and are looking at ways to solve this problem.
As to noisy guests, I am sorry that you were disturbed by them. We always hope that our guests will respect each other by behaving responsibly though sadly this isn't always the case. If reported, our managers or night porters are more than happy to ask the offending guests to either keep their noise down or stop altogether.
I hope that should you be in Harrogate in the future, you will stay with us again.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Booked the executive room for my partners bday weekend. The exterior of the hotel looks beautiful and is in a perfect location however after we had checked in and made our way to our room, I was let down and disappointed of the entire room/bathroom/lounge area. I honestly can't believe I paid £139 for one night where we didn't even get a good nights sleep as the bed is tiny and the floors are creaky and there was so much noise coming from the corridor by other guests. We have stopped at many other hotels and paid less than this and we have never had a bad experience as this. Won't be stopping at the crown again, though harrogate is a lovely place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Katie K
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I am sorry that the stay didn't meet with your expectations.
As you had booked an executive room, you would have automatically recieved the extras that go with it: bathrobes, 2 bottles of Harrogate Spa water, Hotel Chocolat chocolates and a bottle of wine as well as H2K toiletries. This added package is included in the price of the room which I believe is good value for money, especially at a weekend. The beds are all standard doubles and we are looking to refurbish the rooms in the near future when some of the doubles will be replaced by king sized beds.
I am sorry that you were disturbed by noisy guests and that you won't be staying with us again. We do expect that everyone who stays will be courteous and respect others but sadly this isn't always the case.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the 18th as a couple. Check in was very smooth. They couldn't find our booking but easily resolved. Very old-y world-y hotel with so much character. Room was spacious. Very nice comfy and warm. The floors creak a lot!! We were quite lucky we couldn't hear anyone else's floors creaking. Maybe it was just our room. Breakfast was fab, cooked breakfasts, cereal, toast, croissants, so much choice! Would stay again!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Franyorke6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Dear Franyorke6
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would return in the future.
With the hotel being over 400 years old, many guests like the "old world" feel of the building with all the history that goes along with age, even though at times she creaks a bit at the seems.
I am also pleased that your check-in was smooth and that you enjoyed the breakfast. I look forward to welcoming you in the future.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Another visit to this historic hotel...exceptional value (£69 b & b), spacious room with large comfortable bed & well appointed bathroom.
Central location with parking, superb.
There's a BUT....on arrival, the receptionist was very unwelcoming & cold which did not give a warm, pleasant feeling....she needed to visit the charm school!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jude084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Jude084
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that not only was the hotel central but you felt your large room was good value for money.
I am sorry that you felt rather unwelcomed by the rceptionist however we have a new Front of House Manager who is the line manager for the reception team and she will be ensuring that all of her staff are trained to her high standards of customer care.
I do hope that should you come and stay with us again, you will be made to feel very welcome.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Kirby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

hotel was in a very central location and the room was clean. it was also shabby particularly in the room with the entrance smelling of smoke and cooking fat. the beds were very hard and uncomfortable. the breakfast unappealing.
I wouldn't stay here again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Susan S
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am sorry that you didn't like the hotel and wouldn't stay here again.
We are looking to refurbish the rooms and purchase new beds in the very near future though on the plus side, you found the room clean.
The hotel has a no smoking policy and some guests stand outside smoking the smell of which occasionally seeps through to the entrance hall. I am surprised that you found the breakfast unappealling as we are very proud of what we serve and it is the feature that most guests really like and comment about.
I am sorry that you won't be coming back to the hotel in the future.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Travelled by train to Harrogate for a 3 day mid week break. Short down hill walk to the Hotel, grab a cab for the trip back) Great central postion, lots of restaurants within walking distance. Hotel is like stepping back in time but very comfortable, large rooms, staff were all friendly. Recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Andrew A
Thank you for taking time to write a review amd I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel.
As you mentioned the hotel is just a short walk from the railway station, around 5 minutes, and travelling here by train means no parking to look for and (usually) a stress free journey. Harrogate now has a direct service to and from London, once a day, with talk of increasing the number.
I hope that you will come back to Harrogate in the near future and that you stay with us again.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
105 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
1,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing