We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, but 'superior' room not worth the extra money”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect location, but 'superior' room not worth the extra money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

The location is ideal and some of the public areas are elegant. Staff were polite. However our 'superior' room was hardly luxurious. It was a reasonable size but drab. Wine and chocolates were provided as advertised, but there was only one bathrobe. We had no drawers - just inadequate hanging spaces in the wardrobe. The bathroom was small with no separate shower. The shower over the bath was awkard to operate and there was mould on the tiles. We asked for and got two fans as the room was stuffy. From the room above we could hear every creaking step, plus the baby crying and the poor parents doing their best to console it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllieD0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear EllieD0303
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am pleased that you thought the hotel in an ideal location and the staff polite.
I have spoken to the Head Housekeeper about the grouting in the bathroom which has now been remedied and is not the standard she expects from her staff, and also about there being only one bathrobe in the room for which she apologises.
I am sorry that you didn't find the executive room luxurious however we are looking to refurbish the bedrooms later on in the year starting with the superior doubles. We only have 3 rooms with a separate shower and bath and 2 of those rooms are the executive suites, however we do have several rooms that only have a shower. As the hotel is 300 years old every room is different in size. Some have large bedrooms and a small bathroom while in others the bedroom is small but the bathroom huge. This I believe, is part of the charm of the hotel.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,223 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    471
    246
    101
    61
See reviews for
163
551
48
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Helensburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

It's a shame that after at least eight reviews complaining about the hot, uncomfortable and stuffy rooms and the same number of subsequent replies from management that a fan is apparently available, that a fan is not simply a feature in each room. Come on management, why wait until paying customers are unhappy, please just put a fan in each room! Every other aspect of the stay was lovely, you are ruining all your hard work. It is not obvious that fans are available, what makes management think that visitors would already know this?

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tr1ppy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Trippy1
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am sorry that although you found everything else about your stay lovely, you are not happy that there isn't a fan in every room. The reason that we don't do this is because some rooms are quite small and there simply isn't space. We have permanent fans in every suite and should a guest need a fan they need only to contact reception to request one to their room. This information is contained in the red guest folder on the dressing table of the bedroom, along with other snippets of info.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

But this is a dated establishment. Like stepping back twenty years, this is a superbly located hotel with lots of olde world charm and atmosphere. The rooms are big but foisty and would benefit from some upgrade and air conditioning. The staff were helpful and welcoming, the food very acceptable and the location great. Overall though, overdue some refurbishment hence relatively low score.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear Tony B
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am pleased that there were several aspects of your stay which you found enjoyable. You found the staff welcoming, the food very acceptable and the location of the hotel great, all positives and I have passed your comments to the relevant departments.
The hotel does not have air conditioning and nor, I believe, does any other hotel in Harrogate, due in part I expect because of the cooler climate of North Yorkshire. Should it become warmer however there are fans available via reception.
We are looking to refurbish the bedrooms later in the year and should you return to The Crown in the future you will be able to see the updated rooms.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loughborough
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2014

Visiting Harrogate in july for the Great Yorkshire Show we chose the Crown for its central location ,We stayed for two nights and had a suite on the 1st floor and what an amazing place, the lounge itself was approx 38m2 with a large bedroom with a corridor off leading to a stunning bathroom which again was massive with a large bath and separate shower.We were greeted in our room with a complimentary bottle of wine,2 bottles of water, fresh fruit and biscuits a ,wonderful start to our stay.The building itself is lovely ,full of old world charm and spotlessly clean throughout.All the staff are very pleasant and helpfull,the full english breakfast was great and the evening meal that we had in the Bistro was excellent, i know some people complain about the lack of parking and this can be an issue although it didn,t affect us as we left our car there all the while.Harrogate itself is a feally nice place if you are willing to walk and explore , plenty of pubs with real ale and a diverse selection of restaurants and cafes ,not to mention the abundance of shops including all the leading stores.We will certainly return for a repeat stay next year.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THEDUKELoughborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear THEDUKELoughborough
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I am glad that you liked the suite and found it both large and clean, that the staff you encountered were polite and helpful and that the food you had both at breakfast and in our bistro was excellent.
It is always a very good idea if you are able to park your car in our car park, to leave it there throughout the stay and discover Harrogate on foot or by bus so well done for solving a potential problem.
I look forward to welcoming you back next year for another visit which I trust will be as good.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel on 18th July and the only really nice thing was the breakfast. The room was just a standard room and the hotel is in need of modernisation. We paid extra for an upgraded room and it was no better than you'd get at a budget hotel. Next time we stay in harrogate we will stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VS101984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Dear VS101984
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast however I am sorry that you didn't particularly like the room that you stayed in. We are looking to refurbish our rooms and to update the décor which you may find more to your liking, starting with the executive rooms.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here on Friday whilst at a wedding at rudding park. As we couldn't stay there, we chose this hotel from late rooms. On arrival there were no car parking spaces at the front of the hotel. The receptionist gave us a parking disc and we had to park a couple of streets away, not in the hotel. The staff were all really helpful and friendly, and even gave us a choice of rooms to choose from. The room (264) was spacious as requested and it was immaculately clean. However the bathroom was tiny, and on the bed was only 1 pillow each which were both rock hard and meant we both had a poor nights sleep. The bar prices were average. Breakfast had a good choice, it was all warm and the room where we ate was lovely. The only downside was the hotel, especially our room was just too warm (the window only opened a couple of inches). Overall for a nights stay it was fine, nothing special but was pleasant, clean and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Caf S
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at the Crown and you found the hotel clean, the staff friendly and the breakfast to your liking.
The hotel is over 400 years old and every room is different in size, and while some bedrooms are large with small bathrooms, others can be smaller but have very large a very large bathroom, which I believe is part of the charm of the building. There are 4 pillows in each double room, two on the bed and two in the wardrobe and I have passed on your comments to the Head Housekeeper about the hardness of the pillows and also the cleanliness of the room.There are also fans available on request if needed.
The parking at the hotel is limited but there is plenty of on-street parking which the reception staff are happy to direct guests to.
I hope that should you return to Harrogate that you will stay with us again.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Hotel very central. Has olde world charm, but some areas rather dated .My single room was quite spacious, but faced onto inner courtyard and was rather dark. None of the windows would open. Weather hot and humid. Very limited parking. Had to drop off my luggage, then search for suitable, long term street parking. Found a precious space 600 metres away. Saw young couple with two young children, and an elderly couple, struggling to cope with this problem. Staff excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for outside facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Winston C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Winston C
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am sorry that there were no spaces available in our car park when you arrived, although you did find some on-street parking.
The hotel has limited parking, about 40 spaces, which is on a first come first served basis. The Crown was built over 400 years ago before the advent of the car, and in the years between these two events other buildings went up around the hotel consequently restricting the land available to build a large car park. There is plenty of nearby on-street parking and both an NCP and a multi storey car park a few minutes walk away which the reception staff are only too happy to direct guests to.
We have a few front facing rooms and others that look out to the sides and the inner part of the hotel and if the weather is warm there are plenty of fans available on request.
I hope that should you return to Harrogate in the future, that you stay with us again.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing